I LOVE NEW YORK

6 Sep

Ok, me is back from the city. And I loved it! I’m not sure whether you enjoy my non-boob related posts (which have been pretty much non-existent til now, I might remind you) BUT here’s one now which just needs to be written after such a trip. If anyone’s ever heard of New York, here are some myths that got busted but also some facts that many of you already know. On to the point, shall we?

Image

  • New York stinks and is nowhere near posh

I’m sorry, you must have had your Sex and the City illusions going on in your head but nope, it’s one hell of a dirty city. And the noise is just beyond compare! There’s pretty much everything on the streets; garbage, puke, shit and pee. I must admit 5th Avenue’s uptown parts were a little bit more posh and rich-looking but otherwise, get use to a big hot mess.

Image

  • When someone shouts “BUS TOUR”, take one

I know it’s pretty cliched tourist stuff but hell, it was so much easier to make your way through the city by foot after seeing all that stuff from up high. The weather is also lovely in September which meant we had a lot of sun and enjoyed our ride. These tours are nowhere near boring since they offer an audio guide with a lot off pop quiz knowledge you never knew before.

Image

  • Take also a manicure, they’re cheap

Cheap, well-done and quick! What more can you hope for? Mine cost 10$ plus tips.

Image

  • The food’s nasty… but delicious!

I mean how much sugar and fat can you cram into your daily meal? A lot, apparently. Geez man, NYC food is like every food fantasy you ever had. For one day, that is, since after that you become to crave salad and chicken breasts. That’s how overwhelming and disgusting it all gets. Plus I have to mention the stereotypical use of garlic in their “Italian” dishes, it’s just pure madness (to me at least, I’m allergic).

Image

  • Everything’s massive

It truly is and what has to be said, money talks big time in this city. It’s kinda silly but on the other hand totally glorious.  I could so see myself living in this city just because I like the buzz and how everything is done with an enormous amount of effort.

Image

  • Service is AMAZING

Well, depending on the store of course but I mean those people rock serving customers. Always smiling, always paying compliments (the common people on streets do this too!) and always willing to chat for a while. And hey, they always seem to think Finland is cool! Though it’s not, I assure you.  Anyhow, I just love you NYC people, you make my day with your warmness and friendly laid-back touch to your work. I mean, dancing with a sales assistant was just one of the experiences I’ll always cherish.

  • Oh, those men

I could see them everywhere and boy did I enjoy every bit of them. With my eyes, of course!

Image

  • And that fashion

Especially shoes, cheap comparing to Europe and the designs where amazing. If you want to experience some luxury shoe art, go to Bergdorf Goodman. I certainly felt I did not belong there but it was all worth it. For little less couture-y pieces with more affordable prices, try Macy’s. I bought a pair of BCBGeneration suede pumps for just 80$.

And for last but not the least… The lingerie knowledge sucks. Which you might have guessed already. Me + 36D (fitted by an Aerie fitter) is not a good equations. AND COME ON, no sizes beyond D in USA? Umm, miss, I gotta couple of suggestions for you, like Claudette perhaps. Well, in one sentence those girls didn’t know their stuff.

 

 

8 Responses to “I LOVE NEW YORK”

  1. faustineli September 6, 2013 at 6:58 pm #

    It’s my home city- noisy, dirty, and…wait. It and San Francisco are the most expensive places in the US. I’m surprised the clothes are comparatively cheap here!

    • sophie September 7, 2013 at 6:07 pm #

      Oh boy, u should come to Scandinavia for shopping and you’ll end up with empty hands since A) nothing fits and B) you don’t have the money. Not fun, I assure you.

      • faustineli September 9, 2013 at 11:56 pm #

        It’s even worse when I visit Taiwan in terms of clothes not fitting- I had a laundry emergency once and things turned out hilaribad since I take a XXXL to 5XL in Chinese sizes.

      • sophie September 10, 2013 at 1:53 pm #

        That’s horrible! I would feel bad about wearing size M so that would have killed me.. It’s funny how we let our clothing sizes sometimes define us 😀

      • faustineli September 9, 2013 at 11:57 pm #

        That said, Helsinki is on my list of places to visit because Finland has always been interesting to me- a seemingly tech-obsessed cold place with saunas.

      • sophie September 10, 2013 at 1:58 pm #

        There are some stuff in Finland everyone should see once in a lifetime – like northern lights and the amount of snow – but I’d suggest if and when you get here check out some other places as well since Helsinki has become a bit of a metropolitan, it’s pretty much the same as every capital in the world. And do try the sauna! It’s wonderful but don’t get upset when you have to be all naked, I think that’s the one fact that always makes foreigners uncomfortable.

  2. Vesta September 9, 2013 at 7:25 pm #

    We must have seen different New York Cities! I haven’t been there in years, but I don’t remember it being particularly dirty (not in the common touristy areas anyway, I haven’t been to ghettos). It was not super clean, but not dirty to the point where I’d be amazed. Well, I was visiting from another US city, so maybe I had my expectations low. I knew that subways were supposed to be smelly and disgusting, so that didn’t shock me. Where I come from, subways are decorated with marble and look like museum 😀

    And nice, friendly people in the streets? I thought majority were neutral at best – and everyone is busy and appears to be in a hurry. But then again – I am not from Finland 😀 And don’t even get me started on mad cab drivers. But yeah, service levels in the stores, etc., was good.

    I would say, food is “you get what you pay for”. Lots of cheap greasy stuff, but also lots of nice expensive foods.

    And last, but not least – what on earth are you holding in your hand?? I can’t figure it out for the life of me – is this a partially melted chocolate ice cream? (I am dreading the answer). 😀

    • sophie September 9, 2013 at 8:16 pm #

      Haha, it’s a half-eaten double chocolate cupcake from Magnolia bakery, tasted amazing btw 😀 So nothing to worry about, I’m pretty hygienic. And so is Finland! This is why it’s pretty easy to wrinkle my nose, I’m apparently hyper-sensitive to different smells and my home country is pretty clean and neat. There’s also this weird habit in NYC to throw garbage on the street in big plastic bags which start to smell pretty soon in the heat. But yeah, I’ve seen it in UK also so I think it must be quite common around other parts of the world as well.

      About the people; this is also where our culture definitely differs since in Finland nobody EVER talks to strangers, pays compliments etc if they’re not very drunk. Sad, I know.

      You’re definitely right about the food though, I ate some really healthy dishes too, I just needed to pay for them a lot more..

Leave a Reply

CurvyGirlThin

a curvy girl's exploits in the wardrobe

Lucy's Corsetry

A Comprehensive Source for all things Corsets, Waist Training and Tightlacing

comicsgirlsneedbras.wordpress.com/

For the perfect fit and beyond...

The Lingerie Addict - A Lingerie Blog for Everyone

Expert lingerie advice and reviews to help you find the very best lingerie in the world. Covering full bust, luxury, plus size, and more!

Sweet Nothings

Everyone deserves a little sweetness.

Big Cup Little Cup

UK Lingerie Blog

the musings of Renzilla

My thoughts one blog post at a time

The Petite Collegiate

A fit focused love affair with lingerie

Miss Victory Violet

Vintage Fashion, Hair & Beauty and everything in between!

Junebugs and Georgia Peaches: The Adventures of Modern June Cleaver + Amelia Jetson

A blog about lingerie, bra fit and all things D+. A love letter to lace, dresses and pinup lifestyle.

Bras and Body Image

One girl's perspective on boobs, bodies, self-image and society

Kupista asiaa

A blog about lingerie, bra fit and all things D+. A love letter to lace, dresses and pinup lifestyle.

Fuller Figure Fuller Bust

A UK plus size fashion and lingerie blog with a little extra padding.

