Moda Exhibition Favourites – Curvy Kate AW15 Collection!

20 Jul

I have always loved Curvy Kate and will always love them – and the simple reason is, not many full-bust brands attracted me that much when I first entered the industry. Curvy Kate was all I asked for – something a bit sexy, fun and flirty but also girly and well-fitting. It is a lot to ask from a single brand, but somehow they still managed to shoot straight into my heart with their fun styles that first and foremost came in my size. This AW15 season was no different for CK as they brought back the very style I started with a few years ago in addition to some great newbies on the block. Let’s see what they have on offer when the autumn winds reach us!

DSC_0071 DSC_0080 DSC_0086
THE BASICS

When I was a few years younger, I was obsessed with the Curvy Kate Smoothie set and owned it in every colour. After that came the beloved Starlet and even though the fit wasn’t as good as with the Smoothie for me, I still loved the rounded shape and the fun styling of it. Who doesn’t love hints to mermaids?? This time, Curvy Kate has revisited their old Smoothie shape and come up with a new more romantic version of it – the Smoothie Prowl (D-J cups). It comes in a lovely autumn-appropriate colourway of crimson red and orange with some cute lace and animal print bows that keep the set simple yet detailed enough to be interesting. The bottoms that belong to the set are also amazing and would suit anyone who struggles to find something seamless yet pretty for their underwear.

The other renewed classic has to be the Daily Dream set. It is a revised version of Curvy Kate’s older Daily Boost and what seems to be different this time is definitely the shape of the bra. I think many gals out there will be very pleased to hear the new version offers a much more rounded look to it, meaning the fit will most likely be better for the most of us! The Daily Dream will still be going up to K which makes it an amazing everyday choice for the most full-busted of us.

DSC_0068 DSC_0082 DSC_0102 DSC_0105 DSC_0108  DSC_0112
Top to bottom: Ellace, Cascade, Dreamcatcher, Cherie and Portia. (All D-K cups)

EVERYDAY FASHION OPTIONS

As most of the styles mentioned and pictured above are already known to you, I am going to focus on the new interesting fashion offerings Curvy Kate has in store for us for the autumn season. These are the Ellace and Cherie, which both really appeal to me in different ways – the Ellace is such a great basic everyday style whereas the Cherie speaks loud and clear to my pinup style.

To be honest I have never really been into cherry prints but somehow, just somehow, Curvy Kate has managed to create such a lovely one that I don’t think I can resist it! The cups of the Cherie are lamented and it’s the same well-known and -loved balconette shape Curvy Kate started out with in the first place with the likes on Portia (which I love in the blue/orange colourway, btw!). The upper cup panel is made of dotted mesh which only adds up to the cuteness of the bra and makes it a bit more sexy with the sheerness.

The Ellace on the other hands would seem to be something that could steal many girls’ hearts with something we all love – and that is the stretch lace. I am hands down all for stretch lace and I think everyone especially with a-symmetry should try it out. It is such a comfortable choice of material which also suits many breast shapes so I am actually a bit surprised this is the first time Curvy Kate uses this fabulous material in their designs.

DSC_0074 DSC_0077  DSC_0088 DSC_0084DSC_0092 DSC_0100
Dita, Tease, Jewel, Temptress and Bardot

NIGHTTIME NAUGHTIES

Even though Curvy Kate just launched their Scantilly range just for this purpose, I think their core collection has some great options for boudoir purposes too. If you don’t want anything too racy, these are the styles for you! What I loved the most about the more sexy “Showgirl”-like options was that the Red/Blush “Tease” was brought back. This was the style I bought a few years ago from Curvy Kate as one of my first well-fitting bras and was heartbroken when I grew out of it a couple of years back. Now the beauty will be back on the store shelves in two amazing options – the regular padded balconette bra and a flirty babydoll (pictured above). I am pretty sure I will want both of them so need to be quick when they come out!

My other favourites were the Temptress and Bardot in their new colourways as I am all for red and golden hues for autumn and especially Christmas time. Also, I am very tempted (haha) to know what the fairly recently revised padded plunge shape fits like in bigger cup sizes, which makes me want to try the Temptress real bad.

Here’s my roundup of Curvy Kate favourites for AW15 – how did you like them? Are you as excited as me about the comeback of the red Tease? Let me know in the comments! xx

Leave a Reply

CurvyGirlThin

a curvy girl's exploits in the wardrobe

Lucy's Corsetry

A Comprehensive Source for all things Corsets, Waist Training and Tightlacing

comicsgirlsneedbras.wordpress.com/

For the perfect fit and beyond...

The Lingerie Addict - A Lingerie Blog for Everyone

Expert lingerie advice and reviews to help you find the very best lingerie in the world. Covering full bust, luxury, plus size, and more!

Sweet Nothings

Everyone deserves a little sweetness.

Big Cup Little Cup

UK Lingerie Blog

the musings of Renzilla

My thoughts one blog post at a time

The Petite Collegiate

A fit focused love affair with lingerie

Miss Victory Violet

Vintage Fashion, Hair & Beauty and everything in between!

Junebugs and Georgia Peaches: The Adventures of Modern June Cleaver + Amelia Jetson

A blog about lingerie, bra fit and all things D+. A love letter to lace, dresses and pinup lifestyle.

Bras and Body Image

One girl's perspective on boobs, bodies, self-image and society

Kupista asiaa

A blog about lingerie, bra fit and all things D+. A love letter to lace, dresses and pinup lifestyle.

Fuller Figure Fuller Bust

A UK plus size fashion and lingerie blog with a little extra padding.

