Bra Review: Gossard V.I.P Lingerie “Phoebe” in 32FF

1 Sep

As many of you have already noticed I am a Gossard girl big time. There was no way anyone could have kept me away from their V.I.P range for long, the vintage feel of it screamed my name so loud I just needed to have my hands on some of their luxe sets. Lucky me, Gossard offered to sent me their new Phoebe set to try and I got my very own portion of V.I.P treatment. Here are my thoughts about this gorgeous set…

  DSC_0252DSC_0259DSC_0234
The Design: The Phoebe is a non-padded balconette shape bra that comes with a matching thong and a suspender-skirt. The whole set feels very luxe and is all over adorned with beautiful details such as shimmering embroidery and tulle. I love the colour of the set – it is a great “nude” shade for me with a touch of pink to it. The whole set screams ballerina elegance which I personally adore.

The style is what some people call “bandless” – the band doesn’t reach the lower curve of the wires meaning it comes up higher and looks more invisible. This is the very first bandless bra I have tried and so far it feels comfortable and fits well. This however, is not the case with everyone, I have heard some ladies saying it’s not the best choice for them fit-wise. The cups give me a rather low-profile pointy look which bothered me a bit first but actually looks great under more vintage-y dresses (such as my new Collectif dress, a review to come soon!). 

DSC_0235 DSC_0253
The Fit: I opted for my regular Gossard size 32FF but as I am now more near 30H with other British brands, I think I could have probably gone for 32G as my other boob tries to escape the cup now and then. The bra itself fits otherwise as should and feels the same size-wise as other Gossard non-padded bras. The cups are constructed of three parts which gives the cups their somewhat pointy shape and low profile. The depth of the cups is great for me, as they don’t feel too shallow. I would say Gossard makes probably the deepest cups when it comes to British bras – I would say they are on the same line as Cleo. So if Cleo works for you, I think you should definitely give Gossard a shot.

The wires are again prefect and I love that I can count on Gossard on this. Also the band feels like a standard Gossard band. I read another review of it saying the band feels a little more snug than usual but for me this feels like my other 32″ Gossard bands. So if you are between band sizes, I would suggest to size up. The Gossard 30″ bands fit more like 28″s making it a great choice for smaller girls as well.

DSC_0244 DSC_0065 DSC_0068
The Comfort: This bra features the signature gateway back that Gossard does with most of their bras. The band feels rather supporting but I cannot help but want a wider band, just for some extra security. The band features two hooks and eyes meaning it does look rather subtle-looking which is of course a plus. Also the straps feel a bit thin for someone with a full-bust. However these things have not kept me from wearing this set, it really is a comfortable one.

I wore this bra and the thong through a massive move to our new apartment meaning the bra needed to stay comfy through two days of lifting, cramming myself into tiny elevators and a few nervous break-downs. Ten points to Gossard for keeping me supported and comfy during those days, cause bra rubbing or chaffing is the last thing you want when you are feeling super-not-comfy otherwise! The wiring of the bra feels nice on and the bra stayed put through the whole move.

I got the matching thong and the suspender-belt in size Small this time as I have grown myself a booty and it requires more space nowadays. The choice was spot on and both feel great on. I haven’t had the chance to test out the suspender too much as it’s truly a more novelty piece than something for everyday wear. However, I wore it around home for a couple of times and it truly looks really nice and covers all my soft bits giving me a more tucked-in feel. 

All in all, I am totally in love with this set and I hope Gossard keeps on making such lovely pieces for us full-busted gals as well! What do you think – yay or nay? Drop me a comment telling me would you wear Phoebe! If you are as excited as me, you can get yours on Gossard’s online store for £39 for the bra,  £18 for the thong and £45 for the suspender skirt.  

4 Responses to “Bra Review: Gossard V.I.P Lingerie “Phoebe” in 32FF”

  1. K-Line September 1, 2014 at 8:33 pm #

    Would you say that the Glossies is deep too? I’ve wanted to try that style but my breasts are very projected at the centre and I don’t think it would work…

    • sophie September 2, 2014 at 6:41 am #

      Hiya! Unfortunately, I haven’t tried the Glossies :/ I think you can find some reviews at Invest in your chest and Petite & Plentiful.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Gossard Phoebe: Ballerina balconnette beauty | thepetitecollegiate - August 6, 2015

    […] 2 Cakes on a Plate (32FF) […]

  2. Gossard Phoebe: Ballerina balconnette beauty - The Petite Collegiate - May 31, 2016

    […] 2 Cakes on a Plate (32FF) […]

Leave a Reply

CurvyGirlThin

a curvy girl's exploits in the wardrobe

Lucy's Corsetry

A Comprehensive Source for all things Corsets, Waist Training and Tightlacing

comicsgirlsneedbras.wordpress.com/

For the perfect fit and beyond...

The Lingerie Addict - A Lingerie Blog for Everyone

Expert lingerie advice and reviews to help you find the very best lingerie in the world. Covering full bust, luxury, plus size, and more!

Sweet Nothings

Everyone deserves a little sweetness.

Big Cup Little Cup

UK Lingerie Blog

the musings of Renzilla

My thoughts one blog post at a time

The Petite Collegiate

A fit focused love affair with lingerie

Miss Victory Violet

Vintage Fashion, Hair & Beauty and everything in between!

Junebugs and Georgia Peaches: The Adventures of Modern June Cleaver + Amelia Jetson

A blog about lingerie, bra fit and all things D+. A love letter to lace, dresses and pinup lifestyle.

Bras and Body Image

One girl's perspective on boobs, bodies, self-image and society

Kupista asiaa

A blog about lingerie, bra fit and all things D+. A love letter to lace, dresses and pinup lifestyle.

Fuller Figure Fuller Bust

A UK plus size fashion and lingerie blog with a little extra padding.

