Review of Tutti Rouge “Mae” in 30GG

28 Jul

I have been lusting over so many Tutti Rouge sets recently and lucky me, I have a tried a few of them too. Today I am reviewing a set I won through a TR competition on their Facebook page. I got to choose a set from their AW13 collection and went for the sexy yet cute style called Mae. Here’s how I liked it…

DSC_0140 DSC_0148
The Design: The cups are made of three parts with a mesh on top and leather-look satin on the bottom part of the bra. I personally love the risque materials that create a very sexy look without being too tacky or trashy. Many of you may think that Mae is very “french maid” but for me it represents more Snow White. The lovely red roses and lacy bows make the bra more cutesy and give it a girly edge. The black and white combo is very classic but looks great in a bra designed for the AW season.

I love the rounded shape this bra gives me – it’s actually almost minimizing. I think the shape is based on TR “Sophia” which had problems with the mesh coming up too loose but I feel like this model is highly improved as I don’t experience any loose fabric during normal use (the pics might show a little extra mesh on the sides but it smooths out when being in a normal position, not holding a camera and posing). 

DSC_0168 DSC_0172
The Fit: I went for my regular TR size meaning 30GG. I would say this style runs a bit tighter in the band than my TR Nichole, meaning it feels quite snug. It doesn’t cause any ugly bulges though and feels fairly comfortable on so I feel like it fit me well even though being a bit tighter than I prefer. However, I don’t think sizing up would be a good idea since the band will loosen up after a few wears. I have worn this bra only for a few times since I think it’s more appropriate for autumn but I’m positive I will be wearing it tons when the weather gets colder.

The cups run pretty true to size meaning I can easily wear my regular 30GG without any spillage or gaping. The wires are quite wide for me as I now need medium to narrow-ish wires. However, they feel quite comfy and don’t give me any pain while wearing the bra. As you can see the cups are on the shallower side especially on the bottom half of the bra meaning the cups fold a bit as they are not deep enough for me on the bottom. This does not bother me at all but it’s good to know if you are especially deep on the bottom half of your breasts. I think the bra would be quite great for someone with a bit more shallower breasts than mine.

DSC_0151DSC_0131 Comfort: I wore this bra during a long motorcycle ride and it felt comfortable on even with the band being quite snug. I love TR’s materials – they always feel really high-quality and well thought-out. The wires felt pretty flexible and the core tacked well and didn’t cause any pain at all.

When it comes to the mini-style thong, I wasn’t too pleased. To be honest, I haven’t worn it a single time since it’s not a flattering style on me. The cut is so low on the waist and so high on the crotch that I feel really uncomfortable showing that much flesh. I think the style would fit someone with a little less booty and a flatter stomach. Also, I feel like Tutti Rouge has definitely made their panties a little smaller in size – I got this in size Small and even though their Small has fitted me well in Nichole, Betty and Liliana, the Small in Mae feels quite tiny compared to the fore-mentioned styles. However, this could also be due to the mini style which is just not my cup of tea.

Otherwise, I feel like Mae is a gorgeous set and the bra is really pretty and looks great on. I would definitely recommend it to someone who loves balconettes and has a lot of upper fullness to fill the top part of the bra. You can get your Mae from TR’s BIG CARTEL ONLINE STORE. The bra (£22,40) comes in sizes 28-38 DD-HH and the bottoms in S-XL (£9,60). What do you think of Mae? Love it, hate it? Let me know in the comments!

7 Responses to “Review of Tutti Rouge “Mae” in 30GG”

  1. wendybien July 29, 2014 at 4:27 am #

    Really pretty! I like the originality of the textures and colors–it’s definitely not your average look for a full bust brand. I wonder if the sizing on the thong is related to the fact that it’s black though? I find black colorways often run small, I think there is often more shrinkage with black dyes or something.

    • sophie August 3, 2014 at 4:55 pm #

      Might be! Though I have the new TR Rosa and it’s also a mini style in size S – too skimpy still. I hate it when half of my vajayjay is showing 😀

  2. Jenn July 30, 2014 at 4:50 am #

    I’m just curious, are you the motorcycle driver or the passenger? As a medium-large busted woman who owns a motorcycle, I notice that some bras are more comfortable for riding than others. Do you have any other motorcycle riding recommendations for undergarments? 🙂

    • sophie August 3, 2014 at 4:58 pm #

      I don’t have a license yet so I’m just a passenger 🙂 I usually try to wear something that has comfy wires – Ewa Michalak bras as my favourites. I would say definitely not thongs but something that breathes and feels stretchy. A cotton blend perhaps with a brief cut.

      • Jenn August 5, 2014 at 4:35 am #

        Thank you for the tips. I found one Ewa bra that I really like which doesn’t work well for riding unfortunately. The cups might be a bit too big for me. I have a few Curvy Kate styles that I try to wear if I’m riding more than a few miles. I think I prefer a slightly smaller/tighter cup volume for longer rides. I agree with you about thongs, they were not comfortable the first time I rode with one on.

        Thanks so much for your exhaustive research!

  3. Brianna M Headley July 31, 2014 at 3:29 am #

    I have always liked their designs and materials although I feel like their bras give boobs a bit of an east/west shape. I don’t know if I’m the only one who notices but it looks like that in most review images I’ve seen, even the plunges.

    • sophie August 3, 2014 at 5:00 pm #

      Hmm, yeah I would agree to some extent. I actually feel the balconettes such as Mae and Betty are great but eg Liliana and Rosa which are wider all-over feel a bit easty-westy. I don’t mind it too much but it’s a better look for smaller and shallower breasts than mine.

Leave a Reply

Mette Sofia - Makeup & Hair artistry

- for the beauty, the drag and the art ever-fab

CurvyGirlThin

a curvy girl's exploits in the wardrobe

Lucy's Corsetry

A Comprehensive Source for all things Corsets, Waist Training and Tightlacing

comicsgirlsneedbras.wordpress.com/

For the perfect fit and beyond...

The Lingerie Addict - A Lingerie Blog for Everyone

Expert lingerie advice and reviews to help you find the very best lingerie in the world. Covering full bust, luxury, plus size, and more!

Sweet Nothings

Everyone deserves a little sweetness.

Big Cup Little Cup

UK Lingerie Blog

the musings of Renzilla

My thoughts one blog post at a time

The Petite Collegiate

A fit focused love affair with lingerie

Miss Victory Violet

Vintage Fashion, Hair & Beauty and everything in between!

Junebugs and Georgia Peaches: The Adventures of Modern June Cleaver + Amelia Jetson

A blog about lingerie, bra fit and all things D+. A love letter to lace, dresses and pinup lifestyle.

Bras and Body Image

One girl's perspective on boobs, bodies, self-image and society

Kupista asiaa

A blog about lingerie, bra fit and all things D+. A love letter to lace, dresses and pinup lifestyle.

Fuller Figure Fuller Bust

A UK plus size fashion and lingerie blog with a little extra padding.

