How I choose to wash my bras

18 Aug

Hi there! I was taking a nap at 8 pm and suddenly woke up and couldn’t sleep anymore. I decided to wash my bras which were piling up on my laundry basket. Wait, what a great topic for a blog post! I know some of you consider your bra laundry as a tedious inconvenient thing to do but it’s actually pretty simple and quick if you can get your arse up and into your bathroom. Here are the steps I follow and find most essential.

  • When to wash your bras

I usually tend to wear my bras only one day at a time. That means I wear about 4-7 different bras during one week and what THAT means I don’t have to wash them that often since they have time to rest and get some air and don’t end up dirty or smelly too early. When I have worn the same bra a few times (3-5) I throw it into my laundry basket. However that is all up to yours since the times you can wear a bra is dependent on how much you usually sweat during a day etc.

  • Before washing

Check how dirty your undies are and decide whether you need to do something before washing. This is particularly important if you suffer from eczema like me since the itching and scratching usually ends up making you bleed and can show as blood marks on your bras. If this is the case, rinse the stain under cold water and try to rub it gently.

Also I prefer to close the hooks and eyes of the bra to keep those gentle fabrics safe from tearing. 

Image

First step: Choose a gentle washing powder or other detergent

As I’m Finnish we have this great Omo Color Sensitive washing powder which is amazing since it does not have any strong perfume to it and it leaves my clothes and bras non-itchy. It’s important that the detergent is also gentle to your lingerie since bras are usually made of delicate fabrics and lace which need extra attention.

Image

Step 2: Water + detergent + lingerie

Fill your bathroom sink with warm but not HOT water. Preferably you should wash your lingerie in a water that’s something between cool and warm. Throw some detergent in the water (a lot less than when your using your washing machine) and the bras as well.

Image

Step 3: Soak and wash

You don’t have to soak your bras but if you want to a few minutes will do the trick without destroying your wires and elastic. You can also skip the soaking and just gently rub your bras against each other in the water. And when I say gently, I mean GENTLY. You don’t want the colour or print coming off and fabric destroyed. 

Flush the water when the washing water looks like in the pic above. Grey is a colour meaning all the shit’s been cleaned up.

Image

Step 4: Rinse

The easiest way for me to do this is to rinse my bras under cool running tap water. Just leave your other bras in the bottom of the sink and rinse each separately until it feels like all the detergent has come off. Then place the bras on a washing line.

Image

Step 5: Drying

Squeeze the extra water out of your bras very gently and never ever try to get them super dry since the cups will loose their shape and get ruined. 

Lay your bras on a washing line like this so that they the cups won’t lose their shape. You can also stretch your (moulded) cups to their original shape if the washing has affected them. Remember to place the washing line somewhere safe from water damage. I usually keep mine near the shower since that way the extra water from my lingerie goes straight into the floor drain.

And that’s it! Easy, wasn’t it? If you have any tips and tricks for washing bras, just let me and other readers know in the comments.

Other blog posts on the topic:

Curvy Wordy

A Sophisticated Pair

2 Responses to “How I choose to wash my bras”

  1. Vesta August 19, 2013 at 2:29 pm #

    I use the SOAK lingerie wash. It is pricey, but very economical, so it lasts forever. And very easy – which is key for me. All you need to do is dissolve about a teaspoon of the detergent in a gallon or so of water and soak the bras. No need to even rinse (though I rinse anyway, just out of a lifelong habit). I don’t rub the bras, just agitate them in the foamy water for a bit and leave in for a period of time (usually the length of an evening, but 20 – 30 mins is supposed to be more than enough). I wash my bras when they don’t feel fresh anymore – usually takes a few wears, depending on the weather and my activity. I wash the soft cup bras more frequently than the molded cup ones. For panties – I wash them in a machine in a laundry bag, then hang dry. I feel like panties require a more thorough cleaning than I am willing to do by hand.

    • sophie August 25, 2013 at 5:39 pm #

      Thanks for your input, I have heard so many good things about Soak I wish I could try it out one day. Maybe I’ll buy some when visiting NYC 😉

Leave a Reply

Mette Sofia - Makeup & Hair artistry

- for the beauty, the drag and the art ever-fab

CurvyGirlThin

a curvy girl's exploits in the wardrobe

Lucy's Corsetry

A Comprehensive Source for all things Corsets, Waist Training and Tightlacing

comicsgirlsneedbras.wordpress.com/

For the perfect fit and beyond...

The Lingerie Addict - A Lingerie Blog for Everyone

Expert lingerie advice and reviews to help you find the very best lingerie in the world. Covering full bust, luxury, plus size, and more!

Sweet Nothings

Everyone deserves a little sweetness.

Big Cup Little Cup

UK Lingerie Blog

the musings of Renzilla

My thoughts one blog post at a time

The Petite Collegiate

A fit focused love affair with lingerie

Miss Victory Violet

Vintage Fashion, Hair & Beauty and everything in between!

Junebugs and Georgia Peaches: The Adventures of Modern June Cleaver + Amelia Jetson

A blog about lingerie, bra fit and all things D+. A love letter to lace, dresses and pinup lifestyle.

Bras and Body Image

One girl's perspective on boobs, bodies, self-image and society

Kupista asiaa

A blog about lingerie, bra fit and all things D+. A love letter to lace, dresses and pinup lifestyle.

Fuller Figure Fuller Bust

A UK plus size fashion and lingerie blog with a little extra padding.

