My everyday Pinup Hairstyle: How To Look Vintage-Glam In Fifteen Minutes

5 Oct

DSC_0006 DSC_0009
Hi dear all! Today is the first time I am writing about my hair and the way I style it, so be gentle and do drop me a comment how you liked my first hair/beauty post! I have been learning to style my hair “the Pinup-way” over the past month or so and have really enjoyed looking a bit more glamorous even though I have been quite sick and mostly at home or now and then at uni for my lectures.

As my days don’t include a crazy amount of intense activities and I usually just dress up to go to school or even just for a lunch with my dad, I do like to get my hair and makeup done even though there’s not a bunch of people seeing me during the day. This hairdo pictured above is such an easy quick fix for your hair so I do recommend trying it if you want to look great and vintage-inspired without going all the way with pin curls and victory rolls.

I learned to do this style while watching Pinup Doll Ashley Marie videos so I can’t really take much credit for the style. However, I have come up with way to be even more quick and easy with this style, so I’ll guide you through the simple steps of creating this style my own way.

DSC_0007 DSC_0020
For this easy pinup updo you need a curling iron or a straightener, a bunch of bobby pins, heat protector spray, hairspray and a vintage nylon scarf. There is two ways to do this styles so I will guide you through both.

First: You need to either make a ponytail quite high up the back of your head or just let your hair loose and curl it that way. I find it easier to tie my hair to a ponytail and then curl it, as the hairband will be covered by a scarf and also, the band keeps the hair from escaping the hairdo and looking too messy. You don’t need to curl all of your hair, just the ends, as the rest will be covered by a scarf.

Then: No matter how you have started off the hairdo, take now each curl and place it to the crown of your head with a bobby pin. This will look super silly at first, but it will look really nice when you style it eventually. Place the curls the way that they form a kind of a crown on your head.

After that: You can split the ends of the curls a bit to create a more voluminous look but remember to pin the “loose” ends (the ones that look a bit floppy if their eg too long) to your head. This makes the hair look a bit bun-like as the ends of the hair are not all over the place.

At the end: Place a nylon scarf around your head so that the curled ends are showing but the hair band is covered. My scarf in the pics is quite big, so I actually tied the scarf to the front of my forehead and then tucked the ends of the knot under the rest of the scarf. You can also use bobby pins to secure the scarf but this won’t look as pretty.

So that was pretty much it! Hope you liked it 🙂 Here’s a video by PinupDollAshelyMarie showing how to do the original version of this vintage-inspired hairdo and also how to create a pinup-style swirl with a longer fringe. I myself have Betty bangs, so I just bent the ends inwards and sprayed some hairspray to finish off the look.

Leave a Reply

Mette Sofia - Makeup & Hair artistry

- for the beauty, the drag and the art ever-fab

CurvyGirlThin

a curvy girl's exploits in the wardrobe

Lucy's Corsetry

A Comprehensive Source for all things Corsets, Waist Training and Tightlacing

comicsgirlsneedbras.wordpress.com/

For the perfect fit and beyond...

The Lingerie Addict - A Lingerie Blog for Everyone

Expert lingerie advice and reviews to help you find the very best lingerie in the world. Covering full bust, luxury, plus size, and more!

Sweet Nothings

Everyone deserves a little sweetness.

Big Cup Little Cup

UK Lingerie Blog

the musings of Renzilla

My thoughts one blog post at a time

The Petite Collegiate

A fit focused love affair with lingerie

Miss Victory Violet

Vintage Fashion, Hair & Beauty and everything in between!

Junebugs and Georgia Peaches: The Adventures of Modern June Cleaver + Amelia Jetson

A blog about lingerie, bra fit and all things D+. A love letter to lace, dresses and pinup lifestyle.

Bras and Body Image

One girl's perspective on boobs, bodies, self-image and society

Kupista asiaa

A blog about lingerie, bra fit and all things D+. A love letter to lace, dresses and pinup lifestyle.

Fuller Figure Fuller Bust

A UK plus size fashion and lingerie blog with a little extra padding.

