Bra Review: Bronte by Fauve

31 May

Hi there ya’ll! I’m sorry I’ve been neglecting you for a moment but I had soooo much to do. My sister just graduated today which was very emotional to me even though I’m not that person who usually cries at everything. Btw, she was the student of the year 2013 which made me extra proud! Anyways, here I am with a new bra review and I actually decided to make a small change on my review posts which is dividing these posts to three different “sections”: fit, comfort and design. I think this will make the reviews more constructed and clear to all my readers. This time I reviewed the Fauve’s stunning Bronte longline which is one of the most beautiful bras I’ve ever seen.ImageImage

Design: As you can see the Bronte has a very nice orange colour to it which is super-summery and fun. It’s also quite luxorious and has a deep shade which makes this longline vibrant yet grown up. I payed a LOT for this beauty ( about 90 e and that was after I got 15% off!) but the looks ALMOST make up for it. Just almost, cause u know, appearance is not something we splurge a 100 e for. The detailing is amazing, very mature but in a good way. I also love the shade of the lace because it’s not all white or creamy but really a shade of pale grey(ish). The materials are also really special and make this bra look as expensive as it is. It has vertical seaming which I love look-wise, it kinda makes the bra look sexy and classy at the same time. However, one minus would be that this is not much of a longline because the band does not get that low on my torso. But that could only be me, someone with a shorter torso might find it just fine for them.

ImageImage

Fit: Fit-wise this bra is not the best for me. It runs quite true to size on the band but I would definitely recommend to size up in the cups. I’m wearing a 30FF which is a rather good size for me BUT I could have probably gone up to 30G. As you can see the lace on the cups makes them look like the other one is gaping but it really isn’t, it’s just the lace standing in a weird position. The other cup is actually giving me almost double-boob. Shape-wise I would compare it to Curvy Kate “Tease Me” since it’s quite shallow in the cup and has the same “cakes on a plate” effect on cleavage.

This bra has reeeeeally wide underwires. The wires go actually way back in my armpit which was super weird cause I have never EVER seen such wide wires. However, they do not come up that high but still, the wires are a big issue for me or I think for anyone but I’ll cover up that issue on the comfort section. I think something has gone badly wrong when designing this bra and I think this could be better for someone with a bigger band size. It almost seems like they only sister-sized this bra down to the small bands and left the wires as wide as with the bigger bands. CAN’T UNDERSTAND.

Comfort: I must admit it: this is NOT an everyday bra! Don’t even think about wearing it for longer periods than three hours. It’s absolutely pure pain. I had this bra on for work (6 h) and I constantly tried to bend the wires away from my body to feel comfortable. The wires are so wide they poke on my ribs.  When I finally got to take the bra off it had left me serious red marks like two inches away from my breast tissue which is not good! The bones that were on the sides of the bra were also painful and poked me constantly, especially while bending myself and moving around our store.

Other thing that really bugged me big time was the lace on the lower part of the longline. It was itchy as hell and kept rolling up because of my ribs that are super outward projected (sounds weird I know, but just take a look at the video, that underbust “fat” is actually mostly my ribs sticking out). This was so uncomfortable I doomed this bra to go to hell until something really special happens or I need a dose of sexiness.

Seriously, I just hope Bronte needs a break-out period but I doubt it. This bra was just not for me and It’s killing me and my wallet.

Suomeksi/In Finnish:

Lisäystä sen verran videoon, että Bronte oli päivän päätteeksi melkoisen epämukava malli ainakin minun päälläni. Kuuden tunnin työpäivän jälkeen halusin repiä rintsikat päältäni ja niiden alta paljastuikin mukavat jäljet, jotka olivat MONTA SENTTIÄ liian kaukana rintakudoksestani. Tämän mallin ongelma on siis todellakin nuo liian leveät kaarituet, jotka painavat ja pistelevät inhottavasti ainakin tässä koossa. Voi tietysti olla, että isommissa ympärysmitoissa ongelma voi helpottua mutta sitähän en voi tietää kun näyttöä asiasta ei ainakaan vielä liiemmin ole. Jos on mahdollisuus käydä jossain kokeilemassa, niin raportoikaa ihmeessä minulle mikä on asian laita!

14 Responses to “Bra Review: Bronte by Fauve”

  1. Vesta June 1, 2013 at 4:14 pm #

    It does look like it gives a nice rounded shape under the the clothing, apart from the top lace sticking out. It would be nice to see the bra on its own too, so maybe some stock picture with a model would be useful? I like your idea of structuring the reviews! It does sound like this bra is not really worth the money though. 😦 I don’t care how sexy, but if I can’t wear it for more than a couple of hours without injuring myself, I’d skip it altogether. Sorry that you made such an unfortunate purchase 😦

    • sophie June 13, 2013 at 6:08 pm #

      Will upload a campaign picture soon! I know, it wasn’t worth the money but heck, next time I wanna feel sexy I have something gorgeous 😀

  2. nothingeverfits June 7, 2013 at 7:22 pm #

    Very wide wires? it sounds like a perfect bra for me 😛
    But itchy lace ((( that’s sad, did you wash it?

    • Bra Nightmares June 12, 2013 at 10:21 am #

      Voi vitsit, harmi kun tää ei ollut hyvä sulle. On nimittäin aivan mielettömän kaunis liivi. Fauven malleissa on jotain mieletöntä luksusta aina, ja ne näyttää melkeinpä enemmän taideteoksilta kuin vaatteilta. 😀

      • sophie June 13, 2013 at 6:10 pm #

        Niinpä! Ja kauneuden vuoksi täytyy kärsiä 😀 No ei nyt sentään.. Mutta siis kyllä tätä kehtaa käyttää joskus sitten kun tulee oikein spessu tapaus, tosin ei kovin montaa tuntia.

    • sophie June 13, 2013 at 6:09 pm #

      No I did not wash it yet so we’ll see if it gets better over time 🙂 I doubt it though..

      • nothingeverfits June 13, 2013 at 8:33 pm #

        This is sad. I was really looking forward for the silver-grey version.

  3. faustineli June 12, 2013 at 8:19 pm #

    I just received the bra in a 32G and I agree that the wires are wide, which is surprising but I rather like. I found that I didn’t actually need to size in the cup.
    My preliminary complaint is that it’s quite difficult to put on the bra for me!

    • sophie June 13, 2013 at 6:11 pm #

      Thats so true! It’s tricky to do it up without my bf helping me.. But I have to learn to do it since we just broke up :/

  4. jenna March 17, 2014 at 11:21 am #

    Such a pit Bronte didn´t work for you 😦

    I have the same bra in 30F. I concider my usual Panache size 28F or 28FF. It does have quite wide wires but it is no problem for me. They are wider than I need but comfortable and there is no empty fabric in the sides. I wonder if I could´ve get away with even 30FF since there is some quadboob, especially in the center.

    I don´t find the bra uncomfortable to wear. The boning “feels” a bit at the bottom, I constantly remember that I´m wearing Bronte, but it is not painful. I did wash the bra and I have no problems with itching or anything. I have worn it now good 7 hours 🙂

    I also found it hard to fasten! When I managed to fasten one hook, some other one came off. Eventually I had to fasten the bra on my side, and then hoik it up and to the right place.

  5. jenna March 17, 2014 at 11:33 am #

    Oh and I must mention that I find the band runs small. My tight underbust measurement is 26 inches and I always always need a 28 band. In Bronte 30 is very good for me. I definitely couldn´t wear a 28 (if that was an option in Bronte!).

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Fauve Bronte Review | Faustine's Foundations - July 25, 2013

    […] Other reviews: Two Cakes on a Plate […]

  2. Wishlist Wednesdays: Fauve Bronte Spice | Filling A Niche - September 25, 2013

    […] this bra if I ever get it (fingers crossed), but for now, check out some other blogger reviews: Two Cakes On A Plate Faustine’s […]

  3. Lingerie Review: Parfait “Elissa” Longline in 32G | Two cakes on a plate - May 14, 2016

    […] not the most smooth one – the ones that have been here from the start remember that infamous Fauve “Bronte” review where I complained about the bones on the bodice that rubbed and stabbed me all over my torso and […]

Leave a Reply

Mette Sofia - Makeup & Hair artistry

- for the beauty, the drag and the art ever-fab

CurvyGirlThin

a curvy girl's exploits in the wardrobe

Lucy's Corsetry

A Comprehensive Source for all things Corsets, Waist Training and Tightlacing

comicsgirlsneedbras.wordpress.com/

For the perfect fit and beyond...

The Lingerie Addict - A Lingerie Blog for Everyone

Expert lingerie advice and reviews to help you find the very best lingerie in the world. Covering full bust, luxury, plus size, and more!

Sweet Nothings

Everyone deserves a little sweetness.

Big Cup Little Cup

UK Lingerie Blog

the musings of Renzilla

My thoughts one blog post at a time

The Petite Collegiate

A fit focused love affair with lingerie

Miss Victory Violet

Vintage Fashion, Hair & Beauty and everything in between!

Junebugs and Georgia Peaches: The Adventures of Modern June Cleaver + Amelia Jetson

A blog about lingerie, bra fit and all things D+. A love letter to lace, dresses and pinup lifestyle.

Bras and Body Image

One girl's perspective on boobs, bodies, self-image and society

Kupista asiaa

A blog about lingerie, bra fit and all things D+. A love letter to lace, dresses and pinup lifestyle.

Fuller Figure Fuller Bust

A UK plus size fashion and lingerie blog with a little extra padding.

