Sunday with Samanta: A225 “Hemaris” in 65J

30 Aug

Hello everyone and hope you are having a fabulous Sunday! Mine has been pretty good and I am now happily in bed ready to blog for you about my next Samanta venture – the Hemaris in A225. Hemaris is one of the Samanta best-sellers and belongs to the affordable “Young”-collection, which is – as the name suggests – targeted for young trendy women on budget. The Young -collection features more basic styles with simplistic yet hip lace and embroidery combined to an array of bright colours and fun prints. I received the Hemaris in the A225 cut which is specifically crafted for larger breasts and thus goes up to K-cup.

DSC_0149 DSC_0160
Design: When I first found out the lovely Marzena from Samanta had thought of Hemaris for me to try next, I wasn’t super excited about the set – however, the leopard print lace and the orange-y red turned out to be a fun combo for everyday wear and I did like the style when I saw it in flesh! The colour is a little warmer than your average red which makes it appropriate for this late summer we are now experiencing and also, looks nice on most skin tones, I think.

The A225 cut is a semi-soft style which is something Polish bra companies are famous for – and which really suits so many breast shapes especially if you are on the softer side! However, me and Marzena discussed some of the fit issues I encountered with the semi-soft construction, and we can both safely say this is not the best bra shape for me.The A225 Hemaris constructs of three cup pieces with a stretch lace on top to accommodate any a-symmetry and the style is overall a bit wider and deeper than most Samanta styles I have tried so far.

DSC_0151 DSC_0159
Fit: I got the Hemaris in my usual Samanta size which is 65J (translates roughly to UK 30GG). Usually Samanta has been very consistent with their sizing, but it seems that the semi-soft styles run a bit larger than their soft and padded bras which is why I could have easily done well in a 65I with the A225 shape. There is also something to my bust that does not co-operate with semi-soft styles at all (finally, a shape that does NOT work for me, haha!) – and when we discussed this with Marzena she instantly told me it is probably the density of my breasts. The A225 style is specifically designed for larger but also softer breasts and as mine are still very firm, the breast tissue does not conform to the semi-soft shape and fill it completely at the apex.

As you can see in the pictures, this style is also quite wide for me allover and thus is not the ideal look and fit I prefer. Even though I am not super narrow at my breast root, I do prefer bras that minimize the look of my boobs and makes them fit into tighter dresses when needed. However, I can imagine this bra shape being ideal for women who have lost some of their fullness and density and want to feel fuller and uplifted again! For example, if you have just breast-fed and are changing back to regular bras, this could be a great option for the fuller-busted lady.

DSC_0170DSC_0571
Comfort: As fit and comfort usually go hand in hand, this was not the best of Samanta bras I have tried comfort-wise either. The materials were incredibly soft and well thought-out, but the construction with its wider cups and also, wider-placed straps did not suit me very well. I just recently found out that apparently, I am quite narrow at my shoulders and widely-placed straps are not the most comfortable for me and unfortunately, it seems that this particular bra is not very good match with my body shape. This is something many British and American women struggle as well when it comes to Polish bras – it seems Polish girls are a bit more broad-shouldered and want less coverage which leads for the bras to have wider strap-placement with Polish bras in general. I have given feedback about this particular matter to eg Avocado who are tackling the the issue at the very moment.

Usually though, Samanta bras have been nice and comfortable for me, so this time, is no doubt just one style that simply does not go well with my proportions and body type. However, if you are a bit wider than me all over (breast root- and shoulder-wise) you could find the A225 quite good for you needs. Also the size I take usually faces some problems as the small band and big cups are not the easiest combination to accommodate in every single bra style. However, for materials and overall feeling, Samanta always earns an A+ as they really make an effort to use the best quality laces and also the softest cotton lining in the bra cups. The M300 brazilian briefs are also a dream to wear as the stretch lace really accommodates your own body shape and leaves no bulges or seams on sight.

If you interested to try out the Hemaris, it is now on sale for a very good price of 32,30 e for the A225 bra and 13,70 e for the Brazilian brief. Do snatch them before they are completely gone!

What do you think of Hemaris in A225? Have any of you tried any semi-soft bras and how do you like the shape in general? Let me know in the comments!

2 Responses to “Sunday with Samanta: A225 “Hemaris” in 65J”

  1. Aleksandra007 August 30, 2015 at 8:56 pm #

    ‘ it seems Polish girls are a bit more broad-shouldered and want less coverage” Well, as a Polish Emotikon grin and I observer of polish bra community and polish clothes market, I think it’s rather opposite! I don;t have broad shoulders, but not narrow too, just averege and I’m struggling with polish straps, EM SM drove me nuts, they are fallen over my shoulders which is, well, I won’t comment Emotikon wink If it comes to the idea of less coverage – yes, polish bra comunnity really wanted to see some lower coverage styles in full bust market, but majority of producers (especially more popular, mainstream ones) for my usual polish size 70H (except EM) give me usually two options : semi soft full cup bra or padded full cup bra. The most popular british shape in DD+ is balconette, while here if it is balconette, then it must be padded and often ends at F or G cup. They usually ignore my half cup (FOB here) requests saying : it is impossible to create that for the weight of my very big bust. I am about 32FF UK, so imagine my laugh Emotikon wink

    • Sophie September 10, 2015 at 4:57 pm #

      Hi Alexandra and thank you for commenting! I am quite surprised about your note on the shoulder thing – it seems very odd for Polish companies to make wide-set straps if in fact, they don’t even fit anyone! I have mentioned the problem to a few companies I am in good terms with and they have promised to think about it and possibly, change their patterns a bit for the future. I agree about the half-cups – they definitely could be made for a fuller bust HENCE I do think that those sorts of bras would only with firm breast tissue as soft tissue would fall out of the cups. I have a specifically made Samanta half-cup here with me so if you interested to hear about half-cups in our sizes, there will be a review on it here on the 27th of September 🙂 xx

Leave a Reply

CurvyGirlThin

a curvy girl's exploits in the wardrobe

Lucy's Corsetry

A Comprehensive Source for all things Corsets, Waist Training and Tightlacing

comicsgirlsneedbras.wordpress.com/

For the perfect fit and beyond...

The Lingerie Addict - A Lingerie Blog for Everyone

Expert lingerie advice and reviews to help you find the very best lingerie in the world. Covering full bust, luxury, plus size, and more!

Sweet Nothings

Everyone deserves a little sweetness.

Big Cup Little Cup

UK Lingerie Blog

the musings of Renzilla

My thoughts one blog post at a time

The Petite Collegiate

A fit focused love affair with lingerie

Miss Victory Violet

Vintage Fashion, Hair & Beauty and everything in between!

Junebugs and Georgia Peaches: The Adventures of Modern June Cleaver + Amelia Jetson

A blog about lingerie, bra fit and all things D+. A love letter to lace, dresses and pinup lifestyle.

Bras and Body Image

One girl's perspective on boobs, bodies, self-image and society

Kupista asiaa

A blog about lingerie, bra fit and all things D+. A love letter to lace, dresses and pinup lifestyle.

Fuller Figure Fuller Bust

A UK plus size fashion and lingerie blog with a little extra padding.

