The sports bra of my life: Shock Absorber Multi Sports

3 Jul

I used to hate sports all the way through high school, I hated the teachers, all the competitiveness and above all I hated the bounce my breasts made when I tried to keep up with the other girls. I was never particularly good at anything until my PE lessons stopped and I found the wonders of running. My dad is running marathon so of course he was over the moon when I finally did something athletic and offered to buy me some sports clothes. I ran for a long time in my regular 34C bras (ouch!) but when I started to run 7 k four times a week I decided to ask my mom to take me bra shopping. I went to a well known department store and got my first 32D Shock Absorber – which I loved.

Ever since Shock Absorber has been my go-to bra whatever sports I’m doing at a time. Now my size has increased to 32F but the bra never fails me. Here are some details on te bra.

Design: Shock Absorbers are one of the most colourful sports bras you can imagine. I originally hated the look of sports bras when I was buying my first one. Then I saw a bra with purple-navy combination and started to warm up for the idea of wearing one. Shock Absorber offers a lot of colour combos and this summer’s design is lovely pink-purple combination which I personally looooove for its girliness. It’s also designed to press your breasts towards the body so the silhouette is very low-profile which I prefer when working out. (I actually love to dance hip hop so bullet bra styled sports bra is not my go-to option at all..)Image

Fit: Shock Absorbers are REALLY tight on the band so I recommend sizing up to your nearest sister size which in my case means 30FF to 32F . The 32 band feels actually like a snug 30-band so it’s easy to pick up even at my town’s sports stores for they don’t really carry 30 backs, not to mention 28s. The “cups” are true to size and the neck line comes up quite high so there is no cleavage whatsoever if you go for the right size which I prefer when doing high-impact sports. Also make sure that the bra comes up high enough on your armpits since it’s really easy to get terrible sideboob when wearing the wrong sized sports bra.

This bra is compression sports bra which means it does not have any wires to keep your boobs uplifted and separated from each other. This might bother some of you but with my 32Fs I’m coping just fine. It has maximum support level so for that matter I would expect it to suit many sizes if compression style is not something you want to avoid.

Comfort: Because of the bra style it’s really important to keep in mind your own preferences and the size of your breasts. As I’m at the beginning or middle of most full bust size ranges I feel like my boobs are quite comfortable in a compression bra. I don’t sweat on my mid-riff or bust area that much so wirelessness is not a problem for I don’t get any inconvenient boob sweat. However, if your boobs are larger than mine or you sweat a lot you might prefer wires to separate your breasts from each other for comfort reasons.

Otherwise I can imagine this bra to suit many woman and the bra does have quite an impressive size range (A 32-734, B/C 32-38, D-HH 28-40). It has great wide shoulder straps and two pieces of band to close the bra and keep it secure. The band does not lose its elasticity for a long time, I can wear my Shock Absorbers even two years with almost the same amount of support as when they were brand new. This makes them one of the best sports bras on full-bust market and I love mine to death!

Suomeksi: 

Pahoittelen, mun ääni kuulostaan jotenkin super-ärsyttävältä! Video vääristää, toivottavasti.

27 Responses to “The sports bra of my life: Shock Absorber Multi Sports”

  1. Piia July 3, 2013 at 2:27 pm #

    Heippa! Sen verran mie kommentoin että itse kun käytän puolalaisissa liiveissä kokoa 75I ja jopa 75K ja englantilaisissa 75H/HH niin nuo Shock Absorberin koot tahtoo jäädä melko nafetiksi. Ja siitä huolimatta niitä käytän sillä vaikka omistan juoksuliiveinä sekä Freyan kaarituellista että Panachen kaarituellista urheiluliiviä niin eivät ne vaan toimi yhtä hyvin kuin nuo SA:t. Itselläni noissa Schock Absorbereissa vain tulee esiin se ongelma että koska kuppikoot ovat minulle liian pieniä, litistyy rintää väkisin yläpuolelle sen verran että tietyissä topeissa meinaa tulla ihme cleavage-ilmiö tuonne miltei kaulaan…:) Niin ja mie myös käytän aina kaksia Schock Absorbereita päällekkäin yhdellä kertaa. Itse juoksen pitkää matkaa ja ainoa yhtään toimiva liivi on juuri tämä, kun taas esim. Freya repii yli kympin matkoilla selän hajalle. 😦

    • Muru July 3, 2013 at 3:18 pm #

      Good greetings!

      I found you’r blog a month ago. As you are similar to my size, I like the reviews.

      I would advise you try on Panache sports bra. I am rather similar size to you, though my first choice is 28G. And in that I have 30FF and it is awesome. Very tight in the beginning, but stretches a bit in time. So I shall probably go to 28G next time. Great shape, support and very comfy. I like how I feel beautiful in it. I wear it as a top at home when the weather is so hot that we have 30 degrees indoors and I have to chase my toddler around!

      • sophie July 5, 2013 at 7:25 am #

        I will definitely give it a try! I love the pink colour so I hope I’ll get my hands on it some time soon 🙂

    • Milla July 4, 2013 at 7:48 am #

      I wear 70HH in both polish and UK brands and no way I’d ever fit into a Shock Absorber anymore. In this cupsize the only bra that really works is the Enell. Dear Piia, give it a try!

      • sophie July 5, 2013 at 7:33 am #

        I have heard that Enell is one of best options for someone in bigger cup sizes than H. The only thing that really bothers me is the looks of the bra and the sizing of it (which is S, M, L… am I right?). Can I ask which size did you go for since I’m baffled how the sizes work without proper band/cup-sizing?

      • Milla July 7, 2013 at 1:51 pm #

        Sophie, I have a regular size 2 for low impact sports and a custom size 2 for high impact. I consider myself a pretty average 70HH, you know: band on the loosest hook, center gore sits against the sternum and no Panache underwires, please. 🙂 So the regular Enell 2 is comfortably tight across the breasts and keeps them securely in place during stretching, hiking, canoeing, garden work etc. I’d say that the regular size 2 is perfect especially if you’re wearing 75 band and cup H-J. Size 1 is best for band sizes 65-70 and cups sizes F-GG.
        However, if you’re outside these general guidelines, like I am, you can get a custom fit for a small extra fee (15$ plus shipping). Problems with regular sizes may occur if you’re very long or very petite in the upper chest (or the other way round: your breasts sit very high or very low on your chest) or your breasts are in the size range 60-75 band combined with JJ+ cup.

      • Piia July 8, 2013 at 12:49 pm #

        I will certainly give the Enell a try, and thanks for explaining the sizing system. With the Shock Absorbers it’s not really a question of fitting but rather more of squeezing and squishing myself into them, which is obviously far from comfortable. In fact, it causes a whole different set of problems because it’s practically like running with a chest girdle and you can imagine what it does to your breathing. However, as I really can not deal with any sort of bounce and frankly, half-marathon and marathon distances with boobs that hop and bop around at all is really not an option. So indeed, I will give the Enell a try. 🙂

      • Milla July 9, 2013 at 11:10 am #

        Piia, I can tell you from experience that when you put an Enell on for the first few times, it’ll feel like a corset without bones.It’s based on compression even more than the SA, but since its construction is vastly different, it works far better. When you find the right size (or get a custom one), the compression seems to vanish once you start running/training. You can practically forget that you have big boobs! 🙂

    • sophie July 5, 2013 at 7:16 am #

      Olen huomannut saman efektin mun 70E SA:ssa 😀 Pumpissa kun maastavetoja tekee niin semmonen tissivako, että huhhuh.. Tosi monethan käyttää urheiluliivejä parikin päällekkäin, itsestä vaan kuulostaa aika epämukavalta vaihtoehdolta. PItäisi melkein laittaa Shock Absorberille viestiä, että ottaisivat valikoimaan edes himpun isompia kokoja kun muillakin brittibrändeillä on! Tai sitten pitäisi pyytää Panachelta kaarituetonta versiota..

      • sophie July 8, 2013 at 9:03 am #

        Oh ok, sounds like I’m within the Enell size range but it’s really fantastic that the bras can be altered to fit more sizes as well. Definitely a good option for girls who don’t fit in the SA size range!

      • Piia July 8, 2013 at 12:54 pm #

        Näin ole ajatellut itsekkin, että pitäisi alkaa lähettelemään palautetta Absorbereiden valmistajalle jotta kokoja enemmän. Ja ei se tosiaan mikään maailman mukavin vaihtoehto ole niitä liivejä pitää useampia päällekkäin ja aika tarkkana saa olla että eivät hinkkaa ihoa rikki pitkillä matkoilla. Itse laitoinkin jo Freyalle palautetta heidän liivinsä ”bandin” alareunan materiaalista kun se tosiaan rikkoo ihon jo tuommoisella puolimaratoonin matkalla. Samalla mainitsin siitä bullet-mallista kun en itse kauheasti sitä urheilurintsikoissa arvosta ja sen(kin) takia pidän siinä vielä aina päällä jotain perus ”liivitoppia” a la Nike/Adidas/Puma yms.

      • sophie July 8, 2013 at 6:25 pm #

        On muutenkin vähän ihmeellistä että Freyan kaltainen “edelläkävijä” mokaa tuollaisessa asiassa. Toivottavasti palaute otetaan vastaan ja asiaan tulee muutos. Onhan se kurjaa ettei voi vapaasti harrastaa mitä haluaa kun oikeita tuotteita ei ole saatavilla :/

  2. Vesta July 3, 2013 at 3:00 pm #

    Can you put it in the washing machine, since there are no wires? Obviously no tumble drying, but I am not keen on my panache sports bra because it needs to be hand washed (and it seems a tiny bit small for me). I am ok with hand washing my regular bras, but I feel like a sports bra wants a bit more rigorous cleaning.

    • Muru July 3, 2013 at 3:27 pm #

      I wash my Panache sports bra in a bag and in the washing machine because I am lazy and would just get a new one if something bad happened… Nothing has happened to it yet, I have had it for nearly a year. Ah, the logo in front was peeled off, but that happened during the first times I actually did handwash it.

    • sophie July 5, 2013 at 7:20 am #

      Yes you can! Or I do anyways 😀 SA bras are extremely durable when it comes to washing. Only problem that might come up are the hooks that can bend or damage other clothing.. But I’m taking the risk 😉 I totally agree with you that hand washing sports bra would be pain the ass since I use them at least 3-4 times a week.

  3. braberliner July 3, 2013 at 7:54 pm #

    I made same experiences with Shock Absorber. It is a colorful bra with compression and good support. Because there are no wires, machine wash is not a problem. But it’s circular to try it on or out closed to it’s Racerback. Second disadvantage is that compression push*s breast against it other. So if you are sweating its uncomfortable for jogging or running longer distances. I wear it for cycling and therefore it’s perfect.

    • sophie July 5, 2013 at 7:29 am #

      Yeah I totally forgot to mention that it is quite hard to close the hooks without any help! I would advice to close the lower hooks first and then the upper ones if you can manage. I usually try to get someone else to close the last mentioned.

  4. emilia August 9, 2013 at 12:17 pm #

    Näin opiskelijabudjetilla olen itse päätynyt tilaamaan omat Shock Absorberit netistä. Eikä niistä kyllä edes kokoa löydy Suomessa mistään, niin vähän pakkokin. Ebayssä eivät maksa edes paria kymppiä, aika tuntuvasti halvemmat. Sieltä ostaessa tosin vähän joutui tinkimään väristä, mutta ihan söpöt nuo Ruotsi-värisetkin on 🙂

    • sophie August 9, 2013 at 12:21 pm #

      Joo mustakin se kelta-sininen on ihan hauska väri! 🙂 En oo hoksannutkaan aikasemmin Ebaysta katsoa, muualta netistä kun tilaa niin tulee melkeinpä saman verran maksamaan jos tilaa briteistä kun punnan kurssi on niin älytön ja vielä tulee postimaksutkin päälle. Kokohomma on kyllä toinen tarina sitten, G-kuppi kun on suomalaiselle sisäänostajalle “valtava” ja “ei-myyvä”. Hohhoijakkaa..

      • emilia August 9, 2013 at 12:30 pm #

        Joo eBaystä kyllä löytyy ihan kivasti varsinkin noita poistuvia värejä. Mulla menee itsellä just se koko siinä GG:ssä, niin eihän sitä nyt tietenkään mistään kaupoista enää löydy. Jopa Sokkarin myyjä sano, kun kävin kokeilemassa, että ehkä kannattaa tilata ennemmin netistä, kun en kuitenkaan tulis niitä mistään kaupasta löytämään 😀

      • sophie August 9, 2013 at 12:37 pm #

        Haha, hyvää asiakaspalvelua 😀

    • emilia August 15, 2013 at 9:42 am #

      Tuli tässä vielä mieleen vähän jälkijunassa. Koin muutenkin mielenkiintoisia hetki, kun yritin etsiä toisia ShockAbsorbereita, enkä olis jaksanut tilata netistä. Otin yhteyttä suoraan maahantuojaan ja kyselin löytyykö omassa koossa yleensäkään Suomesta mistään tuota mallia. Sieltä sit vastattiin, että voisin mennä paikalliseen urheiluliikkeeseen kokeilemaan ja sinne voisi sitten tarpeen tullen tilata sopivan koon. No eihän se sit tietenkään mennyt ihan näin, vaan menin paikalle ja ensimmäinen kommentti oli se, että ne tilatut sit kanssa pitäisi ottaa. Siinä sit väkisin alettiin valikoimasta etsiä muka sopivaa, eikä myyjä ollenkaan uskonut, että kyllä oon siitä omasta koostani perillä. No ainakin kävin testaamassa kaikenmaailman 85F:t ja totesin, että omat on oikein hyvät. Vielä melkein viimesenä siinä sitten myyjä totesi, että kyllä se 75 ympärys ei kyllä kuulosta yhtään sopivalta vaan on varmastikin liian pieni.

      Oho tulipas avautuminen ja romaani, sori 😀

      • sophie August 15, 2013 at 9:54 am #

        Raivostuttavaa! Miten joku edes kehtaa olla noin urpo ja selittää asiakkaalle että “Eiku mä oon oikeassa ja sä oot tyhmä.” Itse laittaisin asiakaspalautetta. Kyllä se niin on että pakko kai se on netistä tilata jos palvelu on tuollaista..

      • emilia August 15, 2013 at 10:04 am #

        Kyllä se tosin sen lopulta sit itsekin myönsi, että ne mun omat oli ehdottomasti kaikista sopivimmat, kun laitoin ne viimeisenä päälle. Mutta jos en asiasta olis perillä yhtään ollut, niin olisin kyllä kotiin kantanut ihan väärän kokoiset. Mutta tuo kyllä miun mielestä kertoo aika paljon siitä, että millaisia liivejä ihmisille meillä täällä myydään.

      • sophie August 15, 2013 at 10:05 am #

        Totta, harmittaa kun Suomi niin jäljessä tällaissa jutuissa.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Fit & Active September: Sports bra shopping – What to consider? | Two cakes on a plate - September 28, 2013

    […] to slip off your shoulders. This causes mostly irritation but also a little less support. I love my Shock Absorber (a link to my review) sports bra cause it has TWO sets of hook and eye closures which means it has […]

  2. Time to Get Active! – Shock Absorber “Multi Sports Support Bra” in 32G | Two cakes on a plate - January 14, 2016

    […] As it has been two and half years since I last tried this particular bra, there has been some minor changes to the style. The style […]

Leave a Reply

Mette Sofia - Makeup & Hair artistry

- for the beauty, the drag and the art ever-fab

CurvyGirlThin

a curvy girl's exploits in the wardrobe

Lucy's Corsetry

A Comprehensive Source for all things Corsets, Waist Training and Tightlacing

comicsgirlsneedbras.wordpress.com/

For the perfect fit and beyond...

The Lingerie Addict - A Lingerie Blog for Everyone

Expert lingerie advice and reviews to help you find the very best lingerie in the world. Covering full bust, luxury, plus size, and more!

Sweet Nothings

Everyone deserves a little sweetness.

Big Cup Little Cup

UK Lingerie Blog

the musings of Renzilla

My thoughts one blog post at a time

The Petite Collegiate

A fit focused love affair with lingerie

Miss Victory Violet

Vintage Fashion, Hair & Beauty and everything in between!

Junebugs and Georgia Peaches: The Adventures of Modern June Cleaver + Amelia Jetson

A blog about lingerie, bra fit and all things D+. A love letter to lace, dresses and pinup lifestyle.

Bras and Body Image

One girl's perspective on boobs, bodies, self-image and society

Kupista asiaa

A blog about lingerie, bra fit and all things D+. A love letter to lace, dresses and pinup lifestyle.

Fuller Figure Fuller Bust

A UK plus size fashion and lingerie blog with a little extra padding.

