When in London – Visiting the Mimi & You Lingerie Boutique

30 May

You all probably know my love for London by now – it is the city I always go back to, even after cheating with Liverpool, Dublin and Birmingham every now and then. London is also a great city to source some lush places to shop lingerie and when I noticed in the beginning of this year that a new shop called Mimi & You was opening in Finchley in North-West London, I knew I had to visit this little darling after saying a hello to my old friend Westfield Shopping Centre. To be honest, I just realised I hadn’t told you a bunch of things regarding my latest trip to town so as my next one is approaching in August, why not share with you what I saw and learned last time!DSC_0019DSC_0016DSC_0020DSC_0035
Anyway, I took a tube to Finchley and thought “Well, it can’t be that far from the station” so I took my leave and started to walk the Finchley Road from the Golders Green station. The lovely ladies running the boutique had adviced me to take a bus from the station but nope, I thought I was a great walker and would not mind walking a bit to the shop. Well, I am advicing you to take their word for taking the bus: Finchley Road is LONG AS HELL. So yeah, it took me like half an hour to get there after already walking several miles that day. Also, the whole Finchley area is not super posh or anything – I would say it’s more on the quirky side with the odd boutique here and there – so there was nothing particularly interesting to look at on the way to the shop. However, this is one of the reasons I love London – its gems are always a bit hidden and you really need to make an effort to find the good ones.

When I finally got to the boutique I was so happy to be greeted by the two lovely owners of the Mimi & You boutique. They were ever-so-charming and I chatted with them about lingerie, my blog and launching a lingerie shop and we had a blast talking over trying on some bras from their lovely selection. What I really liked about the shop was indeed the array of different brands and price ranges they had on offer. There was Tutti Rouge, Maison Lejaby and Evollove side by side which are all brands I really like for their aesthetics – Debra and Sally clearly have great taste! Also the decoration of the boutique was so charming and we all shared a love for vintage undergarments which Debra and Sally were looking for to create a certain feel to the shop.DSC_0024DSC_0027DSC_0030DSC_0028
The whole point of Mimi & You is to offer their customers the best service they can get and even though I am usually always treated with some extra care from the lingerie professionals for writing this blog, I really got a great first impression on how the ladies treated their customers. For example, they mentioned that they did not want their customer to feel pressured to buy anything as that is not an ethical or even a financially beneficial way to work. As a bra fitter myself, I find this very reassuring as I want everyone’s lingerie buying experience to be as smooth and comfortable as possible.

If you are in the area or just visiting London, I would highly recommend Mimi & You to anyone regardless of their financial status, age, race or preferences as they truly have something to offer for everyone. Whether it’s basics or frillies, these ladies got you! You can find the boutique at 4 Monkville Parade, Finchley Road.

What are your favourite brick & mortar lingerie boutiques? Do you rather shop in an actual boutique or online? Let me know in the comments!

*Disclosure: This post is in no way sponsored, I am just very impressed by the service and the shop offering and I want people to find the best places to shop for their lingerie πŸ™‚ *

2 Responses to “When in London – Visiting the Mimi & You Lingerie Boutique”

  1. Janice West May 31, 2015 at 3:03 pm #

    LOL you walked past the entrance to beautiful Hampstead Garden Suburb(the clue is in the name) with wonderful gardens and architecture. I live nearby but haven’t visited Mimi… yet. The area is really called Temple Fortune and prospective visitors can get buses 82, 102 or 460f rom outside the Refectory pub by Golders Green tube station. I love your blog, your reviews and comments, you have great taste.

    • Sophie June 1, 2015 at 10:46 pm #

      Huh, really? πŸ˜€ did not see any pretty places around but that is so very London – you never know what’s around the corner! Thank you for your lovely comment, it really means a lot to me πŸ™‚ xxx

Leave a Reply

CurvyGirlThin

a curvy girl's exploits in the wardrobe

Lucy's Corsetry

A Comprehensive Source for all things Corsets, Waist Training and Tightlacing

comicsgirlsneedbras.wordpress.com/

For the perfect fit and beyond...

The Lingerie Addict - A Lingerie Blog for Everyone

Expert lingerie advice and reviews to help you find the very best lingerie in the world. Covering full bust, luxury, plus size, and more!

Sweet Nothings

Everyone deserves a little sweetness.

Big Cup Little Cup

UK Lingerie Blog

the musings of Renzilla

My thoughts one blog post at a time

The Petite Collegiate

A fit focused love affair with lingerie

Miss Victory Violet

Vintage Fashion, Hair & Beauty and everything in between!

Junebugs and Georgia Peaches: The Adventures of Modern June Cleaver + Amelia Jetson

A blog about lingerie, bra fit and all things D+. A love letter to lace, dresses and pinup lifestyle.

Bras and Body Image

One girl's perspective on boobs, bodies, self-image and society

Kupista asiaa

A blog about lingerie, bra fit and all things D+. A love letter to lace, dresses and pinup lifestyle.

Fuller Figure Fuller Bust

A UK plus size fashion and lingerie blog with a little extra padding.

