Redhead in Pale Pink – Review of Freya “Ooh La La” in 30GG

28 Dec

Hi world, I haven’t forgotten you! I just had a fantastic Christmas holiday with my family so I put aside my blog and the lingerie world for a moment, though I did receive five (!) new bras before the holidays. Today I will be introducing a set by a brand I have not bought or reviewed in a while, that is the mighty Freya. I was approached by the wonderful online boutique Clara Olivia and asked if I wanted to review something courtesy of them. I was so delighted of the chance and opted for something I had not tried in a while. The set reviewed today is the lovely “Ooh La La” which is one of the best sets Freya has released in a while. I have not worn unpadded Freya bras since my beloved 28FF Arabella so I figured it was time to give them another try…

DSC_0028 DSC_0032

The Design: As I opted for the Ooh La La I knew there would be something I did not like and it’s the way Freya double-lines the bottom half of their GG+ unpadded cups. I would prefer the bra to be completely see-through for a better look but obviously there is a reason why the double lining has been seen a necessity: Freya bras are designed with bottom-heavy breasts in mind, meaning they aim to support the lower part of breasts and give you superb uplift from the very root of the breast. As I am more top-heavy when it comes to my boobs, I don’t really need this but do understand the logic behind it.

The construction is pretty much the same as with the B-G sizes even though I do feel there’s a bit more coverage and the shape is more balconette as opposed to plunge. The idea behind revising the shape for the bigger sizes seems to be the extra support as well. The cups are constructed of three parts with one vertical and one horizontal seam. This can lead to a sad “upside-down seven” shape but luckily Freya is the master of ultimate uplift. The vertical seam goes high enough to create a curved, almost a pointy shape which actually goes great under most vintage reproduction clothing I own. The colour and looks are also pretty sweet and cutesy but also go great under light-coloured clothing. The geometrical embroidery is very Freya but not too kitchy to be a turn-off for me.

DSC_0049DSC_0033
The Fit: I was a bit hesitant to order this style in 30GG as I am more of a solid 30H now with most brands. However, I had been fitted into Freya bras at Bravissimo a few months ago so I was aware that the unpadded plunge balconettes would run a bit larger than their padded balconettes. I also still wear a 30GG with my regular Deco bra and it fits well so I was pretty sure I would be fine with a GG. Luckily, I was right! The cups fit me really well though they are better for someone with a little less upper fullness, as the cups are rather closed at top.

The cups are quite deep for a British brand so if Polish bras are out of the question for you and you need deep cups/narrow wires, this is a brand for you. The shape is extremely projected and the uplift is heavenly, although I do prefer a little more subtle look under some clothing. The band features a three hooks and eyes and is one of the most comfortable 30 bands I own, meaning it’s nice and snug but has enough stretch to accommodate fair amount of movement.

DSC_0037DSC_0060
Comfort: I am very well aware of how comfy Freya sets can be so my expectations were quite high. The underwires were definitely a bit on the stiffer side and I couldn’t wear the bra for multiple hours first but the wires loosened up a bit after a few wears and now they feel fine. The band and the straps are sturdy so they give me a good amount of support. The material is sturdy mesh that supports the breasts well and it’s not itchy either so I do feel the bra suits my sensitive skin. The straps are full-convertible which is always a plus for you petite and tall girls!

I opted for the panties in a size Small as my butt has grown a bit since last time I bought Freya knickers and it was a great choice size-wise. Freya bottoms usually run a bit large so as I am now between Small and Medium when it comes to panties, the Small fits me spot-on. The back part of the panties is made to prevent any VPL which is great for such a basic but pretty set as this.

All in all I really love my Freyas even though they are rarer goodies in my lingerie wardrobe. I am also ever so grateful for Clara Olivia for sending this set to be, it’s a good staple in my spring wardrobe. The bra costs an affordable £33 and the brief £16,50. The line also includes a thong, a short and a lovely suspender belt. The size range of the bra is incredible and suits both smaller and larger breasts with sizes 28-38 B-J! If you are as pale as me (see, I almost blend into the white wall!) this would be a great “nude” bra to go under those light-coloured spring clothes 🙂

What do you think of the set? Also, if you are GG+ would you like your mesh bras single or double-lined? Let me know in the comments!

Suomeksi: Moikka! Miten teidän joululoma on mennyt? Itse toivun vielä suklaista ja juustoista, mutta muuten olen nauttinut ihan alusvaatteiden täyteisestä ja rauhaisasta joulusta. Nyt arvostelupinoon on kertynyt jo aikamoinen määrä settejä, joten tässäpä olisi teille yksi uusi vaihtoehto esimerkiksi kevään vaaleita trendivärejä ajatellen! Freyan Ooh La La -setin minulle lähetti brittiläinen Evedenin merkkejä myyvä Clara Olivia mutta mielipiteeni ovat luonnolisesti omiani 😉

Minulle Freyan rintsikoista toppaamattomat plunge-mallit ovat tuttuja lähinnä vuosien takaa, sillä mieluisia malleja ei ole sattunut kohdalle sitten Arabellan. Tämä Ooh La La -setti on kuitenkin todella sievä ja mätsää hyvin kalpeaan ihooni, joten ajattelin, että miksipäs ei! Geometriset kuviot tuovat settiin mukavan lisän ja alushousujen saumaton takaosa lisäävät käytännöllisyysaspektia. Ainoa asia minkä ulkonäöstä muuttaisin, olisi kuppien vuoraus niiden alaosassa – tätä vuorausta kun ei ole koissa B-G ja minulle riittäisi vähempikin tuki kupin alaosaan.

Valitsin rintsikoista perinteisen Freya-kokoni eli 65GG:n, sillä olin pannut merkille, että Freyan toppaamattomat liivit ovat usein hieman isohkoja kupeistaan. Malli istuukin melko hyvin, huolimatta siitä että se on selkeästi tarkoitettu hieman alapainotteisemmille rinnoilla. Tämä tarkoittaa sitä, ettei rintojen yläosassa ole niin paljon täytettä kuin minulla 😉 Tuplatissiä ei silti ole näkyvissä, joten kaikki hyvin! Ympärys tuntuu kivan napakalta muttei läheskään niin tiukalta kuin monet muut 65:t. Olkaimet ovat koko matkaltaan säädettävät, joten sopivat monen pituiselle naiselle ongelmitta. Kupit puolestaan ovat melko syvät ja kaarituet kapeahkot, joten mikäli Puolasta tilaaminen tuntuu liian hurjalta, on Freya hyvä vaihtoehto puolalaisille sisaruksilleen.

Kaiken kaikkiaan setti on mukava ja tukeva ja hintakin on Clara Olivialla kohdallaan, 33 puntaa rintsikoista, 16,50 alushousuista. Postikulut Suomeen kustantavat reilun kympin, niinkuin suurimmassa osassa muissakin brittiläisissä nettikaupoissa. Kokojakin löytyy valtava määrä, 60-85 B-J! Tästä mallista löytyy siis myös vaikeasti löydettäviä kokoja kuten 65C ja 60B. Mitä mieltä te olette tästä setistä? 🙂 

9 Responses to “Redhead in Pale Pink – Review of Freya “Ooh La La” in 30GG”

  1. Mademoiselle K December 28, 2014 at 9:08 pm #

    These pictures are so beautiful! Great work!
    Have you tried to remove the extra layer in the bottom of the cups? I think someone did it to her Cleo Marcie and the result was superb.

    • Sophie December 28, 2014 at 9:54 pm #

      Thank you! 🙂 Ooh, that sounds something I should look into! Have you seen a tutorial somewhere?

      • Mademoiselle K December 28, 2014 at 10:30 pm #

        I couldn’t find the cleo alteration I wrote about, although I found another tutorial here http://brasihate.blogspot.se/2012/04/do-you-want-sheer-bra-up-to-k-cup.html
        I hope you’ll be showing us your result!

      • Sophie December 28, 2014 at 10:58 pm #

        Thanks 🙂 Let’s see if I dare to do it… I am rather clumsy with things like that! 😄

      • Mademoiselle K December 28, 2014 at 11:10 pm #

        I’d opt for very small scissors with blunt edges, like those you’d use for cutting children’s nails, so you wouldn’t accidently cut the outer fabric 🙂

  2. faustineli December 30, 2014 at 3:56 am #

    What do I think of this set? I think that it’s not made for shallow shapes, because I get the ‘elf shoe’ shape in it.
    The CK Dita is the only GG+ bra I’ve seen that’s sheer all over, but I haven’t tried it myself.

    • Sophie December 31, 2014 at 2:20 pm #

      Def not for shallow shapes! I love the Dita. Also, EM makes sheer bras for GG+ sizes but they have a bit too narrow wires for me.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Freya Ooh La La: A crash course in alterations | The Petite Collegiate - September 13, 2015

    […] Two Cakes on a Plate: 30GG […]

  2. Freya Ooh La La: A crash course in alterations - The Petite Collegiate - May 31, 2016

    […] Two Cakes on a Plate: 30GG […]

Leave a Reply

Mette Sofia - Makeup & Hair artistry

- for the beauty, the drag and the art ever-fab

CurvyGirlThin

a curvy girl's exploits in the wardrobe

Lucy's Corsetry

A Comprehensive Source for all things Corsets, Waist Training and Tightlacing

comicsgirlsneedbras.wordpress.com/

For the perfect fit and beyond...

The Lingerie Addict - A Lingerie Blog for Everyone

Expert lingerie advice and reviews to help you find the very best lingerie in the world. Covering full bust, luxury, plus size, and more!

Sweet Nothings

Everyone deserves a little sweetness.

Big Cup Little Cup

UK Lingerie Blog

the musings of Renzilla

My thoughts one blog post at a time

The Petite Collegiate

A fit focused love affair with lingerie

Miss Victory Violet

Vintage Fashion, Hair & Beauty and everything in between!

Junebugs and Georgia Peaches: The Adventures of Modern June Cleaver + Amelia Jetson

A blog about lingerie, bra fit and all things D+. A love letter to lace, dresses and pinup lifestyle.

Bras and Body Image

One girl's perspective on boobs, bodies, self-image and society

Kupista asiaa

A blog about lingerie, bra fit and all things D+. A love letter to lace, dresses and pinup lifestyle.

Fuller Figure Fuller Bust

A UK plus size fashion and lingerie blog with a little extra padding.

