Bradrobe Essentials for 2015 – Review of Avocado “Essentia” in 70H

2 Jan

Have you met Avocado yet? Well, I reviewed their “Annick in Love” and “Caprice” bras a while ago and fell in love with their luxurious lingerie instantly. The aesthetics are great for someone looking for sophisticated elegance combined to great materials and superior construction. The new Essentia range is a simple yet pretty style that offers two basic colours; black, and beige. The people at Avocado were so kind to send me not one but two Essentias to try out – just the basic colours I always need in my bradrobe. Here’s how I liked my gorgeous essentials…

DSC_0059DSC_0053
The Design: The pictures on the Avocado website don’t do justice for the looks of Essentia as the materials are truly gorgeous and there is actually a lovely little pattern to the mesh-kind-of overlay of the bra. I opted the Essentia in the K-shape since I had figured it would be the best Avocado shape for me, based on my Annick in Love trial in the past. The shape is great for my boobs and the bra gives me a great deal of uplift. I would say Avocado is the master of great construction when it comes to bras and I never see them do any weird shapes that would make my boobs look sad and droopy – this however is something I always expect from Polish brands as they do have a long history of making bras.

DSC_0064

The Fit: I was weighing on whether I should go for my regular 70H with Avocado or go up a cup size to a 70J. Luckily, I followed their size chart and decided I was still more an H-cup with them as the J would require a 106 cm bust and mine is 103-104 at the moment. The Essentia is a great fit like it’s counterpart Annick in Love and I adore how well it suits its purpose as an everyday essential.

The band is really firm at first so don’t chicken out if you get a bit of back bulge! Mine disappeared in a few days as the band loosened up. This needs to be taken into consideration when choosing the band size though: when you measure according to the website you extract 5 cm from your underbust measurement when measuring in cm’s. If you fall between band sizes, I would suggest you take the smaller one. I am 75 under my bust and that gives me an accurate band size of 70 so I am wearing the exact right size at the moment.

The cups are deep and the wires narrow-ish but not to the extent that they would hurt me. I have had trouble with some Polish brands making a bit too narrow wires for my breast root leading to pinching and aching after a few hours of wear. Even though the K-shape is said to be one of the narrowest shapes of Avocado, it’s still reasonable for me (for reference, I need medium to narrow width wires). It seems I would need a little more depth to the cups at the bottom but as I have stated many times before, this happens to me a lot and does not bother me unless it’s super obvious.

DSC_0071 DSC_0084
Btw, the hue of beige is a bit darker than in the pics so take that into account 😉

Comfort: Even though Essentia does not feature my favourite material cotton, it is made of high-quality materials that prevent the bra from irritating my sensitive skin. The bra is double-lined both at the top and bottom to give me extra support but also comfort: the upper layer of mesh could be too scratchy on itself so I do like the softer materials on the inside.

The band of Essentia is very comfortable even though it is quite firm before breaking the bra in. The band features three hooks and eyes which is always a plus for me as a large bust like mine needs all that extra support. The style has clearly been made to please all your everyday preferences as it has been crafted to be as simple and as comfortable as it can be. The straps are fully-adjustable but take note that they are quite short to begin with. So some great news for you petite girls 😉

All in all I am in love with my two new bradrobe staples and they have already got a ton of wear as they go well under all my clothes. If you fancy an Essentia of your own, the Avocado website offers international delivery. The bra sets you back at 49,79 € which is a rather good price for a well-fitting piece of luxury lingerie. The size range is generous: you can find the bra in EU sizes 60-95 C-K and in multiple different shapes. Remember to check the size chart as the brand has a rather unique way of sizing!

I hope you enjoyed the review and I also wish you the best year of 2015! Thank you for everyone who took part in my year of blogging once again and I welcome any new readers that want to come along this year. Also a big thank you to all my lovely sponsors who have worked with me regarding my reviews! If you are a brand or a company who are interested to work with me this year, you can find my email address on the sidebar. There is a bunch of things that I have already planned for the upcoming year, including some blogiversary giveaways in February, so make sure to click those follow buttons 😉

Suomeksi: Moikka kaikille ja hyvää uutta vuotta! Kuten viime postauksessa mainitsin, mun joulu lähti käyntiin kasallisella uusia rintsikoita, joiden arvostelemisella onkin mukava aloittaa tämä uusi vuosi. Tällä kertaa vuorossa on puolalainen laatumerkki Avocado ja heidän uutusmallistonsa Essentia. Avocado lähetti ystävällisesti minulle Essentia-liivejä kaksin kappalein, joten tässäpä olisi teille pieni arvostelu niistä!

Avocado on minulle jo ennestään tuttu merkki, joten koon ja mallin valitseminen tuntui melko helpolta. Vaikka kokotaulukon mukaan kuuluisin johonkin 70H ja J väliin, päätin luottaa vielä 70H:hon tällä kertaa. Onneksi tein näin, sillä koko oli jälleen kerran todella hyvä! Avocadon ympärykset ovat aikalailla linjassa muiden puolalaisten merkkien kanssa, joten 70 on minulle oikein passeli ympärys. Kuppikoiden kanssa saa kuitenkin olla tarkkana, sillä ne eivät noudata ihan perinteistä eurooppalaista mitoitusta.

Avocadon rintsikoissa ympärys voi tuntua aluksi melko tiukalta, mutta sitä ei kuitenkaan kannata säikähtää: ympärys kun venähtää melko nopeasti löyhempiin mittoihin, jolloin ylimääräiset selkämakkaratkin tasoittuvat sopivasti. Kupit ovat minulle tässä mallissa oikein sopivat, vaikka tilaa voisi kuppien alaosassa olla hieman lisää kuvista päätellen. Valitsinkin Essentia K-mallisena, joka on Avocadon malleista syvin kupeiltaan ja matalin peittävyydeltään. Muita malleja merkiltä löytyy A, H ja F, joihin voi tutustua heidän nettisivuillaan.

Kokonaisuudessaan Essentia tuntuu oikein hyvältä mallilta, joka sopii varmasti myös jokaisen simppeliyttä rakastavan suomalaisnaisen alusvaatelaatikkoon. Liivit maksavat vajaan 50 € ja Suomeen postikuluja kertyy n. 10 €, joten laatuliiveistä tuo summa ei ole todellakaan paha! Linkit nettisivuille löydät tuolta englanninkielisestä tekstiosuudesta 😉

Lopuksi haluaisin kiittää kaikkia lukijoita edeltävästä vuodesta ja toivon, että moni teistä innostuu lukemaan blogiani myös tänä vuonna! Muistakaapa myös seurailla blogiani noitten “Follow”-painikkeiden kautta, niin saatte ensimmäisenä tietoonne esim. helmikuussa järjestettävät synttäriarvonnat 😉 Kiitos myös kaikille yhteistyökumppaneille, ilman teitä blogiani olisi todella vaikeaa pyörittää. Jos löysit blogini kuitenkin vasta nyt – tervetuloa! Toivotan sinut tervetulleeksi mukaan alusvaatteiden täyteiseen vuoteen 2015.

5 Responses to “Bradrobe Essentials for 2015 – Review of Avocado “Essentia” in 70H”

  1. irir January 4, 2015 at 11:17 pm #

    That is the model A, yes?

    Would you consider doing a review of the model H?

    • Sophie January 5, 2015 at 10:57 am #

      Hi Irir! This is the model K which gives less coverage than the A-cut. I have a review of the Jewel in A-cut to come in the next few days. I would love to do a review on the H-model but I have been only sent the A and K so far! However, if I get lucky and will be reviewing more Avocado in the future, I will ask to be sent the H-model, I promise 🙂

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. The Best Of 2015 – My Year in Bras | Two cakes on a plate - January 12, 2015

    […] Though I did review the Avocado Essentia only about a week ago, I did receive it in December so it still makes the list! I would say the K-shape of Avocado is one of the best I have encountered in addition to Ewa Michalak bras. Also the whole construction is uplifted and well-thought out, so I’m happy to hand this particular award to Avocado. If you would like your very own Essentia, head out to the Avocado website to get yours for 49,75 €. […]

  2. The Best Of 2014 – My Year in Bras | Two cakes on a plate - January 12, 2015

    […] Though I did review the Avocado Essentia only about a week ago, I did receive it in December so it still makes the list! I would say the K-shape of Avocado is one of the best I have encountered in addition to Ewa Michalak bras. Also the whole construction is uplifted and well-thought out, so I’m happy to hand this particular award to Avocado. If you would like your very own Essentia, head out to the Avocado website to get yours for 49,75 €. […]

  3. Avocado: Spitze bis zum L-Cup - Everyday Boudoir - July 7, 2015

    […] Bradrobe Essentials for 2015 – Review of Avocado „Essentia“ in 70H […]

Leave a Reply

CurvyGirlThin

a curvy girl's exploits in the wardrobe

Lucy's Corsetry

A Comprehensive Source for all things Corsets, Waist Training and Tightlacing

comicsgirlsneedbras.wordpress.com/

For the perfect fit and beyond...

The Lingerie Addict - A Lingerie Blog for Everyone

Expert lingerie advice and reviews to help you find the very best lingerie in the world. Covering full bust, luxury, plus size, and more!

Sweet Nothings

Everyone deserves a little sweetness.

Big Cup Little Cup

UK Lingerie Blog

the musings of Renzilla

My thoughts one blog post at a time

The Petite Collegiate

A fit focused love affair with lingerie

Miss Victory Violet

Vintage Fashion, Hair & Beauty and everything in between!

Junebugs and Georgia Peaches: The Adventures of Modern June Cleaver + Amelia Jetson

A blog about lingerie, bra fit and all things D+. A love letter to lace, dresses and pinup lifestyle.

Bras and Body Image

One girl's perspective on boobs, bodies, self-image and society

Kupista asiaa

A blog about lingerie, bra fit and all things D+. A love letter to lace, dresses and pinup lifestyle.

Fuller Figure Fuller Bust

A UK plus size fashion and lingerie blog with a little extra padding.

