Taking over NYC: DD+ gal in the City

28 Aug

Am I superduper excited? Hell yeah. I’m taking off the day after tomorrow and packing is almost done! I’m actually worried as hell about spending 10 h in an airplane since me + hunger = not a great equation. I know, there will probably be some food around but STILL I’m worried I’m gonna turn into a total bitch. Luckily I have a great sister who has arranged a snack box for me! 😀 Precautions are always good to be done.

Okay, but to the point. I put together a holiday wardrobe which I’d like to show you since it’s always troubling to go somewhere super-hot, for me at least (please don’t kill me 30 C degrees!). Here are the pieces of clothing that’ll probably take me through that unbearable heat.

Image

First outfit consists of my mom’s old t-shirt straight from the 90’s and cropped vintage Levi’s jeans. My style is actually a bit 90’s inspired so I think that this shirt is just amazing and besides that really comfy and well-cut. I usually have trouble finding shirts that flatter me and this is cut the way that my boobs actually fit in and have a fair amount of space to feel at ease. This is also a bit fitted at waist which is great for my straight figure since it gives me a bit of curves. The sunnies are H&M.

Image

Ok, so my mom hates this shirt by Rihanna and River Island but I absolutely adore it. The cut is amazing since it covers my belly but reveals a flash of my back. I’m also a sucker for tie-dye so this was a must-buy for only 20 €. The necklace is from H&M and gives a little modern edge to the outfit.

Image

This outfit was cheap as hell but looks great in my opinion at least. The vest top is by H&M and cost about 5 quids. I rarely wear anything sleeveless since I’m a bit conscious about my arms and shoulders but this time I just decided not to give a single fuck. The skirt is Jo’s and is bought from Gina Tricot. (Sorry darling, this is coming with me to NYC! And it’s never coming back to you btw.) I love it since it has a stretchy waistband that allows me to sit and still breathe.

Image

I have a rule of 2+4+1 for traveling which means I usually take two bottoms, four tops and one playsuit/dress with me to make everything easier. Preferable those individual pieces of clothing should all be mixable. This Gina Tricot vest top is made out of lace and has a beautiful skull pattern on the backside. I’ll probably be wearing it with a black tank underneath but when it get’s really hot I just wear it with a cute bra (this time CK Portia). The necklace is H&M, once again.

Image

Hmm, you can probably just read my face and tell that this is my ultimate favourite outfit of all time. It’s so simple, comfy and always works. The playsuit is by Oasis and did I already mention I LOVE IT? Well, I love it.

Okay, so here it is. Seven days, seven pieces of clothing. I know it sounds crazy and very little but I have always been travelling light since come on, I’m doing some serious shopping anyways. I need to fit all into my suitcase, right?

When it comes to underwear I always try to pack one beige bra to wear under light-coloured clothing and  a few non-padded bras to fit into a small space (my suitcase is tiny). This time I’m taking my CK Smoothie and Portia (comfiest bra I own, great for airplane), Cleo Marcie (always a safe option) and TR Betty (comfy and makes me happy).

That was it for this time, hope you liked my choices! What are your must-pack choices when travelling?

11 Responses to “Taking over NYC: DD+ gal in the City”

  1. fashtonishing August 28, 2013 at 11:33 am #

    Lovely!
    Maybe we can follow each other?
    Kisses,
    Eveline

  2. Maria Vole August 28, 2013 at 11:51 am #

    I love the first outfit – so cute and summery!

    Maria x
    getbudgetbeautiful.com

  3. Sweets August 28, 2013 at 2:22 pm #

    I love your outfits! They are incredibly cute– safe travels!

  4. Ameri August 28, 2013 at 4:30 pm #

    How appropriate for me, I’m leaving on vacation tomorrow! I’m also packing for warm weather, but it will likely be cool in the evenings, so I’m packing two pairs of shorts and two pairs of jeans, along with tank tops and t-shirts for when it’s warm, and a couple of sweaters to throw over when it gets cool. So yeah, I’m going super simple with this one, and everything matches! As with you, I packed one “nude” bra for myself, along with colourful ones that make me happy! And of course my most comfortable undies!

    • sophie August 29, 2013 at 8:24 pm #

      Have a nice trip! Hope your wardrobe will work well, it’s always a bit more difficult if nights get chilly. Luckily that’s not case in NYC 🙂

  5. Vesta August 29, 2013 at 2:40 pm #

    You look so beautiful in all of those outfits! My personal favorite, as in “I want it!” is your mom’s top 🙂 Love the neckline and the print!

    You are packing waaay lighter than I would have packed, that’s for sure. I never know what I will want to wear on vacation, so I end up taking as much as humanely possible. And shoes. Last time I had a 10 day long trip to Europe, one of my suitcases was full of shoes alone, since I wasn’t really sure what outfits I would be wearing and for what occasions. So I simply had to lug all of the shoes with me, just in case 😀 Admittedly, it wasn’t exactly summer, so both shoes and outfits had to accommodate various weather possibilities….

    • sophie August 29, 2013 at 8:27 pm #

      Thanks Vesta, so kind of you! 🙂 Haha, I used to pack too many pairs of shoes but this time I’m taking only ONE pair with me! Can u imagine? But I’m buying a couple of pairs when I get there so maybe it’s not that bad 😀

      • Vesta August 30, 2013 at 2:00 pm #

        Well, it is easier in summer 🙂 We went to the ocean not so long ago, and I only took 3 pairs of shoes – beach flip flops, and two pairs of sandals – black and white, to match everything else! Of course, I ended up only wearing my beach flip flops the whole time 🙂 As is usually the case. Take 20 outfits, end up wearing 3.

        Hope you have a good time! (and I really am puzzled as to why you feel shy about baring your arms, there is absolutely NOTHING wrong with them).

      • sophie September 6, 2013 at 12:19 pm #

        Thanks! You’re so sweet, I just have this crazy idea in my head that all that junk food and sweets go straight into my upper body, including my arms. I guess they’re fine though 🙂

Leave a Reply

CurvyGirlThin

a curvy girl's exploits in the wardrobe

Lucy's Corsetry

A Comprehensive Source for all things Corsets, Waist Training and Tightlacing

comicsgirlsneedbras.wordpress.com/

For the perfect fit and beyond...

The Lingerie Addict - A Lingerie Blog for Everyone

Expert lingerie advice and reviews to help you find the very best lingerie in the world. Covering full bust, luxury, plus size, and more!

Sweet Nothings

Everyone deserves a little sweetness.

Big Cup Little Cup

UK Lingerie Blog

the musings of Renzilla

My thoughts one blog post at a time

The Petite Collegiate

A fit focused love affair with lingerie

Miss Victory Violet

Vintage Fashion, Hair & Beauty and everything in between!

Junebugs and Georgia Peaches: The Adventures of Modern June Cleaver + Amelia Jetson

A blog about lingerie, bra fit and all things D+. A love letter to lace, dresses and pinup lifestyle.

Bras and Body Image

One girl's perspective on boobs, bodies, self-image and society

Kupista asiaa

A blog about lingerie, bra fit and all things D+. A love letter to lace, dresses and pinup lifestyle.

Fuller Figure Fuller Bust

A UK plus size fashion and lingerie blog with a little extra padding.

