Dreaming of a Lost Summer – Review of Tutti Rouge “Betty” in Brighton Rocks Print

29 Sep

Hi darlings! Has the autumn been kind to you? Mine has been hectic to say the least and I am quite frankly exhausted. I have been studying, working, learning how to eat again, fighting for my paycheck, seeing friends and dancing on a stage a few times. Guess what I’m really trying to do here is to tell you why I have been so absent for these past couple of months! I have one more month left of my uni training program at the kids’ mental rehab courses and I have a couple of shows behind me, but I have also completed my first month of eating five times a day with glowing results. I am starting to feel normal about my eating habits and body again, which is a true blessing.

With a little light in the horizon, I would like to bring some light to your lives as well and introduce you to a treat I was recently sent by Tutti Rouge. As you may know, I haven’t had that much luck with the most recent bras I have tried from them but now that it has been a rather long time, I figured it was time for  a second trial lap. Long story short: I fell in love again! If you wanna know the full details, here is a review of the new TR “Betty”.

dsc_0116dsc_0125First of all: apologies for the differences in lighting and colours in these pics. It is getting dark again here in Finland and it is so hard for an amateur to edit the pics from scratch when they are super dark and yellow-y to begin with!

The Design: I was happy to see that the Tutti Team had included the Betty bra in my parcel, as it was the first Tutti Rouge bra I’ve ever tried when they decided to believe me and send me some of my first blog samples. It is always fascinating to see how a core part of a brand’s collection changes over time, as there may be some style and fit tweaks that can change the whole game. The last time I tried Betty was a couple of years back at a Moda when they brought out the turquoise colourway of the original poppy print. That time the Betty bra was still trying to find its best fit and the 32H I still own did not and does not fit that well – it chafed my armpits and added bulk to my figure.

The case is completely different with the Brighton Rocks Betty bra – the shape it gives is very rounded, yet there is just enough coverage for my liking and subtle uplift to make you feel natural about your boobs (ya know, not that boobs-up-your-chin effect, hehe). The construction of the bra has changed from the original three piece pattern to a two-piece construction, with one vertical seam going across the cups in the middle. The padding of the bra is quite thin so this is ACTUALLY, REALLY a padded bra I can wear without the feeling I am suffocating me and everyone else with my boobs. I wear this bra with everything: under my work button-ups, my PUG peasant tops and my Dolores doll dresses. Anything that requires a low-cut balconette bra, and this bra is my biggest ally.

When it comes to the print, you need to scroll down to the panties pic to see it properly. And low and behold, it is a lovely print, isn’t it? I think the best asset of Tutti Rouge has always been their attention to detail and once again, they have nailed it. The small beach chairs and popsicles, maps and envelopes – it is the perfect bra for a wanderlust gal like myself. The print was inspired by the British seashore, the city of Brighton to be exact, and it still reminds me of my dream to go back to UK to explore the beachside towns one day. The print is accompanied by the small details TR is famous for; small cutesy ruffles, bows and the signature heart-shaped strap adjusters.

dsc_0120dsc_0134
The Fit: I wasn’t too hopeful about TR bras fitting me this time either but boy was I wrong, and I am more than happy to admit it. It felt like finding home when I put this bra on and since then, it has stayed on with constant washing as it is now one of my most comfortable, practical bras I own. But more about that later!

The sizing seems to be now pretty on par with other UK mainstream brands such as Curvy Kate and Panache and thus I seem to be between band sizes 30 and 32. I decided to go for a 32GG with both of the bras I received, as I think it’s always safer to go with the bigger size and then tighten it with the hooks and eyes, if it is not snug enough. This saves me the hassle of exchanging my size and paying for shipping costs, so I am happy with my choice. With the Betty, I don’t think I could have gone down to 30 band though, just for comfort reasons and I can still wear the band in the loosest set of hooks comfortably. I have also recently noticed that too tight bands can be a stress factor to my skin which is why I now go more for the 32 band rather than 30.

The cups run similar to other British brands as well and I am perfectly content with my GG-cups. The only minor thing that affects the fit is that the bra is lightly padded meaning that it can’t really conform to my shape per se and thus it does not allow any leeway on my bigger boob. However, this is probably some of the best fits I can get in a similarly shaped padded bra, so I am more than happy with the fit overall. The wires are also a pretty good fit for me – if I were super strict about finding the perfect bra, I would say they are a tad too wide but as I think more of the comfort factor of bras, I would say they needn’t be changed to make this bra better. I think there is also a bit more space and depth in the cups than any previous TR bras I’ve tried, which is an instant upside for me personally.

dsc_0150dsc_0105
Comfort: The level of comfiness with the new Betty is similar to its very original counterpart – everything seems to be spot on with the bra. The bra feels super lightweight even with the padding, and the the inner cups are lined with a divinely thin layer of the softest cotton you can imagine. A heaven for my eczema torn boobies! It also feels like this bra truly breathes and thus I avoid the dreaded boob sweat that is especially very present in summer time. The lace on the edge of the cups is not itchy at all and I can really give this bra an A+ for the comfort factor. The straps are quite thin which can be a downside for some but I personally like the look and feel of them.

The panties unfortunately did not work for me and it makes me super sad. I used to LOVE the short-style knickers that came with the Poppy print Bettys and I am kind of surprised why they haven’t been kept in the range. The new Betty shorts are super cute to say the least but unfortunately the choice of materials is not the best with these – the mesh and the waistband elastic are so rigid, it is almost impossible to sit down and feel comfy. If you do want to get a matching set though, I would recommend going up even two sizes from your regular UK size, as these are a Medium and fit me very tightly. I can put them on but I must say there is no stretch in the back for “junk in the trunk”.

Overall, I would say to probably skip the panties for now BUT do get the bra if you feel like you need a cute practical everyday bra but also something to go under your freetime low-cut tops. The bra is FABULOUS and retails only for £20 on sale at Very.co.uk. The Brighton Rocks print is pretty much sold out everywhere but Tutti Rouge just launched their burlesque performer print of the same Betty style and I hope to be all over it very soon as well, so snatch it up before it sells out this time. The bra goes up to H-cup so the size range is pretty generous as well!

Leave a Reply

CurvyGirlThin

a curvy girl's exploits in the wardrobe

Lucy's Corsetry

A Comprehensive Source for all things Corsets, Waist Training and Tightlacing

comicsgirlsneedbras.wordpress.com/

For the perfect fit and beyond...

The Lingerie Addict - A Lingerie Blog for Everyone

Expert lingerie advice and reviews to help you find the very best lingerie in the world. Covering full bust, luxury, plus size, and more!

Sweet Nothings

Everyone deserves a little sweetness.

Big Cup Little Cup

UK Lingerie Blog

the musings of Renzilla

My thoughts one blog post at a time

The Petite Collegiate

A fit focused love affair with lingerie

Miss Victory Violet

Vintage Fashion, Hair & Beauty and everything in between!

Junebugs and Georgia Peaches: The Adventures of Modern June Cleaver + Amelia Jetson

A blog about lingerie, bra fit and all things D+. A love letter to lace, dresses and pinup lifestyle.

Bras and Body Image

One girl's perspective on boobs, bodies, self-image and society

Kupista asiaa

A blog about lingerie, bra fit and all things D+. A love letter to lace, dresses and pinup lifestyle.

Fuller Figure Fuller Bust

A UK plus size fashion and lingerie blog with a little extra padding.

