Lepel Swim “Minnie” Range – Swimwear for a True Pin-Up Diva

27 Mar

First of all, I have to start this post with a little (or actually a massive) disclosure. I have been struggling with my body image for years and even after recovering from anorexia, I am still nervous about people’s views on my body. It took me an INCREDIBLE amount of courage to post pictures of myself with my tummy and everything on show and this is why I ask you to kindly keep your opinions to yourself if you don’t like what you see. I think all of you have heard the phrase “If you don’t have anything nice to say, keep it to yourself” 😉 Thank you in advance of taking my mental health into consideration!

Now, onto the actual post! When I first saw the Minnie swimwear range at the Moda exhibition at the Lepel stand last August, I wanted to run away with every piece of it and never look back. Literally, I screamed of excitement and everyone at the stand must have thought that this girl is pretty nuts. You know this happens to everyone – you just see something so YOU and you can’t help but make a little happy-dance to celebrate it. Fast forward to this spring and I was talking to Lepel about this and that and BOOM – they decided to gift me the whole Minnie range for me to review at the blog. Imagine my delight – it was obviously a happy-dance time again! Here are my thoughts on the whole range… (Btw, if anyone wonders, I made the hair flower piece myself.)

DSC_0370 DSC_0400
The Minnie One-Piece Swimsuit

I don’t go swimming an awful lot as I find myself pretty bad at it – I just never really learned the best techniques and opted for running, dancing and gym as my choice of sports instead. But when I do visit a public swimming pool for actual working out purposes, I do prefer a one-piece to give me the best support and the minimal risk of falling out of my swimwear when being a bit more active. Also, I hate the kind of sporty swimsuits that give zero support to my breasts and usually look really outdated as well. In one sentence: I like my swimsuits supportive AND pretty. This is exactly why I love Minnie: it features sturdy underwires, great cut, padded cups and an option to wear it as a halter neck or a strapless version. Not to mention how cute the whole ensemble is!

As I have worn Lepel quite a bit during the last year or so, I knew my best bet for the size would be 32G. This was spot-on as per usual and I was very happy with how big the cups were – almost a bit too big for me! I would say the real UK size of the swimsuit would be closer to a 32GG-H so this is definitely good news for people who thought they could not fit into the Lepel size range. The cups have a pretty vintage-like shape to them so if you like super rounded cups, this might not be for you! I however LOVED the styling and the fit so the piece was absolutely perfect. The band (there is a separate one!) and lower part of the swimsuit felt like a regular 32 and as someone between 30 and 32 bands at the moment, I could have had it a bit sturdier but the swimsuit does its job nevertheless.

DSC_0424 DSC_0429
The Minnie Bikini Top and Skirted Pant

Y’all, this bottom is the BOMB. I am not a huge bikini person as I have a bit of a tummy and it’s the part I am a bit insecure of. However, I really did forget all that when wearing this combo: it’s so perfect at hiding my cookie pouch line that I praise hallelujah for it each time I put it on. Also, how freaking cute is it?? I mean, skirted. red. bikini bottom. Enough said, to me at least! I felt like a true mermaid when floating around in it at the pool and it’s also the comfiest little number I have worn for swimming. The rise is perfect, the colour is perfect and the styling is PER-FECT. As you might have guessed by now, this one was definitely my top favourite of all the bottoms included in the range.

When it comes to the bikini top, the sizing is a bit different from the swimsuit in one thing you definitely need to consider when buying: the band is TIGHT. I mean, I would say the 32 fits more like a very snug 30, meaning it’s not the easiest to close if you are more of a true 32-band gal. However, if you do buy a size too snug, I would suggest rinsing the band before putting it on – this will give the band more stretch and will make it easier to close the clasps. Again, the cups are very generous and the bikini top can be worn both halterneck or strapless. Both ways work for me fine and even as a strapless the suit and the bikini top stay put without readjusting them every 5 minutes 🙂

DSC_0460 DSC_0491
The Folded Bikini Bottom and the Bikini Brief

If the skirted pant is not your thing – a little too cutesy or young – there are other options as well that you can consider when opting for Minnie. I received the folded bikini pant and the bikini brief and even though they haven’t been as popular with me, I can see a whole lot of girls and women choosing to go with their more laid-back, subtle look. The folded pant is very low-cut so take that into consideration if you are opting between the two! The bikini brief is not cut as low and features a matching red bow instead of the red fold edge. Both are real cute and match the top equally well but still, the skirted bottom wins my heart over 10-0. All of my bottoms were a UK size 10 and fitted my 39″ hips very well.

What do you think of the range darlings? Are you as smitten with it as me? Also, do you prefer a one-piece or a bikini? Let me know in the comments! If you wish to get yourself your very own Minnie bikini set or a swimsuit, you can now buy them online at Lepel’s online shop. If your size isn’t listed there, I am sure other online stores will be stocking them soon enough as well. To mention one stockist, Very.co.uk already has the range sold on their site! The one-piece (UK size 30-38 B-G) sets you back at £40, the bikini top (UK sizes 30-38 B-G) at 30£ and the bottoms ( UK sizes 8-18) £14-18 depending on the style you go for. Not too bad, huh? 😉

20 Responses to “Lepel Swim “Minnie” Range – Swimwear for a True Pin-Up Diva”

  1. Argie March 27, 2015 at 2:19 pm #

    I’m more a fan of one piece suits. I scuba dive so I don’t want want multiple types of suits, and a one-piece suit is less likely to get peeled off when I take off the wetsuit! These are cute–and ultra cute on you. I like to see reviews of what is out there for us full-bust types but they are often meant for someone much younger than I. So thanks fro the review and enjoy playing in the pool.

    • Sophie March 27, 2015 at 2:21 pm #

      Aww, thank you! So glad you liked the review 🙂 I am a swimsuit kinda gal myself, it just feels so much more secure!

  2. K-Line March 28, 2015 at 1:05 am #

    I think you wear them well. The thing that bothers me about the bodice of both the one piece and bikini is that the polka dots aren’t well-placed so the fabric seems disjointed. They shouldn’t be eaten by all the seams. On account of this, I can’t give the thumbs up, despite the excellent way you’ve photographed them.

    • Sophie March 29, 2015 at 10:35 am #

      Hmm, to be honest, I didn’t even notice this before you pointed it out! I guess it really depends on what one prefers and some people are more fussy about the seam/pattern thing. I don’t mind it personally but this would be a very good improving point for Lepel nevertheless! xx

  3. Charli March 28, 2015 at 5:37 pm #

    You look absolutely fantastic in every piece of this range! I love the playfulness of the range and your smile is beautifully infectious!

    Great post!

    C xx
    http://curvygirlthin.blogspot.co.uk

    • Sophie March 29, 2015 at 10:37 am #

      Awww, thank you Charli 🙂 To be honest, there were a lot of pics with even more smile but I am so self-conscious that I kind of picked the ones that made my body look the best! How stupid is that even.. But yes, I really wanted put a playful feel to the photo series as the Minnie itself is such a lovely playful and fun piece of swimwear 🙂 xx

  4. WideCurves March 28, 2015 at 5:49 pm #

    You look fabulous!

    I just can’t pull off a pattern like that…but on you it’s fabulous!

    • Sophie March 29, 2015 at 10:39 am #

      Thank you, darling! The pattern can indeed be quite overwhelming and also needs a certain kind of personal style to pull it off but I felt like it was just perfect for me 🙂 xx

  5. Georgia March 29, 2015 at 12:25 am #

    you look amazing! I wish lepel’s size range was a little larger, I’d buy this swimsuit in a heartbeat!

    • Sophie April 1, 2015 at 8:06 pm #

      Can I ask what size are you? The Minnue runs HUGE in the cups and is very tight in the band! xx

  6. Mary February 18, 2016 at 1:38 pm #

    I know this post is almost a year old, but I hope you will see this. I think this bikini (and the swimsuit) look fab on you! I really do love that style and I found your blog because I was googling this bikini. I want to buy it but am very unsure about which size to get as I’ve never worn anything from Lepel before. I’ve read in a review on some shop site that the band is very tight, and you’re saying the same. So I guess I should size up. I’m a 32E in most brands so will definitely get 34 here. But so unsure about the cup size. You’re saying they’re generous, so I should probably size down but as far as I can see Lepel doesn’t go lower smaller than D cup? Hard to imagine because many of the models I see wearing this bikini have smaller boobs than me for sure.

    • Mary February 18, 2016 at 1:46 pm #

      Oh and about the bottoms, I see you’re wearing a size 10. Our hips are very similar in measurement and I always reach for a 12 in all kinds of bottoms (very rarely do I get a 10 in dresses when it’s an A-line). Do you generally buy 10 or do these run a bit bigger?

      • Sophie February 18, 2016 at 7:45 pm #

        Hi Mary! I seem to bump into the fact that people with the same hip measurement prefer different things. I am usually a size 10-12 and prefer my pants rather too snug than too loose. This is why I sometimes go for a 10 when someone else would choose a 12:) I would say these run true to size though. I don’t have much flesh on my hips and butt (my hip measurement comes from working out as I don’t put on weight below my belly) so I have no problem with the waosyband digging in and creating a muffin top xx

    • Sophie February 18, 2016 at 7:48 pm #

      I think Lepel actually starts with B-cup but I would suggest a 34D for you as a size with this Bikini top. To be honest, I have put on a bit of muscle on my back and measure 31″ under my bust atm – and I can’t close the bikini top clasp anymore!! So it truly is a very tight band :/ xx

      • Mary February 18, 2016 at 8:03 pm #

        Thank you so much for your help, Sophie! I have seen that the bikini is available in B and C cup but seems to be sold out in most places. I will definitely order the 34D. I’m really glad I found your blog – it’s very interesting and helpful 🙂

        I’m pretty soft around my hips so will go with the 12 bottoms or else it’ll most likely cut into my fat haha.

        Thank you again, you’re awesome!!!

  7. drawingdwarf June 18, 2016 at 3:27 am #

    I know this is an old post, but I’ve been considering getting the Minnie for super cheap.

    Can I ask a sizing question? I usually wear a 30DD or 30E and I’m not sure if I should go with a 30D or 30DD in this since everyone says it runs big in the cups. I wish there were bratabase measurements, or at least reviews in my size range. I’m leaning towards the bikini.

    Thanks!

    • Sophie June 18, 2016 at 8:06 am #

      Btw, the bikini band is super duper tight! I would probably suggest a 32D or even a 32C unless you measure 26-27″ under your bust. What about ordering both and sending the other one back? If you would have to choose though, always go for the bigger cup size as too small cups will make the bra slip down your torso as your boobs will try to push it down. Hope this helps xx

      • drawingdwarf June 18, 2016 at 10:31 pm #

        Thanks for the reply! I’m about 29″ at the underbust, so I guess I should size up. I’m just paranoid about it stretching out in the water and having a boob accident. I’d be ordering from figleaves and I don’t really want to pay return shipping since I probably shouldn’t be spending money on a new bikini anyway. I’m thinking I’ll go with the 32D, it probably doesn’t run as big in the smaller sizes.

        Thanks again!

      • Sophie June 19, 2016 at 6:10 am #

        I think that will be the right size for you. The 32 band stretches out to a max of 30 with my 32G so with a smaller cup size, it would probably be even more snug! Let me know how it fits when you receive it xx

      • drawingdwarf August 10, 2016 at 6:35 am #

        I finally got my Minnie. I think it got lost in customs as it took 5 weeks to get to me. Usually Figleaves takes a week. I actually had them resend it because I thought it was never coming. I ended up getting a 30DD when they resent it because 32D was sold out, and the 30 is too tight like you expected. I’m kicking myself for not getting the 32C to try out.

        The fit isn’t great for me. It’s super cute, but the cup shape doesn’t quite agree with me and it’s a bit big. I get a pretty pointy shape, almost upturned at the apex. It’s passable on my bigger side, but my smaller boob is swimming. I ordered a cheap pair of foam inserts to try and fill things out as it’s not worth returning. I’m going to give it a go on vacation later this month, hopefully it’s okay.

Leave a Reply

Mette Sofia - Makeup & Hair artistry

- for the beauty, the drag and the art ever-fab

CurvyGirlThin

a curvy girl's exploits in the wardrobe

Lucy's Corsetry

A Comprehensive Source for all things Corsets, Waist Training and Tightlacing

comicsgirlsneedbras.wordpress.com/

For the perfect fit and beyond...

The Lingerie Addict - A Lingerie Blog for Everyone

Expert lingerie advice and reviews to help you find the very best lingerie in the world. Covering full bust, luxury, plus size, and more!

Sweet Nothings

Everyone deserves a little sweetness.

Big Cup Little Cup

UK Lingerie Blog

the musings of Renzilla

My thoughts one blog post at a time

The Petite Collegiate

A fit focused love affair with lingerie

Miss Victory Violet

Vintage Fashion, Hair & Beauty and everything in between!

Junebugs and Georgia Peaches: The Adventures of Modern June Cleaver + Amelia Jetson

A blog about lingerie, bra fit and all things D+. A love letter to lace, dresses and pinup lifestyle.

Bras and Body Image

One girl's perspective on boobs, bodies, self-image and society

Kupista asiaa

A blog about lingerie, bra fit and all things D+. A love letter to lace, dresses and pinup lifestyle.

Fuller Figure Fuller Bust

A UK plus size fashion and lingerie blog with a little extra padding.

