Review of Curvy Kate “Starlet” in 30GG

7 Mar

Recently I have been looking for a suitable and pretty t-shirt bra that would go well with my full-on-top breasts. I grew out of my Curvy Kate Smoothies and my Deco which is a tragedy as they both fitted me so well and for months I went without proper smooth bras which would be invisible under clothing made of thin fabric. However, the amazing folks of Curvy Kate gave me a chance to review their new Starlet which is a lovely peach-shade t-shirt bra with a similar shape to their previously released style Smoothie. I just had to get my hands on the beauty and when it arrived I instantly put it on and tested it for a few days.

ImageImage

Design: As said before, Starlet is very similar to Smoothie, however some bloggers have even preferred Starlet as a better-fitting option. I was very happy with my Smoothies so expectations were quite high! The style turned out to be lovely but a bit different style-wise compared to Smoothie. Starlet feels like the little sister of Smoothie – a bit more girly and fun. It’s a a fun number for everyday use and I absolutely love the mermaid-kind-of look of it! The colour combos have been great as well – especially the red Christmas edition left me drooling. The summer shade of Tigerlilly is very suitable for the season and so flirty with its pink trimmings and a little star on the center gore! The cups also have a nice almost fish-skin-like pattern which even adds up the mermaid-feel of the set.

The shape of the bra is great under clothing. It is very rounded yet natural and doesn’t show any lines under clothing like some other padded styles do. The cups are quite thin for a padded bra which is definitely a plus for so many ladies out there. Also the Starlet gives me a decent cleavage unlike my old Smoothies. It is a great feature since I am a lover of proper cleavage – this bra would make my boobs look pretty awesome in a low-cut shirt!

ImageImage

Fit: Very similar to my Smoothies which means the fit is very close to  perfect. The cup depth is quite good for me and the size 30GG absolutely right as with my other CK styles as well. When I first received the bra I was 99 % sure the cup size would be too big since the bra looked huge. However when I put it on I was happy to note that it was exactly the right size, even with some extra space at the bottom of the cup. This is what I think is the most significant change CK made since releasing Smoothie and getting critique about the fit. For me, this change was not needed and I would have preferred the original fit but as said, the change in the fit has clearly worked out really well for other women and especially more full-on-bottom breasts. The slight folding of the cup at the bottom part doesn’t bother me that much and it’s nothing too noticeable.

Even though Starlet gives me a pretty awesome cleavage it doesn’t make me spill at all from the cups. Therefore I would say it’s still quite a good choice for full-on-top boobs as well. No spillage, no gaping and the wires sit on a almost perfect spot, maybe a tad wider than I need. However, the wires don’t go further than the edge of my armpit which is great regarding how G+ bras tend to have horribly graded wires. The edges of the cups are also placed really nicely on a medium height which means there is not too much spillage towards the armpit nor does the edge of the cup chaff my skin.

The back band feels firm yet comfortably stretchy which is what I prefer at the moment. I have been thinking a lot about the complaints towards stretchier bands recently and have come to the conclusion that in fact 30 should not only stretch to 29″ or 30″ like some do but preferably have a little give to them for comfort reasons. This is where +0 method sometimes goes wrong: if the bands are created to be exactly 30″ they will still feel uncomfortable on a true-30″ ribcage. This is why Curvy Kate never fails me with its sizing: I know that their 30 bands are quite stretchy and suit my bodytype really well (eg I have very prominent ribs that sometimes affect the fit of a bra).

ImageImage

Comfort: Curvy Kate has always managed to be one of my favourite brands because of how comfy their sets are. I can just throw them on and forget that I am actually wearing underwear. The Starlet is a great everyday bra and again, as said before, it has quite a good wire width despite that it’s a G+ bra. If I remember correctly Smoothie had a few problems with the wire width in bigger cup sizes combined with small backs. I can’t say anything about the GG+ versions but mine was beautifully graded so that the wires weren’t digging into my armpits nor my back which is great. Also the materials were smooth and didn’t cause any irritation. The back band has three hook and eyes which is great for weight distribution and relieves the stress on my shoulders and back. It doesn’t dig in either which both comfort- and looks-wise very important.

If I could make a slight improvement to the bra it would be placing the straps closer to each other since, in my size at least, they felt a bit wide-set and as you can see in the pics above, they were chaffing my armpits a bit. However, the straps haven’t fallen off my shoulders a single time because of the material of the straps, so that hasn’t been a problem to me. It’s only when doing “bigger” movements with my arms is when I notice the strap placement. Also the straps are fully-adjustable which is always a plus for more petite women.

This time I went for the thong as a co-ordinate option since I haven’t recently been too keen on trying high-waisted knickers, just for the sake of my body type. I am also trying to learn to use more thongs since they are quite practical under tight clothing and also cause I do feel sexy in them. However, it is very hard to find a thong that would flatter one’s body type and also feel comfortable during the day. I was thrilled when I tried the Starlet thong on cause it truly is a great everyday option eg under tight jeans. I loved how comfy the thong felt and size 8 was definitely the right size for me; no muffin top and also no feeling of the thong rising to high up my butt during the day. A+ plus for panty that’s usually regarded as an uncomfy sexy-time garment!

Overall the set is lovely and a great option for those who love something a bit different for their t-shirt bra choice! The set is available in sizes 28-30 D-J, 32 D-HH, 34 D-H, 36 D-GG and 38D-G, panties in sizes 8-20. I would also love to hear any other experiences about the set so if you have any, please share them in the comment box!

This set was generously gifted by Curvy Kate for review purposes. All opinions are my own.

9 Responses to “Review of Curvy Kate “Starlet” in 30GG”

  1. Lily Twigg March 7, 2014 at 11:02 pm #

    I’m not usually into the look of CK bras but this one is a really nice colour, and I love that mermaid-like pattern. It looks great on you, and glad it worked. I’ve personally only tried the original smoothie, but the wires were very wide for me, and it was quite high cut for FOT types like yourself (I’m FOB). Otherwise, I really liked the smoothie. I actually have issues with bra’s that measure exactly 28 inches, or less, because I’m on the cusp of a 28 I actually prefer something that stretches to at least 28.5 or 29 inches.

  2. My Bradventures March 8, 2014 at 2:00 pm #

    How would the Starlet compare with the Deco shapewise? Do you prefer one over the other? I’ve never been able to find a shape that pleased me as much as the Deco half-cup but Freya’s bands tend to run so big that I have to wear their 28s on the last hook and would love to find the equivalent but with a tighter band. I’ve had no luck so far.

    This particular colorway of the Starlet looks very nice with your skin tone!

    • sophie March 8, 2014 at 2:59 pm #

      Thank you, you’re sweet! 🙂 Well, I actually prefer Starlet’s shape to Deco’s since it’s a bit less in-your-face rounded. I think Deco also adds a bit more volume to one’s actual breast size which can look a bit too much sometimes. Starlet is also very rounded but with thinner padding and a natural curve towards the top of your breasts 🙂

      • My Bradventures March 9, 2014 at 7:57 am #

        Thank you! So I don’t think the Starlet will be the bra for me then. I’m at the smallest end of the DD+ lingerie world (28E) and the little bit of extra rounded “oomph” the Deco gives is very welcome. I’m very slightly pear shaped (between an hourglass and a pear really) and a tiny bit of extra volume up top gives me a more balanced silouhette in some outfits. I might go ahead and try it if I can find it for cheap enough though. I really like the different colorways CK has been putting out for this model.

      • sophie March 10, 2014 at 12:39 am #

        Ok, that’s fine and I totally understand it 🙂 As a 30GG I usually prefer not to add any volume to my breasts cause otherwise they don’t really fit into my clothes :’D

  3. Jen March 9, 2014 at 11:19 pm #

    Thanks for this review—I was wondering how this would work for fuller-on-bottom gals! I’ve had such trouble with CK in the past and for that reason have avoided them, but I know their fit has been shifted, so perhaps it’s worth trying again.

  4. Sarah March 12, 2014 at 2:19 am #

    How much money does this cost? Where can I buy this bra for a fairly cheap price?

    • sophie March 24, 2014 at 1:06 am #

      Hiya! Brastop has the previous colourways for about 20 quid but I haven’t seen the new Tigerlilly colourway around too much.

  5. Jessica March 16, 2014 at 9:57 pm #

    Just wanted to say thanks for this review, it’s exactly the info I was hoping to find! I have a Smoothie and while I love it, the bottom of the cup doesn’t fit me right. I’m FOT but not quite a shallow shape, so I guess I have a bit too much projection for the Smoothie at the bottom and it wrinkles. It sounds like the Starlet has a little more room on the bottom in comparison so I’ll definitely give it a try. It’s so hard finding cute bras in my size that also suite my shape, hopefully this one works out!

Leave a Reply

CurvyGirlThin

a curvy girl's exploits in the wardrobe

Lucy's Corsetry

A Comprehensive Source for all things Corsets, Waist Training and Tightlacing

comicsgirlsneedbras.wordpress.com/

For the perfect fit and beyond...

The Lingerie Addict - A Lingerie Blog for Everyone

Expert lingerie advice and reviews to help you find the very best lingerie in the world. Covering full bust, luxury, plus size, and more!

Sweet Nothings

Everyone deserves a little sweetness.

Big Cup Little Cup

UK Lingerie Blog

the musings of Renzilla

My thoughts one blog post at a time

The Petite Collegiate

A fit focused love affair with lingerie

Miss Victory Violet

Vintage Fashion, Hair & Beauty and everything in between!

Junebugs and Georgia Peaches: The Adventures of Modern June Cleaver + Amelia Jetson

A blog about lingerie, bra fit and all things D+. A love letter to lace, dresses and pinup lifestyle.

Bras and Body Image

One girl's perspective on boobs, bodies, self-image and society

Kupista asiaa

A blog about lingerie, bra fit and all things D+. A love letter to lace, dresses and pinup lifestyle.

Fuller Figure Fuller Bust

A UK plus size fashion and lingerie blog with a little extra padding.

