Avocado Bra Review: Calypso in the new NF-cut!

22 Jun

As regular readers of my blog know, Avocado has been a very near and dear brand to me for some time now. I have reviewed several of their bras now and as the time has flown, it is now time to open the final Pandora’s box and stick my claws into the H-cut, which has been requested to be reviewed for a long time since we all got to know Avocado about a year ago. I was always intrigued by this style as you know, the grass is greener on the other side and I had not had the chance to try it on yet.  However, it turned out Calypso is no longer available in the old H-cut which lead Avocado to send me its new improved version, the NF-shape. Here’s how I liked their revised fit! *This bra was gifted to me by Avocado. This however, does not affect my opinions or thoughts on it in anyway.*

DSC_0113 DSC_0126
The Design: The NF-cut (with the lower part of the cup attaching to the straps) is something Avocado calls their more “natural” pointed shape and it is fairly obvious when putting on the bra for the first time. Before I started to wear the pinup and vintage-style clothes regularly on a day to day basis, the pointed shape was definitely not my cup of tea but something I tried to avoid like plague. However, as the women in 40’sand 50’s did wear a lot pointier bras than women today, I have come to embrace the shape and wear it with my more authentic looking vintage repro pieces (as I don’t own any genuine vintage yet). The NF-cut is perhaps not something I would like under all my clothes, but it does have a place in my bradrobe for those full-on pinup days.

The Calypso style was something that definitely caught my eye when I first came across it on Facebook. I just knew I had to have it! Fortunately, the ladies at Avocado had noticed my admiration and were so kind to send me the gorgeous green little number. Although green is not one of my favourite colours in any way, I do love a good emerald or jade green. I actually have a trench coat in the same colour as well (great combo for some flashing, huh? JK!)! Also the accent colour of taupe is very chic, however the combo makes it very hard to match this set with anything else than the actual bottoms created for the set. As a matching set kinda gal it does not make this the most practical bra but it sure is pretty, to say the least!

DSC_0129
The Fit: As the NF-cut is supposedly a much deeper cut than the A and K which I had tried before, I decided to stick with my regular size 70H. This was the right choice even though I am bulging over my 70H in A- and K-cuts. As a conclusion, I would advise to size down with the NF-cut, especially if you are between sizes! The band fits about the same as every other Avocado band I have tried, even though I am now contemplating on trying the 65 sometime in the future. I think might be between 65 and 70 as the bands stretch quite a bit after a few wears so it would be good to know if I could manage to close the 65 and then stretch it to be more comfortable.

The wires are again perfect with the Calypso and in addition to Kris Line and Ewa Bien, they are the best the Polish brands can offer me. Take note, everyone who don’t cope with the narrower wires of EM and Comexim, this is the brand for you! The cups are nice and deep but also pretty closed at the top. This however, is no problem to be even though my boobs are more full-on-top – the cups are pretty full-coverage meaning the edge of the cup doesn’t cut into my breast tissue.

DSC_0118DSC_0112
Comfort: I sometimes have problems with a non-tacking gores and even though some bra fitters claims it’s not the most important fit factor, I do like my gores tacking even moderately as it makes the bra feel a bit more sturdy and shows how well the cup depth fits me. Well, this sucker definitely tacks to my sternum! The downside? It can me a be stabbing at first to be honest. However, usually people who report their gores stabbing them have not tried to bend the gore, which is sometimes essential when breaking in the bra. I had the same thing with Tutti Rouge “Nichole” and the issue was easily fixed with some bending, wearing and washing.The same thing applies with Calypso – just be patient.

Another thing that bothered me a bit was the far-apart straps which did chafe my armpit a bit. To be honest, I haven’t had this problem with any of the other Avocado bras I have received so it might be just a small downside to this particular cut. Otherwise, the materials, straps and band are super comfortable as always and I am especially happy about how wide and comfy the bra band is with all Avocado styles.

If you are interested to snatch up the Calypso in the new NF-cut (Natural Firm) for 72,15€, you can do so at the Avocado online store.

Have you tried the NF-cut yet and how did you like it? Let me know in the comments! xx

EDIT: As we had a slight communication problem with Avocado, this style was indeed the new NF-cut instead of the H. As I only got this info now, I have changed the review a bit to avoid any confusion!

6 Responses to “Avocado Bra Review: Calypso in the new NF-cut!”

  1. autosoma June 22, 2015 at 5:53 pm #

    Very pretty and I’d certainly like to get one as a gift to my wife

    • Sophie June 22, 2015 at 6:09 pm #

      You should 😉 If you know her size – go for it! xx

  2. Charli June 25, 2015 at 6:59 am #

    Really love the look of this bra – especially the very subtle pointed shape!

    C xx
    http://curvygirlthin.blogspot.co.uk/

    • Sophie June 29, 2015 at 7:33 pm #

      I know right, would be gorgeous under your pinup dresses as well! 🙂 xx

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Avocado: Spitze bis zum L-Cup - Everyday Boudoir - July 8, 2015

    […] Avocado Bra Review: „Calypso“ in the new NF-cut! […]

  2. Avocado: Selbstbewusste Sinnlichkeit bis L-Körbchen | Everyday Boudoir - February 17, 2017

    […] Review in 70H (NF-Schnitt) bei Two Cakes on a Plate […]

Leave a Reply

Mette Sofia - Makeup & Hair artistry

- for the beauty, the drag and the art ever-fab

CurvyGirlThin

a curvy girl's exploits in the wardrobe

Lucy's Corsetry

A Comprehensive Source for all things Corsets, Waist Training and Tightlacing

comicsgirlsneedbras.wordpress.com/

For the perfect fit and beyond...

The Lingerie Addict - A Lingerie Blog for Everyone

Expert lingerie advice and reviews to help you find the very best lingerie in the world. Covering full bust, luxury, plus size, and more!

Sweet Nothings

Everyone deserves a little sweetness.

Big Cup Little Cup

UK Lingerie Blog

the musings of Renzilla

My thoughts one blog post at a time

The Petite Collegiate

A fit focused love affair with lingerie

Miss Victory Violet

Vintage Fashion, Hair & Beauty and everything in between!

Junebugs and Georgia Peaches: The Adventures of Modern June Cleaver + Amelia Jetson

A blog about lingerie, bra fit and all things D+. A love letter to lace, dresses and pinup lifestyle.

Bras and Body Image

One girl's perspective on boobs, bodies, self-image and society

Kupista asiaa

A blog about lingerie, bra fit and all things D+. A love letter to lace, dresses and pinup lifestyle.

Fuller Figure Fuller Bust

A UK plus size fashion and lingerie blog with a little extra padding.

