Lingerie for a True Pinup – Review of Gossard “Retrolution” in 32G

13 Jan

This is a review that is long overdue and there is actually a rather good reason for it – I have been wearing the set all the freaking time. I am wearing my vintage repro clothing almost everyday so it’s not a surprise that the Gossard “Retrolution” is a perfect match for my style. Gossard was so kind to send me the whole set of the semi-soft balconette bra, brief and the waist cincher. The bra is actually now on sale for £18 so pay close attention to this review to find out whether it would be a good fit for you!

DSC_0013 DSC_0024DSC_0029

The Design: I have actually been drooling over this set for ages. I mean like seriously, when I first saw Miss Underpinnings and Le Curvy Kitten wearing it, I knew this would be my goal – to have my hands on this set one day, when I had the money or a miracle would happen (as I was and still am a poor student). Fast forward a couple of years and I have reached this bra goal and I am so happy I did. The set is all I expected it to be – quality materials, the perfect vintage shape without being too cone-bra-like and beautiful finishing touches like the rose gold metal parts.

I must warn you that this is not the bra for those gals who love the round shape of Cleo bras but perfect for any pinup girl out there who would like to test out the vintage shape without looking too out-there. The shape is a bit cone-y but not too much for my taste. The cups are semi-soft meaning the lower part of the cup is padded and the upper panel is soft. I love a good well-crafted semi soft any day and this is definitely one!

DSC_0012 DSC_0023DSC_0018
The Fit: This is probably one of the best-fitting semi-soft bras I have ever tried. It’s also a first bra with a padded lower half that doesn’t crease. Like, at all. The lower part of the cup is just deep enough for me to fit the bra perfectly. The upper part is a bit more closed at top than my other Gossard bras but it doesn’t lead up to any quad-boob so it’s not a problem at all. The wires hit me at the right point and the cetre core tacks nicely. All in all, this is probably my best-fitting Gossard bra of all times!

When it comes to sizing, this bra is consistent with other Gossard ranges. I opted for my regular size 32G and it feels spot-on. The band feels a little snug for a 32, as always, but there is a great improvement compared to my other Gossard bras – it has three hooks and eyes! The band feels so comfortable and supportive I cannot thank the Gossard team enough for making the band wider. The cups run larger than with other British brands so even if you are more full-on-top I would suggest sizing down. However, if you want to buy this bra, do it now. Gossard will not be carrying this style above E-cup starting from this spring season so if you see your size still available on their website, snatch it up asap!

DSC_0027 DSC_0028DSC_0028
The Comfort: I am impressed by the comfort of Gossard sets over and over again as I try new goodies from them. This is set is a favourite of mine for various reasons: it has a wider band, wider shoulder straps and great quality metal parts. The waist cincher includes suspenders but I have detached them as in the winter time I don’t really have a chance to wear stockings. However, the suspenders seems good quality too and the panties, both of them, are rather comfortable.

As the bra seems like a regular fit and comfort level for Gossard I will tell you more about the co-ordinates. First of all, both the brief and the cincher run a bit smaller than your regular Gossard co-ordinates so I would suggest sizing up if you are between sizes. The size Small I opted for felt a bit on the snug side but is still comfy enough to wear on a regular basis. The waist cincher is gorgeous but a little too short for me so if you have a long torso, keep that in mind. For someone a little more petite, the fit will be a lot better (I am 5’6). However, the waist cincher still does its job and flattens my stomach a bit as I do possess a little cookie pouch no matter how thin I am. The waist rolls down a bit as it’s too short for me so I cannot wear it without a belt to cover the seams on my waist but I usually wear it with my wiggle dresses which I like to wear with a belt anyway. The brief feels tiny at first but there’s still a fair amount of butt coverage so it’s a practical little number after all.

All in all the set is very pretty, well-fitting and comfortable. As I said before, I have been wearing this set a lot lately and with the co-ordinate options you can make it more versatile. If you would like to get Retrolution for yourself, you can find it on Gossard online store. The bra is still available in sizes 30-38 B-G so if there are any E+ sizes left, do consider them as when they’re gone, they really are gone!

How do you like the Retrolution set? Have you encountered any other pinup inspired lingerie sets you like? Let me know in the comments!DSC_0074
Suomeksi
: Moikka kaikille! Tänään arvosteluun on päätynyt Gossardin “Retrolution” alusvaatesetti, johon kuuluu puolitopattu balconette-liivi, muotoilevat korkeavyötäröiset alushousut sekä tavalliset hipster-malliset alkkarit. Gossard ystävällisesti lähetti tämän setin minulle mutta mielipiteeni ovat luonnollisesti omiani!

Gossard on jo pitkään ollut lempparimerkkejäni mutta nyt perusmallistosta on löytynyt oikea helmi. Olen jo pitkään kuolannut tätä retroa settiä muiden blogeista ja nyt onneksi sain kokeilla sitä myös itse. Setti on kaiken kaikkiaan upea ja hyvin istuva ja harmikseni sen valmistaminen G-kuppiin asti lopetetaan tänä keväänä. Jos siis nyt löydät kokosi jostain, nakkaappa suorin tein ostoskoriin! Nyt keväällä rintsikoiden valmistamista jatketaan vain E-kuppiin asti. Liivit ovatkin Gossardin sivuilla alennuksessa joten ne saa reilulla parillakymmenellä eurolla omakseen 🙂

Kooltaan Retrolution rintaliivit istuvat samoin kuin muutkin Gossardin rintsikat – hyvä sääntö on siis ottaa isompi ympärys ja pienempi kuppi kuin normaalisti. Itse ostan yleensä kokoa 65H muilta brittiläisiltä merkeiltä mutta Gossardin kanssa 70G riittää hyvin. Retrolution on muutenkin yksi parhaiten istuvimmista seteistäni, sillä sen ympärys on tavallista leveämpi ja kuppien alaosassa on enemmän tilaa rintakudokselle. Kupin alaosaan ei siis muodostu minkäänlaisia ryppyjä vaikka malli on niiltä osin topattu! Yläosa on pehmeää pitsin ja mesh-kankaan yhdistelmää, joka toimii hyvin näin yläpainotteisilla rinnoilla.

Alaosat setistä ovat tosi nättejä mutta mitoitukseltaan hieman normaalia Gossardia pienemmät. Jos arvot kahden koon väliltä, kannattaa ottaa se suurempi vaihtoehto! Lisäksi korkeavyötäröiset muotoilevat alushousut on tarkoitettu melko lyhyelle keskivartalolle, joten tämä kannattaa ottaa ehdottamasti huomioon. 

Kaiken kaikkiaan Retrolution on mahtava alusvaatepilari kaikille retrofaneille ja pinup tytöille. Mitäs sinä tykkäsit? Jätähän alle kommenttia!

15 Responses to “Lingerie for a True Pinup – Review of Gossard “Retrolution” in 32G”

  1. Becky Boudoir (@BeckysBoudoir) January 13, 2015 at 5:12 pm #

    I’ve adored Retrolution for a long time too! It’s so classical and well designed. You look super fab!

    Becky x

    • Sophie January 13, 2015 at 5:22 pm #

      Thank you Becky! I love the set too, I would actually be willing to buy it in the blush colourway as well 😀 xx

  2. Mademoiselle K January 14, 2015 at 1:08 am #

    Wow this seems to fit you like a glove!
    I own the clincher and staylo plunge in red (review here: http://mademoisellek.blogg.se/2014/december/christmas-special-gossard-retrolution-red-staylo-plunge-30e-waist-clincher-xs-review.html )
    I also tried the half padded in blush but it was a terrible fit on me (center fullness) and it made me soooo sad because just like you I had wanted it forever! However, in my experience the cups run very small! My first order was 30F (my usual gossard size) and 30FF but they were both way too small so I returned it for 30G and realized that my boobs didn’t like it. I also found the clincher to be an inch wider in blush than in red (maybe it was labled wrong?).
    I’m glad it worked out so well for you though 🙂

    • Sophie January 14, 2015 at 9:23 am #

      So weird about the sizing! I found my bra to run like other Gossard bras, so large-ish. Maybe there has been a manufacturing error or your bra was another patch than mine… Super weird!

  3. Charli January 15, 2015 at 11:08 am #

    I adore this set and have had it on my mind forever … I’m worried that it won’t fit as Gossard often comes up small meaning I need a GG which they don’t run to! You look absolutely amazing though!

    C xx
    http://curvygirlthin.blogspot.co.uk

    • Sophie January 15, 2015 at 11:52 am #

      Wow that’s super weird cause me and all my friends who have tried Gossard find them to run big :O I am usually a 30H with other brands but I wear 32G with Gossard and as you can see, it fits really well.

  4. Confused.com January 31, 2015 at 2:29 pm #

    I’m quite confused, I found this blog as you described yourself as an ‘hourglass’ figure so I thought I could relate. It’s really quite obvious that this is not true, you can quote measurements all you want but your pictures make it very obvious you wouldn’t have the same clothing issues as a woman with a real hourglass figure (big hips, small nipped in waist)

    I am confused about why you claim this, women with a straighter figure have a whole lot of different fit issues and you could be a brilliant blogger for them to follow and learn from.

    I am writing this anonymously because any other time I have dared to constructively criticize a full bust blogger, they have publicly sent their follows to hate and insult me.

    • Sophie January 31, 2015 at 2:44 pm #

      Hi Confused! I am sorry you have been insulted before, but this is not a place for insults, feel free to critisize if there’s a real reason for it 🙂 I totally understand why you feel my figure does not suit your idea of an hourglass figure. Perhaps I should have cleared it up that indeed my hips are not very wide nor round but my backside is. This is why I feel I have the same issues as some people with wider hips – there is the same amount of volume on my lower body which indeed affects my clothing choices. I hope you understand what I mean. Thank you for your comment and I hope you feel encouraged to comment later on as well 🙂 💞

    • Notconfused.com February 1, 2015 at 7:25 pm #

      I agree. I think that your your body makes your boobs don’t seem as big as the bars you wear. I also would not say you’re an hourglass, since boobs/waist/hips are not all that visibly different.

      Some hourglass bloggers are Curvywordy or Weirdlyshaped(although I think her boobs are way too big for her tiny frame).

      • Sophie February 1, 2015 at 9:27 pm #

        Have you ever heard of an S-shaped hourglass? That means my profile is more curvy than my front view suggests. My measurements are 41-27-39 at the moment and hourglass is definided by those vital stats so that the waist-chest and waist-hips difference is at least 10 inches. So what seems like an hourglass to you is what some would call a dramatic hourglass. My over 10″ difference is still there and this is why I call myself an hourglass.

        When it comes to your comments about my and Miss Shapen’s body, I really don’t want to tolerate that kind of body snark on my blog which is supposed to be a positive place for me and my readers. You are not entitled to comment on my or my friends’ bodies and if you don’t see how insulting that is, I kindly ask you to take your comments elsewhere. How would you feel if someone made such comments on your body?

      • Confused.com February 1, 2015 at 11:15 pm #

        Hi,

        Just wanted to clear something up because you seem to be replying as if to me again, this comment reply is not from me. That’s someone else, quite clear by the writing too.

      • Sophie February 1, 2015 at 11:18 pm #

        Hi! Thanks for letting me know. I respond to my comments by phone so didn’t see the whole message chain. Polite critique is always welcome, body snark is definitely not!

      • astrid February 2, 2015 at 12:55 pm #

        Me thinks: your mouth is way too big for your tiny brain.

      • Sophie February 2, 2015 at 1:20 pm #

        Astrid, I effin love you ❤

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Highlights der Woche (03-2015) - Everyday Boudoir - January 19, 2015

    […] Sophie ist eine charmante Bloggerin aus Finnland, die ihre Artikel meist zweisprachig in Englisch und Finnisch schreibt. Hier reviewt sie den “Retrolution”-BH von Gossard in der Größe 32G (ca. 70I), der an ihr wirklich super aussieht. Wenn ihr also einen anliegenden Steg, Bügel hinter der Brust endend und unter der Brust am Brustansatz verlaufend, die Brust nirgends rausquellend und ein parallel zum Boden sitzendes Unterbrustband sehen möchtet: Nur zu!  // Link […]

Leave a Reply

CurvyGirlThin

a curvy girl's exploits in the wardrobe

Lucy's Corsetry

A Comprehensive Source for all things Corsets, Waist Training and Tightlacing

comicsgirlsneedbras.wordpress.com/

For the perfect fit and beyond...

The Lingerie Addict - A Lingerie Blog for Everyone

Expert lingerie advice and reviews to help you find the very best lingerie in the world. Covering full bust, luxury, plus size, and more!

Sweet Nothings

Everyone deserves a little sweetness.

Big Cup Little Cup

UK Lingerie Blog

the musings of Renzilla

My thoughts one blog post at a time

The Petite Collegiate

A fit focused love affair with lingerie

Miss Victory Violet

Vintage Fashion, Hair & Beauty and everything in between!

Junebugs and Georgia Peaches: The Adventures of Modern June Cleaver + Amelia Jetson

A blog about lingerie, bra fit and all things D+. A love letter to lace, dresses and pinup lifestyle.

Bras and Body Image

One girl's perspective on boobs, bodies, self-image and society

Kupista asiaa

A blog about lingerie, bra fit and all things D+. A love letter to lace, dresses and pinup lifestyle.

Fuller Figure Fuller Bust

A UK plus size fashion and lingerie blog with a little extra padding.

