Cleo Marcie Review

3 Apr

The reason why it took so long to had this review done was that I was ambitiously trying to make you a vlog about it. Well, it turned out to be too nerve-wrecking since I’m not a native English-speaker so I just settled to write about the bra. First of all, I first bought the Marcie last December as a Christmas present to myself. I absolutely lovelovelove red lingerie so it was a no-brainer – I had to get my hands on it. I was a bit hesitant of ordering it online since hadn’t had any Cleo or Panache bras before, they’re not something you see in Finland everyday. I had heard that Cleo makes rather snug bands so I opted for 30F which is a sister size to 28FF I go for while shopping Curvy Kate or Freya. Luckily it turned out to be just the right size (I obviously have amazing luck while ordering online..) and the band truly is quite snug. Not uncomfortable but just tight enough to give the proper support for my breasts. What I would have wanted from the band in addition would be three eyes and hooks but hey, you can’t always have it all. Besides the fact that it only has two hooks and eyes the band is really supportive and stays firm for a long time and doesn’t stretch insanely like CKs and Freyas.ImageImageThe design of the bra is just gorgeous. I love the little bow embroidery on the top of the cup, it’s so girly and so much fun at the same time. One thing I really love about the Marcie are the colour combinations. The red one has a little purple center gore bow and this one has a pink one, which is great as you usually see all the bright colours teamed with dull black.  Personally I don’t care much for black so it’s really nice to see colour on colour. ImageImage

As for the fit I think this is great bra for those who have breasts with even fullness. IIYC’s Cheryl has reviewed Marcie before and for lower fullness this was also a success. Some of my fellow bloggers have had issues with the bra but I think that they occur mostly on bigger cupsizes I’m afraid. For example Georgina of Fuller figure fuller bust found some gaping at the top of the bra. It’s not that there is something wrong with her breasts, they’re gorgeous, it’s just that the right fit and size are more difficult to find when you wear something like 36HH and that’s why you should be prepared to go through some trial’n’error with this particular bra. If you get the fit right, you’ll have amazing rounded breasts which look great under even the thinnest tops.

I have some migrated breast tissue in my armpits which is caused by wearing the wrong size for several years. Due to this and the fact that my breasts are wide-set I need wide wires to feel comfortable during the day. Marcie has these wide wires which are great for my breast shape but not everyone’s cup of tea. This is why you should carefully examine your boobs to know which brands and styles of bras suit you the best. For someone with narrower breasts Marcie is not the best style since it may cause some poking and discomfort under the armpits. However, the wires don’t rise very high so this is a bra that can suit even shorter torsos.

All in all Marcie is one of my favourite everyday bras now and I’m not giving up on it any time soon. I can’t wait to get the pink-turquoise colourway and the amazing black babydoll that are released in autumn!

21 Responses to “Cleo Marcie Review”

  1. Vesta April 9, 2013 at 8:01 pm #

    I must say,l I like the idea of the bra popping from under the top… 🙂 It looks wonderful on you.

    • sophie April 10, 2013 at 7:36 pm #

      Thanks! I’m still a bit unsure about showing something that’s supposed to been hidden but hell, I spend so much on lingerie alone that I have the right to show a glimpse of it 😀

      • Vesta April 12, 2013 at 5:59 pm #

        Absolutely! I think it’s a shame to hide those bows, they need to be seen 🙂

        I ordered Marcie as well, can’t wait to get it in the mail.

      • sophie April 12, 2013 at 6:53 pm #

        Nice! Let me know how you liked it when you get your hands on it 🙂

  2. Vesta April 18, 2013 at 4:09 am #

    Well, I have not received Marcie yet, but I did receive Lucy. Unfortunately, I should have ordered gone up in the cup, as this one cuts into the top of my breast quite severely, and also seems to be a bit narrow. But I really liked the way it shaped my boobs, so I am exchanging for a bigger cup and bigger band. It was super tight in my regular 30, even for those few minutes I wore it it was quite severe on my ribs. So, 32G instead of 30G, hope that works and hope Marcie is larger! 🙂

    • sophie April 19, 2013 at 5:47 am #

      I’m sorry to hear Lucy was too small for you! Have you received your new one yet? I was wondering if you’d like to write me a guest post on Lucy? It’s a bra I won’t probably ever buy and it would definitely interest my readers. To me Marcie is quite true to size and it also has just the right width of wires. But hey, we’re not all the same 🙂 Cause you’re bigger in size, you might also need a bit wider wires.

  3. Vesta April 19, 2013 at 1:28 pm #

    HI Sophie,

    Sure, I could write a guest post. I have reordered in a bigger size, so when I get that one – probably in a week or two, i will write a review. I also have a Panache Jasmine that is absolutely to die for, in my opinion, so I could review it too, if you want 🙂

    • sophie April 21, 2013 at 1:43 pm #

      That’s so cool! Yeah I’m going to review the Jasmine myself next week too so maybe you could write a little addition to it and maybe send a picture of you wearing it either with a tank top or without, it’s up to you. What do you think? 🙂

      • Vesta April 22, 2013 at 4:18 am #

        Nice! I actually wrote a complete review of Jasmine (didn’t mean to, but inspiration struck me!) Ihave not taken pictures yet. I will probably get that done in the next few days and send to you – you can feel free to post.

      • sophie April 22, 2013 at 1:04 pm #

        Yeah, definitely! I’ll put my e-mail on the sidebar and you can get in touch when you have your reviews completed 🙂

  4. Amber April 25, 2013 at 12:44 am #

    So pretty! I’ve been drooling over this one for awhile now. Now I must have it after your stunning review. Thanks so much! 🙂

    • sophie April 30, 2013 at 8:14 pm #

      Thanks, glad you liked it! 🙂

  5. Vesta May 9, 2013 at 4:06 pm #

    Believe or not, my Marcie got lost in the mail, so I am still waiting for the replacement.

  6. Vesta May 15, 2013 at 11:36 pm #

    Sophie, I finally got the replacement Marcie! OMG – I am in love. This is the absolute best bra that i have. Lucy is way behind. Marcie hits every point – awesome rounded shape that no other bra has given me so far, narrow straps, narrow gore, quality. Quality wise it is also above Lucy. And the aquamarine color turned out to be a deeper shade than I thought it would be, so I am so very pleased! Bra is open enough to not cause any quadraboobing and fits me in 30G just perfectly. Band is definitely more snug than the Lucy band, so I think I should be ok in 30. I am now going to pray that Cleo makes this bra in continuity colors next year, and I a mgoing to hunt for the red one on ebay 🙂

    • sophie May 16, 2013 at 7:48 am #

      Sounds awesome! I’m so glad it fitted you that well 🙂 The autumn’s pink colour is also great and I have heard rumours that they would make it in yellow (!!!) some day. I think consumers have actully asked for the continuity colours such as black and white and I hope our requests have been taken seriously since I personally would ADORE a white version of Marcie.

  7. Vesta May 16, 2013 at 2:28 pm #

    I already own a pink Lucy – so technically I don’t need another pink bra, but I might get it anyway, as I am so in love with it right now 🙂 I am glad the pink version does not come out for another few months, perhaps common sense will kick in by then. Not very likely… I just wish there was another bra out there that is shaped like Marcie but in black/white/nude. Funny enough, I have a bunch of multicolor bras right now, but lacking continuity colors, apart from the nude Smoothie. Lucy for some strange reason only worked for me in navy/pink and white/pink, but I seem to be between sizes in white and that really makes me reluctant to try to reorder black in a different size, as each of the colors fit me differently, so it is a real hit or miss. Not going to take chances with this one again.

    Now, yellow Marcie is a fun prospect, but I’d prioritize it after the black and white ones! I only see two negatives with Marcie – narrow band and the wires being shorter than the wire channels, so they don’t go all the way up under the armpit – which is what I would have preferred. I wish wires filled the channel completely, as moving them results in their settling back in towards the gore after some time.

  8. azy May 30, 2015 at 12:38 am #

    Hi Sophie, I am in love with Marcie, have it in all the colors. Do you know of any other bra that gibes almost the same fit?

    • Sophie June 1, 2015 at 4:16 pm #

      I think all the Cleo non-padded balconettes have pretty much the same rounded shape and fit but if you are looking for bras from other brands I would recommend Avocado’s K-cut, it fits almost exactly like Marcie except it is ever-so-slightly more closed at top 🙂 xx

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Summer dresses special: The LBD | Two cakes on a plate - May 23, 2013

    […] an unpadded bra with superthin fabric. So as I weighed my options I came up with a perfect style: Cleo Marcie. We all know that I LOVE this particular bra cause it’s such a multi-tasker and suits under […]

  2. Saturday Spotlight: Two Cakes on a Plate | A Sophisticated Pair - June 1, 2013

    […] The Cleo Marcie Review:  Honestly, I still lust after this bra even though the fit is not perfect for me, so I love reading how it works for others. […]

  3. The Yellow Bra! | The Fringster - April 24, 2014

    […] https://2cakesonaplate.wordpress.com/2013/04/03/cleo-marcie-review/ […]

Leave a Reply

CurvyGirlThin

a curvy girl's exploits in the wardrobe

Lucy's Corsetry

A Comprehensive Source for all things Corsets, Waist Training and Tightlacing

comicsgirlsneedbras.wordpress.com/

For the perfect fit and beyond...

The Lingerie Addict - A Lingerie Blog for Everyone

Expert lingerie advice and reviews to help you find the very best lingerie in the world. Covering full bust, luxury, plus size, and more!

Sweet Nothings

Everyone deserves a little sweetness.

Big Cup Little Cup

UK Lingerie Blog

the musings of Renzilla

My thoughts one blog post at a time

The Petite Collegiate

A fit focused love affair with lingerie

Miss Victory Violet

Vintage Fashion, Hair & Beauty and everything in between!

Junebugs and Georgia Peaches: The Adventures of Modern June Cleaver + Amelia Jetson

A blog about lingerie, bra fit and all things D+. A love letter to lace, dresses and pinup lifestyle.

Bras and Body Image

One girl's perspective on boobs, bodies, self-image and society

Kupista asiaa

A blog about lingerie, bra fit and all things D+. A love letter to lace, dresses and pinup lifestyle.

Fuller Figure Fuller Bust

A UK plus size fashion and lingerie blog with a little extra padding.

