We want more, and we want it now: #DiversityInLingerie

21 Aug

Image

Me and some other bloggers have been discussing the problem of having no diversity in the lingerie industry and today is the day when all our posts on the issue will go (and have gone) live. I love how supportive and body snark free lingerie blogosphere is but there is still something missing from the industry as a whole.

We have seen Curvy Kate representing curvier girls with more flesh on their bones and whole lingerie brands dedicated to beautiful, gorgeous plus-sized women. But diversity does not only mean plus size: it means all types of women, all ages, races, shapes, sizes, women with tattoos or disabilities and so on. Personally I would love to see them all represented, since we all are different and amazing the way we are.

So I’m white, rather slender and a big-boobed gal. I know that, but that is not all that there is to me. I have also suffered from severe body-confidence issues and anorexia not to mention that my skin is never as pure and smooth as I’d like it to be. This is why the picture above shows a slice of my back: it’s the spot I’ve always been conscious about.

I have rather wide shoulders and back fat (conveniently covered by the robe) but what is most visible and heart-breaking for me are the scars and cuts that cover my back. I hatehatehate them and still cannot forbid myself to destroy my skin over and over again. But yet, this is me and I still wear pretty lingerie and more or less love the way I look. Why I’m campaigning for #DIversityInLIngerie is because I want you all to love your bodies and the small “errors” AND also to see the beauty in others.

As the inventor of the whole #DIversityinLingerie event I will let June of Braless in Brasil guide you how to join us on our mission.

From now on, if you want to join me take a picture of yourself (can be with or without your face, in lingerie or clothes- whatever you feel comfortable with!) and somehow fit in the hashtag #DiversityInLingerie.  You’re welcome to either post it on twitter with the hashtag or email me and I’ll put it up in  a post on my blog. Starting today (August 21st) other bloggers will becoming out with their own posts and pictures so check back to this post for the links! I’ll post them as they come out. I’d encourage women of ALL walks of life and appearance to join in.  By participating you can show the lingerie industry that, yes, you’d buy lingerie from a diverse group of models, not just the ones currently shown.  I want to be clear that this is nothing against the body types currently shown and I don’t want to get into a “real women” debate. We’re all real women.  I just want a bigger pool of models so that ALL women can see someone like them and say “hey, she looks like me and that bra looks awesome on her, it could look awesome on me too!”. -Braless in Brasil

So if you want to jump in I would also love to receive your photos and publish them in my blog (you can find my e-mail on the sidebar). Remember to be active in the social media as well and let me know your thoughts on the matter! Here is a list of other bloggers who are part of the event:

Still more to come from these lovelies…

  • FullerFigureFullerBust
  • Invest in Your Chest
  • A Sophisticated Pair

15 Responses to “We want more, and we want it now: #DiversityInLingerie”

  1. sophisticatedpair August 21, 2013 at 9:16 pm #

    Excellent entry! Scars make us unique and are reminders of our individual stories, and even though they are considered “blemishes,” I think it’s important to wear them with pride.

    • sophie August 25, 2013 at 5:38 pm #

      Thanks! I felt so bad for my skin for so many years since it makes me somehow “different” but now I understand that it’s not my fault diversity is so neglected in the industry.

  2. Bethany August 22, 2013 at 1:16 am #

    This is great! Can I join in by making a post on my own blog?

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. #DiversityInLingerie | Les gros bonnets - August 21, 2013

    […] 2 cakes on a plate […]

  2. #DiversityinLingerie: My $0.02 | Wide Curves - August 21, 2013

    […] Two Cakes on a Plate […]

  3. #DiversityInLingerie | A Sophisticated Pair - August 22, 2013

    […] The Breast Life The Curves Have It KathTea Katastrophy Scarlet’s Letter The Chocolate Plushie Two Cakes on a Plate Huffington Post Butterfly CollectionQuest for the Perfect […]

  4. Diversity In Lingerie | By Baby's Rules - August 22, 2013

    […] Voluptuously Thin Venusian Glow Wide Curves That Bra Does Not Fit Her Fussy Busty Under the Unders Two Cakes on a Plate Kurvendiskussionen Curvy Wordy The Absurd Curvy Nerd The Full Figured Chest Muscular Hourglass […]

  5. Diversity In Lingerie: why we need lingerie lovers of ALL sizes! | sevenlies.net - August 22, 2013

    […] Scarlet’s Letter Fussy Busty The Breast Life Busty & Thrifty The Chocolate Plushie Two Cakes on a Plate Butterfly Collection That Bra Does Not Fit Her Quest For The Perfect […]

  6. #DiversityInLingerie | Undiegamer - August 23, 2013

    […] 2 Cakes on a Plate […]

  7. #DiversityInLingerie campaign | Nothing Ever Fits and Nobody Sympathizes - August 23, 2013

    […] The Breast Life The Curves Have It KathTea Katastrophy Scarlet’s Letter The Chocolate Plushie Two Cakes on a Plate Huffington Post Butterfly Collection Quest for the Perfect Bra That Bra Does Not Fit Her More Sand […]

  8. #DiversityinLingerie: My $0.02 | WideCurves - August 28, 2013

    […] Two Cakes on a Plate […]

  9. #DiversityinLingerie – Guest Post | Voluptuous and Beautiful - August 30, 2013

    […] Scarlets Letter Fussy Busty The Breast Life Busty & Thrifty The Chocolate Plushie Two Cakes on a Plate Butterfly Collection Quest for the Perfect Bra That Bra Does Not Fit Her More Sand in my […]

  10. Diversity in Lingerie - Invest In Your Chest | Lingerie Bra Blog - December 30, 2013

    […] and Steel The Curves Have It Fussy Busty The Breast Life Busty & Thrifty The Chocolate Plushie Two Cakes on a Plate Butterfly Collection Quest for the Perfect Bra That Bra Does Not Fit Her More Sand in my Hourglass […]

Leave a Reply

CurvyGirlThin

a curvy girl's exploits in the wardrobe

Lucy's Corsetry

A Comprehensive Source for all things Corsets, Waist Training and Tightlacing

comicsgirlsneedbras.wordpress.com/

For the perfect fit and beyond...

The Lingerie Addict - A Lingerie Blog for Everyone

Expert lingerie advice and reviews to help you find the very best lingerie in the world. Covering full bust, luxury, plus size, and more!

Sweet Nothings

Everyone deserves a little sweetness.

Big Cup Little Cup

UK Lingerie Blog

the musings of Renzilla

My thoughts one blog post at a time

The Petite Collegiate

A fit focused love affair with lingerie

Miss Victory Violet

Vintage Fashion, Hair & Beauty and everything in between!

Junebugs and Georgia Peaches: The Adventures of Modern June Cleaver + Amelia Jetson

A blog about lingerie, bra fit and all things D+. A love letter to lace, dresses and pinup lifestyle.

Bras and Body Image

One girl's perspective on boobs, bodies, self-image and society

Kupista asiaa

A blog about lingerie, bra fit and all things D+. A love letter to lace, dresses and pinup lifestyle.

Fuller Figure Fuller Bust

A UK plus size fashion and lingerie blog with a little extra padding.

