Summer dresses special: the wrap-dress

13 May

ImageImageImageImageImageHello gals! I’ve been planning this post forever and it should have been done weeks ago but it kind of got out of proportions and ended up being this massive photoshoot and like 100 pics in total so.. Here I am, presenting you THE dresses and THE bras to go with them. We all know there’s a lot of buzz going on in the beginning of the summer with all the graduation parties and weddings etc. on the way. My sister is actually going to graduate on 31th of May so this is particularly timely for me. 

Well, obviously I’m such a princess that there is no way I would or could wear anything else but a dress when it comes to such big events as this one. However, it’s not only the dress that I have to choose, it’s also the pretty things that go underneath it. 

I have always fancied a nice wrap-dress since it really brings out the assets of a curvy-on-top girl like me. Since I don’t own hips this is a great option for me to bring some curves to my lower body as well and enhance my waist. When choosing a dress like this it is important to remember whether the cut really fits your or not so be cautious when looking for a wrap-dress. The most important thing for me at least is to find a dress with perfect proportions: the right waist-height and hemline lenght. So bewarned: find the right dress for you or otherwise as classic as it is, wrap-dress can be a disaster.

When it comes to the bra that you’re wearing underneath it’s important to keep in mind what shape is the best to go with the dress. In these pics I’m wearing Panache Jasmine to make my boobs look natural but really uplifted to keep them from hanging near my quite high waistline. With really thin dresses like these you should definitely find something that is preferably non-padded at least when you’re a gal with big boobs since you don’t want to look too heavy on top. This is another reason I chose Jasmine for this particular dress.

Another thing that you should look for in a bra for a wrap-dress is low center gore. That however is not a rock-solid rule for as you can see Jasmine comes quite high as 3/4 cup bra. However the reason I really liked this bra with the dress was that its lace really suits the style of the outfit. There is no such rule that you should keep your lingerie to yourself. If it’s pretty, wear it bravely as a little sexy edge to the dress.

I’ll be back soon with some more dresses so stay tuned! 

(Psst! This dress was so see-through I had to wear a black slip underneath it. I’d recommend you do the same for you don’t want your bra and VPL showing through, right?)

4 Responses to “Summer dresses special: the wrap-dress”

  1. Vesta May 13, 2013 at 2:00 pm #

    I think Jasmine is perfect for a dress this style, as this dress encases each boob and accentuates the depth of cleavage. My only concern would be a slight breeze making the nipples a bit obvious under such thin fabric, but it might not be a problem for everyone. I actually went ahead and got nipple petals just to wear with jasmine 🙂

    • sophie May 15, 2013 at 7:14 pm #

      It helps a lot to have a slip under that particular dress since there is always a danger of nipples showing through with unpadded bras 😀

  2. Erica of A Sophisticated Pair May 14, 2013 at 5:00 pm #

    How exciting! I’m glad you are finally putting the whole series together. I think the Jasmine is a pretty all-around awesome bra to wear under just about anything. Between the natural shape, the fabulous lift, and the perfect forward projection, it really does become a utility bra! Once they debut the new basic version later this year, I think it will be pretty much perfect. 🙂 P.S. That dress looks GORGEOUS on you! Love the color and the design too.

    • sophie May 15, 2013 at 7:19 pm #

      Thank you for your kind words, Erica! There is a follow-up post coming tomorrow featuring a nude summer dress. I assume the black version of Jasmine will be a hit but I’m actually really looking forward to try on the gorgeous champagne pink version in fall. It looks super feminine and classy!

Leave a Reply

Mette Sofia - Makeup & Hair artistry

- for the beauty, the drag and the art ever-fab

CurvyGirlThin

a curvy girl's exploits in the wardrobe

Lucy's Corsetry

A Comprehensive Source for all things Corsets, Waist Training and Tightlacing

comicsgirlsneedbras.wordpress.com/

For the perfect fit and beyond...

The Lingerie Addict - A Lingerie Blog for Everyone

Expert lingerie advice and reviews to help you find the very best lingerie in the world. Covering full bust, luxury, plus size, and more!

Sweet Nothings

Everyone deserves a little sweetness.

Big Cup Little Cup

UK Lingerie Blog

the musings of Renzilla

My thoughts one blog post at a time

The Petite Collegiate

A fit focused love affair with lingerie

Miss Victory Violet

Vintage Fashion, Hair & Beauty and everything in between!

Junebugs and Georgia Peaches: The Adventures of Modern June Cleaver + Amelia Jetson

A blog about lingerie, bra fit and all things D+. A love letter to lace, dresses and pinup lifestyle.

Bras and Body Image

One girl's perspective on boobs, bodies, self-image and society

Kupista asiaa

A blog about lingerie, bra fit and all things D+. A love letter to lace, dresses and pinup lifestyle.

Fuller Figure Fuller Bust

A UK plus size fashion and lingerie blog with a little extra padding.

