Review of the Curvy Kate “Daisy Chain” bra in 30GG

9 Apr

Hello dear all! I have landed safely on Finnish soil and my first day here was absolutely perfect – roasted salmon, comedy night with friends and cuddling up with my boyfriend. Couldn’t have wished for more! Today I’m heading out to test another new swimsuit but before that I take some time to chill and write a review for you guys since guess what, I am starting a new even more fierce love-affair with Curvy Kate unpadded bras! A lovely lingerie e-commerce store Mio Destino offered to send me a set of Curvy Kate lingerie and I decided to cross my fingers for the unpadded styles to fit me. For my surprise, the fit was greatly improved since I last tried them and I was thrilled to gain back my admiration for CK’s unpadded options. Today I’m reviewing Curvy Kate “Daisy Chain” which is a piece from CK’s SS14 collection.

ImageImage
The design: I had really hard time picking between Daisy Chain and the new Raspberry toned Dreamcatcher. I love the colours of the Curvy Kate SS14 collection so there were definitely a lot of options in the Mio Destino store as well! Eventually I went for the Daisy Chain since it’s quite a new style for me – a plunge shaped unpadded bra with laminated cups. My previous Curvy Kate bras have all been sheer balconettes which is why I was super curious to try out this particular design. I had never been too eager about the Curvy Kate “Lottie” which also featured laminated cups but this lovely pink shade of Daisy Chain looked so cute I could’t resist it. I ended up really loving the laminated fabric since it does give me a bit more sturdier shaping than the sheer CK styles.

I was very dubious about the shape of this bra would give me since my now-more-prominent full-on-top shape had started to affect my relationship with my previous CK styles. I was devastated since they were so comfy but I just simply couldn’t look that great in them anymore. With Daisy Chain I can see the fit improvements though and I can tell you that they are MASSIVE. The shape is a wonderful natural shape with a slight curve and looks very uplifted and supported compared to eg my old Portia. It looks great under any piece of clothing but for me unpadded CK styles have always been the kind of everyday bras to wear under t-shirts and sweaters. Daisy Chain is exactly the bra for this kind of use and I love it to death for it.

The bra is constructed of three parts and features a lovely sheer panel on the top part of the cup. The sheer panels also feature some lovely embroidery which is what I love about Curvy Kate styles in general. The whole styling of the bra is so cute and makes me smile. Love it!

ImageImage

The fit: The most important fit improvements that are notable are the lift and size consistency with this bra. I opted for my usual size 30GG but was kind of afraid it would be too big since CK used to fit me differently between padded and unpadded styles. This size along with my other Curvy Kate bras fits me very well and doesn’t feel like it’s too big as I would have guessed it to be. Also the plunge shape is always a risk with my breast shape but with this bra it seems to work wonderfully! You can see some slight wrinkling in the cups on the side but that is only because I’m lifting my arms. Also there is slight wrinkling towards the apex with the other cup but that is due to my size difference and it is not really that notable.

Wires are again perfect and straps luckily fully-adjustable. I think the cups are also deeper than they used to be with previous CK unpadded cups. This is good news for people with less shallow breasts. Also as the centergore is lower than with CK balconettes it is more suitable for women with closer-set breasts or women who prefer plunge styles to go along with lower necklines.The band and cups of the bra run pretty true-to-size and again I’m impressed with how lovely the band feels on my body – not too tight yet very supportive.

ImageImage

The comfort: Yet again, best feature of the whole set is how comfortable it feels on. CK has always managed to win me over with it’s delicious designs and colours but comfort is the one thing that always sets them apart from so many other lingerie brands. I recommend CK as a first full-bust brand to try since comfort is still one of the most crucial parts of accepting your full-bust size and and diving into the world of full-bust lingerie. If your first D+ bra is a disaster comfort-wise the whole revelation of D+ sizes basically get’s ruined. I cannot emphasize more how well this bra feels on and how I barely can feel it when wearing it around the house or just cycling to uni. The band feels stretchy enough to accommodate a lot of movement during the day and also the wires are very comfortable; no pinching or poking anywhere.

I was also sent the the Daisy Chain thong to go along with the bra and I definitely think it’s quite comfy for a thong. I think CK has also improved the fit of their panties and put a lot of thought into them by adjusting the sizing and also coming up with a few new style options. In the past the panties used to run quite small but with this SS14 collection I feel the sizing has shifted towards the more regular fit which means I can pretty comfortably wear a size 8 now. I still feel like I’m kind of between sizes 8-10 but that should sort itself out when I hit the gym more regularly now that I’m back home.

All in all Curvy Kate’s Daisy Chain is a lovely set which makes a great everyday basic for unpadded bra lovers. It also features a short options as a co-ordinate which means one can choose between the more flattering and comfy style herself. This bra is available in sizes 28-38 D-J and the panties in sizes 8-22. You can get the set from Mio Destino for the affordable price of £29 for the bra and £14 for the panty.

Disclosure: This set was generously gifted by Mio Destino for review purposes. All opinions are my own.

 

6 Responses to “Review of the Curvy Kate “Daisy Chain” bra in 30GG”

  1. Lily Twigg April 9, 2014 at 3:48 pm #

    This colour really suits your skintone, and it’s a very flattering shape on you. Not usually a pink girl myself, but it makes me think twice about CK 🙂

  2. jenna April 10, 2014 at 6:02 am #

    I´m happy that the CK bra works for you! 🙂

    I also wish they have improved their other bras´ fit, because when I first tried bras in my true size (about 28F) a couple of years ago, CK bras were the first bras that literally hurt me! The wires were digging in in the center and the sides. They were so painful! This has happened to me many times with CK bras, both with wrong and right sizes. It helped when I bended the wires away from my body.

    I realise that bras fit different on each different wearer, but this is not a common problem for me at all, on the contrary! It was the first time a bra was painful on me. It´s just funny when you say that CK bras are most comfortable on you and they have behaved very different on me. We are all so different.

    Have you ever had this problem with painful CK wires, with their older bras / fit?

    • sophie April 10, 2014 at 9:32 am #

      Wow, that sounds interesting. I was introduced to CK last year so I haven’t tried the older styles at all, so there might be some comfort issues in the past that I don’t know of. Have you tried the new styles yet? I have never heard of anyone else having comfort problems with CK so it can also be that you are just not compatible with the shapes and wiring. Wires are always tricky and they can cause so many issues so it’s no wonder that not everything suits everyone.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Discount code for Curvy Kate Lingerie at Mio Destino! | Two cakes on a plate - April 23, 2014

    […] quick note for today! As some of you may have remember, I recently reviewed the Curvy Kate “Daisy Chain” set from Mio Destino. Now Mio Destino wants to treat you all and has offered 2COP readers a 20% discount code for Curvy […]

  2. Lingerie Review: Curvy Kate “Cabaret” in 30H | Two cakes on a plate - March 25, 2016

    […] shape of the bra is very similar to the Daisy Chain non-padded plunge I tried a couple of years back and liked a lot. Back then, I was super surprised […]

Leave a Reply

Mette Sofia - Makeup & Hair artistry

- for the beauty, the drag and the art ever-fab

CurvyGirlThin

a curvy girl's exploits in the wardrobe

Lucy's Corsetry

A Comprehensive Source for all things Corsets, Waist Training and Tightlacing

comicsgirlsneedbras.wordpress.com/

For the perfect fit and beyond...

The Lingerie Addict - A Lingerie Blog for Everyone

Expert lingerie advice and reviews to help you find the very best lingerie in the world. Covering full bust, luxury, plus size, and more!

Sweet Nothings

Everyone deserves a little sweetness.

Big Cup Little Cup

UK Lingerie Blog

the musings of Renzilla

My thoughts one blog post at a time

The Petite Collegiate

A fit focused love affair with lingerie

Miss Victory Violet

Vintage Fashion, Hair & Beauty and everything in between!

Junebugs and Georgia Peaches: The Adventures of Modern June Cleaver + Amelia Jetson

A blog about lingerie, bra fit and all things D+. A love letter to lace, dresses and pinup lifestyle.

Bras and Body Image

One girl's perspective on boobs, bodies, self-image and society

Kupista asiaa

A blog about lingerie, bra fit and all things D+. A love letter to lace, dresses and pinup lifestyle.

Fuller Figure Fuller Bust

A UK plus size fashion and lingerie blog with a little extra padding.

