Introducing Scantilly: Curvy Kate’s Naughty Sister!

15 Aug

You may have bumped into Scantilly already – she is a frivolous little thing Curvy Kate came up with to satisfy their customers’ more specific needs, that is erotic full-bust lingerie. I did not include Scantilly in my Moda roundup post last time when they were first released to the crowd as I felt there were enough bloggers already raving about the new range. This time however, I am early in the Scantilly bandwagon and will show you all six styles at once. The first three sets, telling the stories of Monday, Tuesday and Wednesday, will be launched any day now and the next three sets will be launching in November – just in time for my birthday! Also, there is a lovely naughty little story/competition I will tell you all about in a minute… So tag along!

DSC_0054 DSC_0055  DSC_0059 DSC_0058DSC_0063
From top to bottom: Peek-A-Boo, Pounce, All Wrapped Up

First, I really need to address that traditionally ‘erotic’ lingerie has never really intrigued me – I am not sure why as it seems to be the thing for many women out there and has exploded massively after the 50 shades phenomenon came alive. To me, traditionally sexy lingerie has just felt a bit boring and sometimes even cheap – the materials are usually quite tacky and the fit is poor, which is not an option for someone who writes about lingerie on a weekly basis! However, I do like the idea of having something special when you just feel like a total babe and perhaps, it is this sweet spot that the Scantilly range touches in me. It does have the same sexy feel to it as some more mainstream erotic brands but the materials and the execution just seem a bit more sophisticated and interesting to me.

The Scantilly range will be released biannually just as with the regular Curvy Kate collection but each drop will include three styles to continue a certain story that can be read in the brochures (which are super limited, sorry Anna for stealing this one! I am a horrible person…) which will come together as a writing competition in the end. First six styles will come with a story about each weekday with the Sunday left to mystery – this is where you come in! All Scantilly fans have the opportunity to write a story ending of their own which makes it all more interesting and seems like a nice way to engage customers in a fun way. I certainly will be taking part and perhaps… publishing my story ending here on the blog as well 😉

The first three styles of the Scantilly range, called Peek-A-Boo, Pounce and All Wrapped Up are fantastic designs to start the collection with and I pretty impressed with the unique and fun ways that Scantilly embraces the whole erotic theme. Of course, I am a fan of suspenders which is why this collection makes me particularly happy (although I never seem to wear them really…)! Also, the Peek-A-Boo set features a lovely open-back bottom which I adore. Nothing is done in trashy way and I have to say, I would adopt any of these babes in my lingerie collection in a heart-beat!

DSC_0746 DSC_0747   DSC_0758DSC_0753DSC_0757
Top to bottom: Peek-A-Boo, Invitation, Surrender

With the next three styles the Scantilly girl goes even a bit wilder with some lovely reds, straps and see-through materials. It is no secret or wonder which one of the new November styles is my favourite – the boneless Surrender-basque is definitely something different in the full-bust scene! However, the red Peek-a-Boo and Invitation are both stunning designs as well and again, both come with the infamous open back bottoms. To be honest, from the red and black Peek-A-Boo sets I would probably go for the red one as black is not really my thing. Also the pink shade of the Invitation hints of innocence when the half cup shape of the bra leaves a bit more on the show.

The Scantilly range has a bit narrower size range than Curvy Kate but still goes from DD to HH which is very impressive for such a new collection. Also, if the collection turns out to be a success, the cup sizes will definitely be extended in the future. How do you feel about Scantilly and which of the styles is your favourite? Let me know in the comments below! xx

6 Responses to “Introducing Scantilly: Curvy Kate’s Naughty Sister!”

  1. K-Line August 15, 2015 at 7:05 pm #

    I’m really looking forward to this new subbrand. I’ve not had much luck with CK (not that I’ve tried it since it revamped sizing) but I do love some erotic lingerie and it’s great to find some that will be well-made and with my band and cup size taken into consideration!

  2. JK August 19, 2015 at 8:39 am #

    Great post! Do you have any shots of the back of the invitation or surrender? I’m a bit worried they’ll be a little too skimpy. Thanks.

    • Sophie September 10, 2015 at 5:43 pm #

      I did have some but I think I deleted them already :/ However, all of the Scantilly styles feature multiple bottom options so I think with Invitation you might like the regular brief (which is partly see-through but still covers a bit more) and also with Surrender, the backside of the briefs has little “peep holes” but still the style covers the bum rather decently. Hope this helps 🙂 xx

  3. Lexie November 20, 2015 at 5:12 am #

    how is the fit on this brand? How do the sizes compare with other brands?

    • Sophie November 20, 2015 at 8:54 am #

      Hi Lexie! I actually have no idea but I would guess it would be similar to Curvy Kate so a bit looser in the band and regular in the cup. I wear a 30H with Curvy Kate which is my regular size with most British brands. The bands stretches up to approximately 31″. I think I might try Scantilly soon so I can report back to you in a couple of weeks! Xx

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. The Perfect Christmas Babe – Review of Scantilly “Peek-a-Boo” in 30H | Two cakes on a plate - December 6, 2015

    […] I first got to know Scantilly at Moda Exhibition, I fell head over heals in love with the whole range. It was something completely new that no full […]

Leave a Reply

Mette Sofia - Makeup & Hair artistry

- for the beauty, the drag and the art ever-fab

CurvyGirlThin

a curvy girl's exploits in the wardrobe

Lucy's Corsetry

A Comprehensive Source for all things Corsets, Waist Training and Tightlacing

comicsgirlsneedbras.wordpress.com/

For the perfect fit and beyond...

The Lingerie Addict - A Lingerie Blog for Everyone

Expert lingerie advice and reviews to help you find the very best lingerie in the world. Covering full bust, luxury, plus size, and more!

Sweet Nothings

Everyone deserves a little sweetness.

Big Cup Little Cup

UK Lingerie Blog

the musings of Renzilla

My thoughts one blog post at a time

The Petite Collegiate

A fit focused love affair with lingerie

Miss Victory Violet

Vintage Fashion, Hair & Beauty and everything in between!

Junebugs and Georgia Peaches: The Adventures of Modern June Cleaver + Amelia Jetson

A blog about lingerie, bra fit and all things D+. A love letter to lace, dresses and pinup lifestyle.

Bras and Body Image

One girl's perspective on boobs, bodies, self-image and society

Kupista asiaa

A blog about lingerie, bra fit and all things D+. A love letter to lace, dresses and pinup lifestyle.

Fuller Figure Fuller Bust

A UK plus size fashion and lingerie blog with a little extra padding.

