Summer dresses special: The LBD

23 May

ImageImageImageImage

 

Hello! I feel so weird seeing these pictures of me cause the weather has become much more warmer and snowless here in Oulu. I’m actually wearing a thin blouse and shorts at the moment so you can imagine how fine the weather is, it’s just perfect (it’s +18 C at the moment which is great for me as I don’t fancy anything above +23 and under +17). But yeah, let’s cut the bull and get back to business.

First of all, I KNOW this dress squishes my boobs but what can you do, this is a problem I hardly ever avoid. I just have to deal with it and the solution I came up with was an unpadded bra with superthin fabric. So as I weighed my options I came up with a perfect style: Cleo Marcie. We all know that I LOVE this particular bra cause it’s such a multi-tasker and suits under almost everything I wear. I own other unpadded bras as well but e.g. Freya Arabella is too much of a plunge style for this LBD.

My mom actually found this Rinascimento dress for me and it was a great steal for a 40-something euros since it was originally something like 129 e. I have worn this for our university’s formal table parties (called sitsit in Finnish) and I really think it’s a good mix of elegance and sexiness. As I have mentioned before I’m not a fan of black but for some occasions (formal events, funerals etc.) a girl just need to have a little black dress. What I usually hate about LBDs is the fact that they’re so utterly boring with their sleek and classy look. I opted myself for this dress since it has that beautiful rose-lace-thingy on it which makes the outfit interesting. Image

Me at a formal table party with other Psychology and Education students.

Why the Marcie is so great under this style of dress is the fabric and the balconette style of it. This dress is quite low cut with almost square-y neckline so it has to be worn with a low-cut balconette/half-cup style with wide-set straps. What is great about black dresses though is the fact that they are well, black, and usually not see-through so the colour of your bra does not really matter. My LBD is also made from a firm fabric so that anything (aka nipples) isn’t showing through. However the fabric is so unstrechy it doesn’t really allow my boobs any extra space so this is something you should think of when buying the dress itself. I didn’t and look what happened 😀

Ok, so the last one will appear online soon, keep checking out for it! xx

6 Responses to “Summer dresses special: The LBD”

  1. Vesta May 24, 2013 at 4:10 am #

    That last picture is priceless – you look like a movie star in it 🙂

    • sophie May 24, 2013 at 4:59 pm #

      Thank you so much! 🙂 xx

  2. Erica of A Sophisticated Pair May 31, 2013 at 7:37 pm #

    I have enjoyed this series immensely, and I love your sense of style. It’s very Old Hollywood with a modern twist. 🙂

    • sophie May 31, 2013 at 7:57 pm #

      Thank you so much Erica! I was worried that I would disappoint you, I know it’s silly but I really did 😀 Glad to hear you liked it! There is still one dress coming up this weekend so hope you’ll like that one too.

      • Erica of A Sophisticated Pair May 31, 2013 at 8:00 pm #

        No worries on disappointing me because I think everything from the concept to the execution to the pictures turned out lovely!

      • sophie May 31, 2013 at 8:16 pm #

        Thanks again 🙂 I’m so happy to hear that! xx

Leave a Reply

Mette Sofia - Makeup & Hair artistry

- for the beauty, the drag and the art ever-fab

CurvyGirlThin

a curvy girl's exploits in the wardrobe

Lucy's Corsetry

A Comprehensive Source for all things Corsets, Waist Training and Tightlacing

comicsgirlsneedbras.wordpress.com/

For the perfect fit and beyond...

The Lingerie Addict - A Lingerie Blog for Everyone

Expert lingerie advice and reviews to help you find the very best lingerie in the world. Covering full bust, luxury, plus size, and more!

Sweet Nothings

Everyone deserves a little sweetness.

Big Cup Little Cup

UK Lingerie Blog

the musings of Renzilla

My thoughts one blog post at a time

The Petite Collegiate

A fit focused love affair with lingerie

Miss Victory Violet

Vintage Fashion, Hair & Beauty and everything in between!

Junebugs and Georgia Peaches: The Adventures of Modern June Cleaver + Amelia Jetson

A blog about lingerie, bra fit and all things D+. A love letter to lace, dresses and pinup lifestyle.

Bras and Body Image

One girl's perspective on boobs, bodies, self-image and society

Kupista asiaa

A blog about lingerie, bra fit and all things D+. A love letter to lace, dresses and pinup lifestyle.

Fuller Figure Fuller Bust

A UK plus size fashion and lingerie blog with a little extra padding.

