Curvy Kate Romance review

19 Feb

I started to think about buying the Romance after I had had such a succes story with the Portia. Just like Portia, the Romance style is a perfect everyday style without being plain and boring. I’m kind of faithful when it comes to buying bras cause those stables are hard to find and e.g. CK offers the same reliable styles every season in new exciting colourways (hello, autumn collection’s coral/purple Portia!). This Romance set in black/purple I ordered via Brastop and btw they have an amazingly fast customer service!

As I had worn Portia in black and also in the new seafoam colour I knew it was probably time to order this style in a more snug band for I have experienced the CK softcup styles loosen a LOT in a short period of time. So I sized down in bandsize and up in the cup and I can say the fit is quite spot on in 28FF. I’m actually quite the same when it comes to size with IIYC’s Cheryl so I find it kinda easy to order online. Sometimes I just go and see what size she wears in a certain style and then buy it. Anyways, what I think you should do when buying this bra is choosing the same band size as you do in Freya styles for it definitely streches a lot and becomes more comfortable after a couple of wears. (I actually went through hell while wearing my first Portia for a few hours but after the band had streched it was perfect.)ImageImage

As you can see the Romance style gives a rather pointy look that’s sometimes even a bit too natural for me at least, I usually go for a nice rounded shape that for example Cleo Marcie gives me. Otherwise the bra is very comfortable and looks pretty good under clothes as well. If I wore just a top like this (e.g. for summer) I would probably still opt for something like Marcie just for the shape. Under sweaters and dresses this is good basic style though for its rather subtle ornaments that won’t show through even under a thin fabric.Image

I have heard that some of the other lingerie bloggers have had issues with the shape and sizing when it comes to CK bras. I think it must have something to do with your natural shape if the bra doesn’t fit (cuts in on top or has extra space on bottom) after swooping and scooping. Personally I feel that my “balanced” (neither full-on-top nor full-on-bottom) breast tissue sits quite nicely in the cup and there is no migrating tissue in sight. Image

There is still something I have to point my finger on and it’s the size of the thong. I actually tend to wear different sizes when it comes to different bottom styles and I always go for a smaller thong than knickers. Experience has taught me that thongs tend to strech a lot more so they’re super uncomfortable if you’re wearing a size too big for you. On the other hand, especially the CK knickers usually cut pretty unflatteringly when choosing my regular size, 8. There’s not a significant difference in comfort between sizes 8 and 10 but I think that 10 looks much better because of the not-so-elastic waistband.

Overall I would give this bra 8/10 for it’s beauty and wearability. If you have any questions feel free to ask me 🙂

 

Leave a Reply

CurvyGirlThin

a curvy girl's exploits in the wardrobe

Lucy's Corsetry

A Comprehensive Source for all things Corsets, Waist Training and Tightlacing

comicsgirlsneedbras.wordpress.com/

For the perfect fit and beyond...

The Lingerie Addict - A Lingerie Blog for Everyone

Expert lingerie advice and reviews to help you find the very best lingerie in the world. Covering full bust, luxury, plus size, and more!

Sweet Nothings

Everyone deserves a little sweetness.

Big Cup Little Cup

UK Lingerie Blog

the musings of Renzilla

My thoughts one blog post at a time

The Petite Collegiate

A fit focused love affair with lingerie

Miss Victory Violet

Vintage Fashion, Hair & Beauty and everything in between!

Junebugs and Georgia Peaches: The Adventures of Modern June Cleaver + Amelia Jetson

A blog about lingerie, bra fit and all things D+. A love letter to lace, dresses and pinup lifestyle.

Bras and Body Image

One girl's perspective on boobs, bodies, self-image and society

Kupista asiaa

A blog about lingerie, bra fit and all things D+. A love letter to lace, dresses and pinup lifestyle.

Fuller Figure Fuller Bust

A UK plus size fashion and lingerie blog with a little extra padding.

