Moda Lingerie & Swimwear Show: Maison Lejaby AW15 Collection

4 Mar

Maison Lejaby is one of those brands that I have been eyeing for quite a few years; first in my teens when I had no money to even dream to buy a set, then in my early 20’s when I thought I had grown out of their size range. Take note in the word “thought” as when I first tried a set of their lingerie at a London lingerie boutique Mimi & You (that’s a whole another post for the future!) I was smacked in the face with a reality: I could literally, actually, REALLY fit my usually-30H bust into a Maison Lejaby 32F or FF. I stood in front of the fitting room mirror, my mouth in a round “o”-shape, that blown-away I was. A couple of days later I rushed to the Maison Lejaby stand at Moda and was ready to learn all about this wonderful brand I had been avoiding all those years for no reason.

DSC_0836 DSC_0771DSC_0839 DSC_0769DSC_0841 DSC_0850DSC_0775
The Full-bust line Elixir: Roxane, La Gourmande, Attrape Coeur & Theodora

Maison Lejaby consists of three collections: Premium (including core sizes A-D, with some exceptions going up to E), Elixir (including sizes C-G) and Couture (even more of a luxury line, sold exclusively in Maison Lejaby Couture Salons). I myself was jumping up and down when I saw their Elixir collection for AW15 as the designs were so pretty and sophisticated – to sum it up in one word, very “French”. The Elixir collection consists of seven different ranges which each offer a couple of different bra and bottom styles to choose from. There are also multiple colourways on offer; usually black, beige and/or white with changing fashion colourways each season. This upcoming autumn season was all about petrol and blue which seems to be a big trend among several brands in the lingerie industry.

Elixir includes sizes C-G but as I mentioned before, the cup sizes run quite big (bands are fairly true-to-size). This always makes me happy when I have prepared myself to cry for not being included in a certain size range (and this my dear readers, has happened with so many brands including Lepel and Gossard which are my current favourites!). The cups run at least two cup sizes big, so don’t throw your ax in the well (as we Finns say) if you think you are way out of the Lejaby size range. You might just fit into it!

DSC_0766 DSC_0773 DSC_0762DSC_0780  DSC_0833 DSC_0844 DSC_0847 DSC_0848
Premium Collection (sizes up to D): Petra, Marani, Divine Guipure in White and Tan, Crystal & Passion

When it comes their A-D offering, I did find some absolutely gorgeous pieces as well – some made me want to me to swap my boobs to a D in a heart beat (haha, not really, just kidding)! What Lejaby seems to be doing exceptionally well is what I call the Marie Antoinette cut, more well-known as a bandeau balconette. I had the pleasure of trying their Attrape Coeur in both the full-cup and the balconette and it seems in both the construction is truly impeccable and well-fitting, even with the larger sizes (I fitted a 32F with the full-cup and 32FF with the balconette, which was also padded so it explains the size difference). The bandeau style was one of the strongest styles in the Premium collection as well and I absolutely adored it!

If I’d have to pick favourites from the collection, I would say Attrape Coeur really stole my heart and it was also the first style I ever tried from Maison Lejaby. The style is made in scarlet red for this spring season and in lovely Imperial Blue, Lily and Black for this upcoming autumn season. Another favourite was the Passion Red Theodora with its massive centre gore bow and fabulous cut (very similar to Ewa Michalak SM shape so fans, take note!). From the Premium collection Divine Guipure was definitely a stand-out piece and I would love to see it produced in bold fashion colours and bigger sizes as well.

All in all, I am super impressed with this huge power house and their attention to detail which absolutely blew me away. I hope to be sharing a lot more about Maison Lejaby this year so stay tuned for any future reviews and news regarding them! In meantime, do tell me what you think of the collection or their fit, if you have tried ML before! What is your favourite piece from them? Let me know in the comments! xx

14 Responses to “Moda Lingerie & Swimwear Show: Maison Lejaby AW15 Collection”

  1. Sian March 4, 2015 at 2:00 pm #

    Wow, there are some seriously gorgeous pieces here!! I managed to try on a few of their bras at Rigby & Peller last year, but the price was just a little too high for me to afford at the time (despite them fitting pretty well and looking amazing!), but I might just have to take the plunge (haha!) and get one, they’re too lovely to resist!

    • Sophie March 4, 2015 at 2:05 pm #

      I know right, they are so pretty! I hadn’t seen any reviews on blogs about them so I just thought that well, no chance I’m gonna fit into anything. The price tag is quite high, but then again, it’s luxury and great quality so totally worth it! xx

  2. undertheunders March 4, 2015 at 2:49 pm #

    The first two are my favorite! I love blue shades, specially darker hues, and the details are incredible! I want them right now on my body!!

    • Sophie March 4, 2015 at 3:13 pm #

      Yap I love blue too, I think it suits so many skin tones 🙂 xx

  3. Erica of A Sophisticated Pair March 4, 2015 at 4:35 pm #

    Between you and Sweet Nothings, I am falling head over heels in love with this line. The laces look so beautiful and delicate, and I adore how they mix opaque fabrics with sheers. Gorgeous!

  4. Florence March 4, 2015 at 6:14 pm #

    Pretty much in love with the La Gourmande. I have a thing for shiny thread right now.

  5. wendybien March 5, 2015 at 5:55 am #

    Yes! I wore Lejaby years ago when I was a mere 32E–this was before they created a separate full bust line. Back then, some of their constructions were a bit too dainty for me, but I still often found something to love. If you can find them on sale or can find a French discounter online, they don’t have to be a budget busting choice. But even if you’re paying full retail, honestly, it is a good investment. This lingerie may look delicate but as long as you hand-wash it, it is pretty indestructible. Just to give you an idea of the quality, I had an orange balconnet that I simply adored and kept for almost 6 years, wearing it very regularly. I didn’t even have to take in the band until about year 5!

    After having kids I reconnected with the brand via the Elixir line and yes, I agree with you the cup sizing is extremely generous while the bands are nice and snug, bordering on small.

    • Sophie March 6, 2015 at 8:57 pm #

      I completely agree with you that the price seems fair when you know the quality 😊

  6. Charli March 8, 2015 at 10:53 am #

    The Elixir Range is beautiful … I cannot wait to get my mits all over it!

    C xx
    http://curvygirlthin.blogspot.co.uk

    • Sophie March 8, 2015 at 11:21 am #

      I know, I was so smitten to find a new brand to add to my collection 😊

  7. cherylwarner435 March 12, 2015 at 9:33 am #

    I have to admit I’ve not paid much attention to this brand as they are a little above my price range, but the designs are stunning so you may have tempted me to save up my pennies and check them out when I’m next in Rigby & Peller! X

    • Sophie March 12, 2015 at 2:24 pm #

      Yap that’s why I had been avoiding them too but I am hoping to a get a par time job soon (in lingerie!) so fingers crossed for more money 😉

  8. Bethnal October 18, 2017 at 11:56 pm #

    …I have a fairly small bust. Always desperately in search of well fitting bras and small bust reviewers. I have not had the chance to try on any of my True size(s). I’m a 26DD, this is going by standing measurement and have been wearing 32B/34A…the cups “fit”, as well as they can for wearing a band I can wrap around my bust. My leaning measurement puts me at either 26E or 26F (31″ bust standing, 32″/33″ leaning). I LOVE LOVE Maison LeJaby….with you saying their cups sizes run at least 2 cup sizes too large deeply saddens me. I was hoping to be able to get my 32B in them….as I am sure they do not have 32AA…do you think they will be less generous in cups in the smaller cup range? The Crystal demi/quarter cup bra I am absolutely in love with. I am assuming that after reading this review, the “plus four” method is built into their sizing. Their size charts seem to show that their cups are larger than most. My measurements fit into their 32A.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Lingerie Review: Maison Lejaby “Féline” in 32G | Two cakes on a plate - May 13, 2015

    […] might remember me raving about Maison Lejaby a couple of months ago (click for my latest post on ML!) – when I last visited London I had the pleasure of trying on a few pieces at Mimi & […]

Leave a Reply

Mette Sofia - Makeup & Hair artistry

- for the beauty, the drag and the art ever-fab

CurvyGirlThin

a curvy girl's exploits in the wardrobe

Lucy's Corsetry

A Comprehensive Source for all things Corsets, Waist Training and Tightlacing

comicsgirlsneedbras.wordpress.com/

For the perfect fit and beyond...

The Lingerie Addict - A Lingerie Blog for Everyone

Expert lingerie advice and reviews to help you find the very best lingerie in the world. Covering full bust, luxury, plus size, and more!

Sweet Nothings

Everyone deserves a little sweetness.

Big Cup Little Cup

UK Lingerie Blog

the musings of Renzilla

My thoughts one blog post at a time

The Petite Collegiate

A fit focused love affair with lingerie

Miss Victory Violet

Vintage Fashion, Hair & Beauty and everything in between!

Junebugs and Georgia Peaches: The Adventures of Modern June Cleaver + Amelia Jetson

A blog about lingerie, bra fit and all things D+. A love letter to lace, dresses and pinup lifestyle.

Bras and Body Image

One girl's perspective on boobs, bodies, self-image and society

Kupista asiaa

A blog about lingerie, bra fit and all things D+. A love letter to lace, dresses and pinup lifestyle.

Fuller Figure Fuller Bust

A UK plus size fashion and lingerie blog with a little extra padding.

