Lingerie Review: Samanta “Mintaka” in 65K

28 Jan

I am sorry this review is a bit late but I had a very rough evening with Thai boxing and mixed martial arts yesterday and was not in my best shape to write a proper review. It still hurts when I laugh! But onto the review. The lovely Natalia from Samanta sent me this bra to get some feedback on the style but also so I could show it to you and report about the fit. I hope enjoy the post! (If you want to read more about Samanta, read my post here!)

DSC_0118DSC_0042
The Design: Well, as you can clearly see, this is one of the MOST gorgeous pieces of lingerie I have ever owned. The colour and the detailing is so exquisite and I am especially big fan of the lace. I mean how stunning is it? I think the Slavic European vibes are clearly seen in the detailing and I do appreciate the design as a unique jewel among other ordinary plain everyday bras.

The construction is superb as well. The cut is called A925 which is a semi-padded almost full-coverage balconette style for large breasts and soft less firm breasts. Well, my breasts are pretty damn firm but I still found the style to be a great shape for my boobies. The cups construct of three parts with one vertical and one horizontal seam with the lower part of the cup padded and upper half non-padded. The bra gives me a lovely rounded yet very uplifted shape with a natural curve at top but it does boost my breast a lot so this may not be the most subtle bra shape, if that’s the look your are aiming for. Also, the cups come quite high up my torso so you might want to skip combining the style to a low-cut t-shirt.

DSC_0066 DSC_0125
The Fit: I opted for the size 65K with this style as it is the most accurate equivalent to my British size 30H. When I tried out the Samanta size chart I was given the size 70J but as I had heard Samanta fits their customers in looser bands for comfort reasons I decided to sistersize to 65K. This was the right size as the bands do run on the looser side. I just measured myself recently and my underbust measurement is 31″ currently (yay, back muscle!) so I am right between band sizes 30 and 32 according to British sizing. The band features two hooks and eyes but still feels supportive as the 65 band feels snug enough for me and hasn’t worn out easily after a bunch of wears.

The cups seem like a regular fit and I would count on the Samanta size calculator on that. I also skyped with Natalia and this was the size she suggested me through our video chat (very accurate estimation I might say!). The cups are the deepest Samanta makes and this can be seen easily – there’s a fair amount of room in the apex, even for someone with more projection than me. However, if you are even shallow-ish, don’t bother trying the style – Samanta has plenty of other lovely styles to offer for you! The wires are rather good on me but I tell you, they are not nearly as narrow as eg Ewa Michalak. I might even say they are the widest I have encountered among the Polish lingerie brands, but not as wide as most British brands.

DSC_0116 DSC_0120DSC_0075
The Comfort: As it appears to be, I forgot to measure my butt correctly before I opted for my panty size, so I went for my regular Small. The panties are Small indeed! However, not horribly so and if I lost my cookie pouch they would look much more flattering on me. The materials are very stretchy though so the butt part looks great and actually super sexy. The back is completely seamless so it’s a great choice to wear with eg tight jeans. But my rule of thumb would be to definitely size up if you are between sizes like me!

The bra is a pretty comfy number though there are couple of things you might want to consider. First of all, the wires are a bit wider than with other Polish bras I have tried but usually this is more of a plus when talking about comfort (unless the wires reach your back, cause that might be inconvenient). The straps are quite widely placed which is common for Polish bras, especially with small-band-big-cup combinations. The straps are half-adjustable but an average length so I had no problem with them.

All in all the well-selected materials and great construction make this bra good for everyday use though you can utilise it as a boudoir set too, as it’s such a sexy style after all (at least in my opinion). If you would like to order yourself the Mintaka, you can do so on the Samanta online store. They ship EU-wide but if you would like to order eg. from US, I suggest you contact them directly for more information. The A925 goes up to M-cup so it’s great for the big-boobed gals like me, but if you are a bit smaller, there is also a fair amount of choices for you from sheer balconettes to low-cut plunge styles. The A925 bra sets you back at 63€ and the tanga (or brazilian) at 26,30€.

How did you like the Mintaka? Any thoughts or questions on the sizing, construction or looks? Let me know in the comments! 🙂 xx

Suomeksi: Tänään blogissa olisi esittelyssä Samantan “Mintaka” setti, jonka merkin “alusvaate-stylisti” Natalia lähetti minulle ystävällisesti arvostelua varten. Samanta on puolalainen perheyritys, joka on perustettu vuonna 1992 elikkä brändi on täsmälleen samanikäinen kuin allekirjoittanut 😉 Samantan perusti Natalian ja Marzenan (Samantan pääsuunnittelija) äiti ja yritys on kehittynyt perheen naisten hellässä huomassa yhdeksi Puolan innovatiivisimmista alusvaatemerkeistä.

“Mintaka” on ihanan ylellinen violetti kaunotar, jonka materiaaleina on käytetty kaunista eurooppalaista pitsiä sekä sisämateiaalina pehmoista puuvillaa. Kuppien rakenne on myös mallillaan; ne on koottu kolmesta palasta, joita yhdistää yksi poikki- ja  pystysauma. Yleensä tämä kombo johtaa hieman surulliseen ja roikkuvaan ilmeeseen mutta Samantan liivissä muoto on todella kauniin ylöspäinsuuntaava ja pyöreähkö. Kupit ovat puoliksi topatut ja peittävyys on juuri suomalaiseen makuun – ne peittävät n. 90% rinnoista.

Mukavuudeltaan ja istuvuudeltaan malli A925 ja EU-koko 65K olivat minulle juuri passelit. Samantan mallit nimetään numeron ja kirjaimen yhdistelmillä, jotka kertovat mallin käyttötarkoituksen. A925 on tarkoitettu suurille, vähemmän-kiinteille rinnoille, mutta mielestäni malli toimii myös kiinteille rinnoille erittäin hyvin. Kupeissa on paljon syvyyttä, joten tissiä saa näihin rintsikoihin olla ihan reilusti! Mintakasta on kuitenkin olemassa myös muita versioita, esim ihan puolikuppinen ja plunge-malli, joita kannattaa kokeilla, mikäli omaa hieman pienemmät rinnat. 

Mikäli Samanta kiinnostaa enemmän, saa heidän nettikaupastaan tilattua setin myös Suomeen! Nettikauppa toimii englanninkielellä, joten tilaamisen pitäisi olla helppoa ja kätevää. Rintsikat veloittavat 63€, pöksyt puolestaan 23,30€. Ihan passeli hinta tällaiselle luksus-setille! 😉 Vai mitä mieltä itse olet?

11 Responses to “Lingerie Review: Samanta “Mintaka” in 65K”

  1. twingomaticLeah H January 28, 2015 at 10:02 pm #

    Really love your assessment of fit—the wires, depth, and apex. Nice combo of considering the aesthetics and the technical. Very helpful, thanks!

    • Sophie January 28, 2015 at 10:28 pm #

      Thank you, what great feedback! :)💖

  2. Shan January 29, 2015 at 12:29 am #

    Damn! Ive been meaning to special order some ewas – my first foray worked but bands were loose and pl style a smidge small.
    Id been pondering trying comexim but this bra. Wowsa!
    Im afraid i might be on cusp of being sized out however.
    I found i really needed 65JJ in the red/white ewa plunge you reviewed and a 65J in the S style.
    Been wearing 30hh in cleos.
    Im thinking id need a 65L or one more cup up based on your review.
    That purple is to die for however!

    • Sophie January 29, 2015 at 9:47 pm #

      I would suggest you try the 65L first, it seems like a good choice for you 🙂 I will also have my first Comexim review up in a couple of weeks so stay tuned for that!

  3. Jen January 29, 2015 at 12:30 am #

    That is a gorgeous bra! Can’t blame you for liking it so much—and am very happy it fits well. It’s so disappointing to fall in deep like with a bra only to have it not fit. 😉 So pretty!

    • Sophie January 29, 2015 at 9:49 pm #

      I know, the worst are those gorgeous brands that stop at G and you’re like “Just two sizes more pretty please??” So great to see Samanta go up to M-cup :)💕

  4. Charli January 29, 2015 at 7:44 pm #

    Oh my giddy aunt I love this bra – the detailing is beautiful!

    C xx
    http://curvygirlthin.blogspot.co.uk

    • Sophie January 30, 2015 at 6:32 pm #

      I love it too, the lace in particular is stunning 😍

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Highlights der Woche (05-2015) - Everyday Boudoir - February 2, 2015

    […] Sophie von Two Cakes on a Plate habt ihr in den beiden vergangenen Wochen ja schon kennengelernt. Hier zeigt sie einen BH der polnischen Marke Samanta, dessen Farbe und Design ich umwerfend finde! Einzig die Körbchen scheinen mir etwas zu groß zu sein, zumindest wirkt es z. B. auf dem zweiten Bild von oben so, dass das linke Körbchen nicht ganz ausgefüllt zu sein scheint und der Stoff unten über dem Bügel sowie über der Quernaht des Körbchens Falten wirft. Hier hat Sophie übrigens eine schöne Vorstellung der Marke Samanta geschrieben. // Link […]

  2. New Feature on the Blog! – Sunday with Samanta: Aurora A922 | Two cakes on a plate - March 29, 2015

    […] to dig out the bra for me, unfortunately it seemed to be found nowhere and this is why I went for Mintaka with the A925 model (an equally beautiful style I might say!). When the new Claret shade of Aurora finally dropped […]

  3. Sultry in Samanta: My First Polish Lingerie Review! | warning:curves ahead - April 23, 2015

    […] train!  Samanta is no stranger to the blogging community, with product reviews from the likes of Two Cakes On A Plate, The Full Figured Chest , and a very informative fit comparison by Miss Underpinnings that details […]

Leave a Reply

CurvyGirlThin

a curvy girl's exploits in the wardrobe

Lucy's Corsetry

A Comprehensive Source for all things Corsets, Waist Training and Tightlacing

comicsgirlsneedbras.wordpress.com/

For the perfect fit and beyond...

The Lingerie Addict - A Lingerie Blog for Everyone

Expert lingerie advice and reviews to help you find the very best lingerie in the world. Covering full bust, luxury, plus size, and more!

Sweet Nothings

Everyone deserves a little sweetness.

Big Cup Little Cup

UK Lingerie Blog

the musings of Renzilla

My thoughts one blog post at a time

The Petite Collegiate

A fit focused love affair with lingerie

Miss Victory Violet

Vintage Fashion, Hair & Beauty and everything in between!

Junebugs and Georgia Peaches: The Adventures of Modern June Cleaver + Amelia Jetson

A blog about lingerie, bra fit and all things D+. A love letter to lace, dresses and pinup lifestyle.

Bras and Body Image

One girl's perspective on boobs, bodies, self-image and society

Kupista asiaa

A blog about lingerie, bra fit and all things D+. A love letter to lace, dresses and pinup lifestyle.

Fuller Figure Fuller Bust

A UK plus size fashion and lingerie blog with a little extra padding.

