Mermaid vibes: Curvy Kate Portia review

2 Aug

Hi there! I know, I know, I’ve been gone for a looooong time but hey, don’t you blame me, I did have some pretty kick-ass reasons for it. And by kick-ass I mean life has been kicking my butt like hell lately. First of all, I gotta retake a psychology exam next week which irritates me BIG TIME but the most time-consuming thing that took basically all my time this week was my move and my mom’s move. I mean, I moved two households to two new flats which took an awful lot of time and made me crazy each and every day. So please excuse me…

But yeah, now everything has fallen into its place (except some of those cartoon boxes on the floor) and it’s review time again! The first lingerie set I bought myself from the SS13 collections was the stunning “Portia” by Curvy Kate. I was familiar with the style since I had already purchased the continuity colour Black some time ago. I loved the comfort and the simple prettiness of the bra and decided to go for the new Seafoam colour of SS13. Here’s how I liked it…

Image

Design: One word: Lovely! This darling is an absolute babe all the way from the beautiful colour to the amazing contrasting trim on the edge of the cup. This is exactly what a spring/summer bra is supposed to look like! Even though the seamfoam has been popping up in every other lingerie collection I always love it to death since it’s something completely new to me.

I also like how simple yet effective this style truly is. The ribbon makes it girly enough for me but otherwise this is a great everyday look though colour is not something you call basic.

I have had trouble with CK designs in the past because of the shape of their seamed bras give me but this new Portia is definitely an improved model of the black one I have. The look is more uplifted yet could be improved still to give even more perky look. However this time my boobs don’t look as sad as they used to (u know that downwards look that some bras give you?). Otherwise the look is pretty natural, almost pointy. If I could change something it would definitely be the shape since I do prefer bras that give me a rounder look. 

Image

Fit: Curvy Kates have always fitted me nicely due to their wire-width and cup depth. Even though the cups are pretty shallow they are pretty good for me since I don’t have that deep breasts neither narrow ones. 

When it comes to sizing it gets a bit tricky. I usually wear 30FF nowadays but strangely this style in 30F fits me well. In addition I have slight wrinkling on my smaller side which means the cup is a tad too big for it. I’m not sure if this is due to my breast shape but I always go for my smaller CK size (30F or 28FF) when it comes to their seamed styles. This also happens to my little sister so I bet they run bigger than eg Smoothie or the Showgirl range (R.I.P). 

The band feels like a regular 30 band, maybe a little bit stretchier than some 30s but definitely not loose. I always hover between 28 and 30 when it comes to CK bras but I’m pretty contempt with this particular style.

Image

Comfort: Because of the great wire width (pretty wide but not as wide as eg. my TR Lililana)  this bra is one of those rare pieces that look pretty and feel comfy as well. The wires don’t come too high up for me and the center gore is also on the right level to be as comfortable as possible.

I wore this bra during my move and it was faaaar more comfortable than my Cleo Marcie which I literally had to take off during my mom’s move. The fabric is pretty soft and smooth when it comes to Portia which always makes me happy. I’ve been suffering from a terrible armpit itch for days now and it magically settled after changing for a bra like this; no trims and frills under my armpits, thank you very much. 

All in all, Portia is one of those everyday styles that make me feel… well, nothing. And by that I mean physically. No itching, no overflow, no nothing. Mentally this bra cheers me up and makes me feel like a modern mermaid; exactly what I hope for from spring/summer lingerie.

PS. Please excuse me the wounds and scars I have on my body. This is how I actually look like from time to time.

 

4 Responses to “Mermaid vibes: Curvy Kate Portia review”

  1. AmyRebecca August 3, 2013 at 11:39 pm #

    You look marvellous 😀 I’m glad you like this bra, it’s pretty much my nemesis when it comes to shape & wires, but the colours are so pretty.

    • sophie August 4, 2013 at 6:58 pm #

      Thanks! Yeah the shape could still be improved but it’s ok on me 🙂

  2. Erica of A Sophisticated Pair August 14, 2013 at 7:50 pm #

    I am so intrigued by the new Portia as I have long loved Curvy Kate but found their designs too wide for my frame. The color looks wonderful on you, and between your thoughts and those of Curvy Wordy, I am wavering!

    • sophie August 15, 2013 at 9:35 am #

      Just give it a try, you never know! 😉

Leave a Reply

Mette Sofia - Makeup & Hair artistry

- for the beauty, the drag and the art ever-fab

CurvyGirlThin

a curvy girl's exploits in the wardrobe

Lucy's Corsetry

A Comprehensive Source for all things Corsets, Waist Training and Tightlacing

comicsgirlsneedbras.wordpress.com/

For the perfect fit and beyond...

The Lingerie Addict - A Lingerie Blog for Everyone

Expert lingerie advice and reviews to help you find the very best lingerie in the world. Covering full bust, luxury, plus size, and more!

Sweet Nothings

Everyone deserves a little sweetness.

Big Cup Little Cup

UK Lingerie Blog

the musings of Renzilla

My thoughts one blog post at a time

The Petite Collegiate

A fit focused love affair with lingerie

Miss Victory Violet

Vintage Fashion, Hair & Beauty and everything in between!

Junebugs and Georgia Peaches: The Adventures of Modern June Cleaver + Amelia Jetson

A blog about lingerie, bra fit and all things D+. A love letter to lace, dresses and pinup lifestyle.

Bras and Body Image

One girl's perspective on boobs, bodies, self-image and society

Kupista asiaa

A blog about lingerie, bra fit and all things D+. A love letter to lace, dresses and pinup lifestyle.

Fuller Figure Fuller Bust

A UK plus size fashion and lingerie blog with a little extra padding.

