Bathing in red for Valentine’s – SugarShape “Ruby” review

12 Feb

Oh my lovely dear readers, how I have missed you! So basically what happened to me a couple of weeks ago was an epic disaster with my camera AGAIN and I ended up with no equipment to shoot my review photos or anything else for that matter. Luckily, I am in the most awesome university EVER and they have this great media centre to get cameras from. So here I am, operating with my fancy borrowed camera and providing you the long-planned review of SugarShape “Ruby” set.

So recently I wrote a brand portrait on the wonderful new brand on the full bust market, SugarShape lingerie which is a lingerie brand based in Germany and making lingerie with a whole new fuzz-free way when it comes to sizing. The lovely ladies of SugarShape kindly offered to send me a set of lingerie and I went for the very appropriate style for the Valentine’s Day – Ruby. I was a bit between the sizes in both panties and the bra but I relied on the owners’ judgment and went for 80/102,5 which are quite near to my own measurements in cm’s. My underbust is about 73 cm at the moment but as the ladies at SugarShape told me Ruby runs particularly tight in the band so I decided to go with the 80 band. Here are my thoughts on the set…

Image

First of all, when the parcel arrived I instantly thought, good job for the package choice. The set arrived in a box which meant the cups of the bra were not folded on each other but placed carefully in the box with some wrapping paper around them. The insides of the parcel stunned me immediately; the box included little paper hearts that made the set feel already special, not to mention the lovely post card hand-written by the ladies themselves. I wanted to try the set on right away since it looked amazing and I was very anxious to know about the fit.

Image

Design: I have loved the Ruby for its design from the moment it hit the SugarShape online store. As you guys know, I never say no to red lingerie and I really wanted to embrace the Valentine’s season with something appropriate. It was like the SugarShape ladies had read my mind; my beautiful red set arrived with a little luxurious Swarovski heart charm to attach to my bra. To me, it felt like just the right touch for the bra to make it less Christmassy and more Valentine’s Day. The design is otherwise all red but has a little black/green bow in the middle which gives the set a more quirky unique look.

Ruby is set that includes a three-part cup construction balconette bra and three choice of panties. I loved how one can choose the right panty choice for yourself; I went for the low-rise panty since high-rise panties never tend to work on me and strings can sometimes be uncomfortable. The bra gives a very round uplifted look to my boobs and is a great choice for everyday use since it goes well with any t-shirt, excluding pale colours of course. The Ruby does not have any thick lace on it which is why it doesn’t show under clothes at all. Otherwise it’s fully covered in beautiful thin lace and mesh which makes the bra feminine and accessible to many women. 

Image

Fit: The fit of the 80/102,5 was spot-on on me. I couldn’t believe I had received the right size right away with my first try which is why I was very pleasantly surprised. My bust measures about 102-103 cm at the moment which is why I think the size fit me so well. The cups contain my boobs fully without any spillage or gaping (on neither side btw, a miracle?) and the gore tacks beautifully on the sternum. I would say that the centre gore is also a pretty average width since it played well with my average-set boobs and didn’t cause any chafing nor extreme cleavage. Also it’s quite high due to the balconette style of the bra which needs to be kept in mind when choosing for lower necklines.

I do not want to screw SugarShape’s wonderful sizing system which is why I won’t tell you what I think would be the size equivalent in UK sizes. Instead, I can state that the band is very comfortable yet snug on my 29″ ribcage and I loved how it stretches and doesn’t leave any back spillage or lumps anywhere. Also the cups and wires were spot on, which made the size even more perfect for me. Straps of the bra are fully adjustable which makes the bra a very accessible option for more petite women as well. 

Image

Comfort: I love this bra for the same reasons I love my Tease Me by Curvy Kate. It is amazingly comfortable with itss wires that are the right length for and its fully adjustable straps that are placed in the right spot for me. I would say this bra would also work for women who suffer from too high cups on the sides; Ruby gives plenty air for your armpits and doesn’t chaff at all in that area. I also didn’t find any other chaffing parts but would imagine that the high centre gore might cause slight issues with very bony sternums. I have no experience of that sort of problems excluding my Panache Jasmine which is why I can’t really tell.

The materials of the set are pretty well thought-out, but I still always long for cotton-lined cups when it comes to bras. The panties are extremely comfortable as well and don’t dig in in size 95 at all (my hips are about 94 cm measured over the butt). I love how the back of the panties feel smooth over my butt and rise high enough to cover all the critical parts. The rise is very comfy overall: it’s a perfect alternative for the high-rise panty that might not suit everyone. I would say the rise on the panties is something between Cleo and Tutti Rouge which is perfect for me!

I hope you enjoyed the review and keep checking for my blogiversary giveaways as well! The Ruby is available at SugarShape online store for 58,50 € for the bra and 18,50-25 € for the panty, depending on your panty choice. If you want to order from outside of German speaking countries, I would suggest you contact the ladies behind the brand, they are very helpful! This set was generously gifted me by SugarShape, however this does not affect my opinions on the set.

Leave a Reply

CurvyGirlThin

a curvy girl's exploits in the wardrobe

Lucy's Corsetry

A Comprehensive Source for all things Corsets, Waist Training and Tightlacing

comicsgirlsneedbras.wordpress.com/

For the perfect fit and beyond...

The Lingerie Addict - A Lingerie Blog for Everyone

Expert lingerie advice and reviews to help you find the very best lingerie in the world. Covering full bust, luxury, plus size, and more!

Sweet Nothings

Everyone deserves a little sweetness.

Big Cup Little Cup

UK Lingerie Blog

the musings of Renzilla

My thoughts one blog post at a time

The Petite Collegiate

A fit focused love affair with lingerie

Miss Victory Violet

Vintage Fashion, Hair & Beauty and everything in between!

Junebugs and Georgia Peaches: The Adventures of Modern June Cleaver + Amelia Jetson

A blog about lingerie, bra fit and all things D+. A love letter to lace, dresses and pinup lifestyle.

Bras and Body Image

One girl's perspective on boobs, bodies, self-image and society

Kupista asiaa

A blog about lingerie, bra fit and all things D+. A love letter to lace, dresses and pinup lifestyle.

Fuller Figure Fuller Bust

A UK plus size fashion and lingerie blog with a little extra padding.

