Review of Ewa Michalak “PL Slowianki” in 70H

23 Jul

When I first tried Ewa Michalak I was smitten with their Mgielka bra – it is still one of my favourite bras for its amazing design and fit. I decided to let Ewa and her crew know that I loved their bras and had written a review and for my surprise, they wanted to send me another set to review. I had been drooling over PL Slowianki and I think team Michalak might have heard my wishes since they decided to send me the set, with two different bra sizes, matching thong and a brief. I was over-the-moon when the set arrived just a few days after it was made and I got to try both 70GG and 70H, as the padded Ewa bras fit a bit differently.

All padded Ewa bras feature removable pads to even out a-symmetry or give you a little extra oomph. As my boobs have a size difference of a cup size, I decided to go for the bigger size 70H and place BOTH of the pads to the right cup. This was a great choice and made the bra fit like a dream. Here are my thoughts about the PL Slowianki.

DSC_0089DSC_0077DSC_0120
The Design: As many of you know by now, I fell in love with the design from day one it was released on Ewa’s online store and Facebook page. Ever since I got my first EM bra, I just wanted to try the other shapes as well and as a lover of cleavage, PL (plunge) was definitely on my list. This is not your regular plunge though; I feel like the uplift is quite like any balconette bra you can imagine, just with a plunging neckline. My breasts are very hoisted up in the bra and look fantastic under dresses and tops with low necklines. The shape is very projected and round which is not to be taken for granted when talking about full-bust bras.

I love red, so of course I loved this bra for its colour too. The red and white combo reminds me of a Finnish candy called Marianne but their obviously the national colours of Poland as well. The red is kind of an orange-y hue and goes actually pretty well with my new favourite lipstick (MAC Retro Matter “Dangerous”, if anyone cares to know). The massive white bows are probably my favourites when it comes to the bra design but also the lovely flower print is a total eye-catcher. 

DSC_0098DSC_0093
The Fit: The cups are constructed of three parts with a very soft comfortable padding. As said, the cups come with two removable pads to even out a-symmetry which is like heaven to me since I have quite a bit of size difference between my boobs. With both of the pads in my right cup, I feel like I fill the whole bra and my boobs look wonderfully uplifted. My first EM bra was an unpadded SM shape which was quite a good fit in size 70G. With the padded PL style however, I can go up as much as two cup sizes from my regular size, just because of the amazing pads and the different shape. As I tried the 70GG it felt too small on my bigger side and just the right on my smaller side. This is why I decided to go up 70H.

The band of PL Slowianki feels just as snug as my Mgielka’s and thus is a great fit for my 30″ (snugly measured but not break-the-tape) ribcage. I feel like this 70 band is the best fit of all the bands I’ve tried; it is snug but not too tight and comes with three hooks and eyes for maximum support. The wires are about perfect and I would say they feel just a tad wider than my Mgielka’s (this could also be due to the size difference as my Mgielka is indeed 70G). For anyone looking for their right Ewa size, I would go up a band size and maybe a cup size or two in their padded bras. This however, depends on whether you are between cup sizes or have a-symmetry.

DSC_0126 DSC_0122DSC_0127 DSC_0129
Comfort: I think Ewa Michalak sets are so comfortable and they really feel like there’s a lot of thought put behind them. The first thing I noticed was the marvelous cotton lining inside the cups – such a great option for someone who gets skin irritation from artificial materials. Also the outer fabric of the bra and knickers is so soft and smooth and feels like a dream to touch. Also the lace feels pretty soft and non-scratchy so I can easily wear the set for several hours without any skin irritation or rash.

The wires are nice and low in the armpits which means there is no poking whatsoever. Also the straps are pretty comfy. However, the straps are only half-adjustable so keep that in mind as it’s not always the best choice for petite girls. Personally I haven’t had any problems with the straps and they haven’t fallen off my shoulders even a single time.

If you are not sure whether to buy a matching set, I would highly recommend it when buying from Ewa. I opted for the size 8/36 an they feel very comfortable and flattering. I was so grateful to get sent both the brief and the thong and I can honestly say they both feel great on and stretch nicely over my ever-growing butt. I think the thong is a flattering cut as it doesn’t reveal everything but covers the top part of the derriere nicely. The rise of both of these panties is just perfect as I hate it when panties come up too low or high. They hit me just below my cookie pouch which is the most flattering rise for me personally.

You can find PL Slowianki at Ewa’s online store, ordering and paying is really easy so I highly recommend giving it a try. This set is made especially for the one ordering it, so it takes a couple of weeks to make it before it can be shipped. It’s worth the wait though and this way more sizes can be produced (this style goes up to KK-cup!) 🙂

I am in love with PL Slowianki, how about you? Any other EM sets you have your eyes on? Let me know in the comments! xx 

Disclosure: Ewa Michalak kindly sent this set for review purposes. All opinions are my own.

8 Responses to “Review of Ewa Michalak “PL Slowianki” in 70H”

  1. My Bradventures July 23, 2014 at 6:38 pm #

    How gorgeous!

    It’s funny because I almost bought this exact set yesterday but whimped out before going through check out (I spent way too much on clothes this month already). This post will make it really hard for me not to give in and splurge anyway.

    • sophie July 23, 2014 at 7:05 pm #

      Oh it’s totally worth the money, I say! Besides, new lingerie makes you happy 😉

      • My Bradventures July 24, 2014 at 6:23 am #

        I’m weak when it comes to spending money… so weak… Would you say the thong runs TTS? I’m usually a UK 10 (or 12 when it comes to brands like Cleo that have diminutive butt coverage) and was wondering which size to order.

    • sophie August 3, 2014 at 5:02 pm #

      I would say the panties run pretty tts, maybe on the larger side. I am size 10 in Cleo and wear a size 8 comfortably in EM 🙂

  2. Shan July 23, 2014 at 7:35 pm #

    I have been lusting after several ewa bras now. Im solidly in a 30hh in both freya and cleo but they are snug in cup and band so i cannot go down even a smidge. Based on your exp should i be getting a 70J?

    • sophie July 24, 2014 at 5:41 am #

      I would say take 70HH or 70J. I am between 30GG and H now so that’s why I needed to go up two cup sizes from GG 🙂

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. The Best Of 2015 – My Year in Bras | Two cakes on a plate - January 12, 2015

    […] with the one I loved the most looks-wise this year. The Ewa Michalak “PL Slowianki” (click for the review!) made my summer and it was killer combination with my red Urkye dress. The red comes up so vibrant […]

  2. The Best Of 2014 – My Year in Bras | Two cakes on a plate - January 12, 2015

    […] with the one I loved the most looks-wise this year. The Ewa Michalak “PL Slowianki” (click for the review!) made my summer and it was killer combination with my red Urkye dress. The red comes up so vibrant […]

Leave a Reply

Mette Sofia - Makeup & Hair artistry

- for the beauty, the drag and the art ever-fab

CurvyGirlThin

a curvy girl's exploits in the wardrobe

Lucy's Corsetry

A Comprehensive Source for all things Corsets, Waist Training and Tightlacing

comicsgirlsneedbras.wordpress.com/

For the perfect fit and beyond...

The Lingerie Addict - A Lingerie Blog for Everyone

Expert lingerie advice and reviews to help you find the very best lingerie in the world. Covering full bust, luxury, plus size, and more!

Sweet Nothings

Everyone deserves a little sweetness.

Big Cup Little Cup

UK Lingerie Blog

the musings of Renzilla

My thoughts one blog post at a time

The Petite Collegiate

A fit focused love affair with lingerie

Miss Victory Violet

Vintage Fashion, Hair & Beauty and everything in between!

Junebugs and Georgia Peaches: The Adventures of Modern June Cleaver + Amelia Jetson

A blog about lingerie, bra fit and all things D+. A love letter to lace, dresses and pinup lifestyle.

Bras and Body Image

One girl's perspective on boobs, bodies, self-image and society

Kupista asiaa

A blog about lingerie, bra fit and all things D+. A love letter to lace, dresses and pinup lifestyle.

Fuller Figure Fuller Bust

A UK plus size fashion and lingerie blog with a little extra padding.

