Guest post: CLEO Lucy – the work horse of your lingerie wardrobe

22 Jun

Hello gals! This is a guest post by one of my darling readers, Vesta, and I’m proud to present you a bra I have not yet tried on myself: Lucy by Cleo. Hope you enjoy the review! 🙂ImageAfter studying the offerings and blogs, I really liked the way Cleo Lucy fit people, so I decided to get the black one and see how it works out for me before deciding on whether or not to get other colors. I must have somehow missed the fact that it is widely reported to fit small in the cup, and ordered my usual 30G to begin with.

As soon as I saw it, I knew it would be too small – wires too narrow, and the band looked really short. Sure enough, it was a really tight fit. Band was in fact about 2 inches shorter than the 30G Jasmine band, and painfully tight. I was spilling out of the cups on the sides and the top edge of cup was slashing my breast in half. Overall, I felt like a stuffed sausage in this bra and my ribs hurt after just a few minutes of wearing it. I measure 29 inches in the ribcage, usually choose a 30 band, and have never tried one quite that tight before.

Not to be thwarted,  I found a very good deal on the Navy/Pink colourway of this bra (my favourite one), and could not resist getting it in 30GG. After receiving it, I found a peculiar difference in construction and fit between black and navy/pink ones. It could be partially due to the fact that the black one was a G cup and navy was a GG cup, perhaps Cleo construct bras differently in bigger cup sizes. I am going to compare various parts of the bra in each of the sizes/colours that I tried:

Band:

Black 30G – very tight, in fact 2 inches shorter than 30GG in navy/pink. Even though both have two hooks and eyes, the 30GG Navy has a wider band with wider set hooks. However, it is also a stretchier band, and I feel like I could have done with a 28 in this color! Definitely glad I did not order the 32! A 28 band in black would have probably chopped me in half.

Cups: 30GG navy/pink cups appear quite a bit larger than the 30G black ones, I feel like there is more than a cup size difference between the two. The 30GG navy covers a lot more of my breast at the front. Wires may feel wide to some, but they work for my breasts. Wires on the 30G appear quite a bit narrower.

Now, the big difference I noticed between black and navy/pink is in the center gore. Black center gore is considerably wider than the navy center gore. There is maybe 5-6 mm of fabric between the wires in the black version, while the navy version’s wires are separated by about 2-3 mm of fabric. My breasts are not particularly close set, but they are pushed together by the bra and as a result, the center gore in the black version sort of folds in on itself, resulting in the wires overlapping at the top and the gore not sitting  flat against my sternum (though this might also be due to the cup being too small).  In the navy version, the wires are also pushed together, but they merely touch rather than overlap and the gore is flat against my body. Taking in the center gore could be an option, though I am not sure if I am willing to jump through the hoops to fit into this bra. Navy version does not require to be taken in, at least for me.

Straps: Straps are fully and easily adjustable on the go. 30GG straps are 2-3 mm wider that 30G straps. Also, there is an additional soft layer of felt like fabric on the underside of the 30GG straps, intended to ease the burden on the shoulders. While I like the soft layer, I wish they didn’t make the straps wider, but it is my personal peeve  – narrow straps J. Also, the lining definitely will make it harder to adjust the straps should you need to shorten them this much. Strap material is not very stretchy, so I didn’t need to adjust as much as I usually end up having to in other bras.

Fit, look and feel: I really like the way Lucy  makes my breasts look. It makes them look round and uplifted, and I like how the top section of the cup is not just there for mold to my shape, but to do the slight shaping itself. It does make a difference with my soft breast tissue that tends to spill out of cups that are too open on top. Lucy holds me in, stabilizes and prevents jiggle that is usually inevitable if I wear an open top bra.

The fit of the cups is a bit weird. While the top edge of the cup is on the verge of cutting into my tissue, there is definitely some space inside the cup that goes unfilled.  The top section is a tad loose other than at the very edge, though not noticeable when I stand up straight, so it does not necessarily bother me.

So, fit wise, I would say this bra is not a 100% perfect shape for me, but it comes very close.  The clothed look is pretty great in this bra. Overall it is a more compact, closer to the body, somewhat minimizing, uplifted shape.

I do feel that the bra looks rather plain in the basic colors, but I adore the navy/pink colourway. I am curious to try some other colourways now, but I am definitely going with a 28H next time.

 **********

Update a couple of months after the initial review:

Cleo Lucy is the bra that grows on you. I have gone from being merely ok with it to reaching for it every time I get dressed in the morning (and feeling disappointed if I can’t wear it for any reason that day).

It fails to stun as you first get it out of the mail order package. It lacks the finesse, elegance and intricate detail of Marcie and feels a bit flimsy. Flower embroidery is underwhelming/simplistic  in most colorways, with my personal favourite being the navy/pink  (whenever I wear this one, I can’t help stealing looks down my shirt just to catch a glimpse of those pink/purplish dots along the bra’s top edge).

Then you put it on and look in the mirror. Solid colors look a bit crude. The bra underwhelmes me personally when worn on its own. Then you turn a bit sideways and note the superior round shape. I would say, the shape is not just round – it is the slightly pushed up orb like shape that I have not seen from any other bra I have tried.

And then you put some clothes over the Lucy. You look down at your chest and realize that your boobs are brought up closer to your eyes than you have ever seen them before. You look in the mirror and see the apex of your boobs sitting higher than what you are normally used to. There is not a point in sight – perfectly rounded silouette. You try it with tshirts, button shirts – whatever the style of tops you like wearing and you realize that this bra works wonderfully with pretty much anything, making you look slimmer and slightly minimized, yet perky and not at all flattened. When you put on a clingy, thin top, you finally realize that you cannot have everything – embroidery shows through and makes your boobs look kinda pimply/spotty. I normally do not care about a seam or embroidery showing through, but this particular bra has tiny flowers all over the lower portion of the cup and an occasional spectator may decide that you have some suspicious rash going on under there, so I’d probably skip this bra when wearing  thin/clingy fabrics.

At this point, I own Lucy in navy/pink and in pink/white. I have failed to pinpoint my size in this model, as it is not quite consistent across colorways. I still don’t really like the way Lucy looks on me without clothes on, but as an undergarment it is hard to beat.

Sizes I have tried:

Black – 30G – way too small, both in band and cup – sent it back.

Navy/pink – 30GG – works very well, maybe a tiny bit roomy in the cup, but nothing to fret about, band feels loose.

Pink/white – 30GG – works well, feels a touch bigger in the cup than the navy/pink one, bland feels loose, same as the navy/pink

White – 28H – too much extra space in the cup, too much chest coverage, horisontal seam in the cup cuts into the breast and creates an in-cup quadraboob – sent it back

White 28GG – cuts into my tissue at the top, not big enough, so sent it back too.

28 band fits me better, but the H cup that comes with it is just too big for me, even though it is the sister size of 30GG. I wonder if it is due to the slight difference in sister sized cups, or are all white Lucys made slightly bigger?

13 Responses to “Guest post: CLEO Lucy – the work horse of your lingerie wardrobe”

  1. Vesta June 23, 2013 at 3:46 am #

    Thank you for posting, Sophie! I think you really should give Lucy a shot, it is the absolute most comfortable bra I have ever owned.

    • sophie June 26, 2013 at 7:01 pm #

      Thanks for writing it, it’s very thorough and I really like it! 🙂

  2. braberliner June 23, 2013 at 8:33 pm #

    Nice post. My experience with the Lucy is pleasant. If wear it in white and lime and they work perfectly. I heard black one is like from a different world. I hope you may come to terms with Lucy. Autumn nest one will be come in Malibu blue. It’s my seasonal favourite, I hope it will support in a same manner like the navy one.

    • sophie June 26, 2013 at 7:03 pm #

      I think the changes in fit are due to colourants that might shrink the fabric in some cases. That’s why it’s always kinda gamble to re-buy a certain style since it’s not always the same :/

  3. Vesta June 28, 2013 at 3:13 pm #

    Follow-up: I had a chance to try on the black one in 30GG. it fits exactly the same as the navy/pink in 30GG and the band is on the loose side! Go figure… I cannot even say anymore that all black ones are tight. Complete hit or miss with this bra, but if you get it right, you will love it 🙂

    • sophie July 5, 2013 at 7:12 am #

      This is something that probably happens with a lot of brands and bras. Just go and look at the Tutti Rouge “Betty” reviews and you’ll find a ton of inconsistencies with the band 😀 That’s why I hate to buy anything online..

      • Tori October 8, 2013 at 4:01 am #

        Additionally, it seems that a lot of brands do a redesign/modification somewhere in the GG/H cup range.

        (Sorry. Commenting on an old post. I have enough PayPal monies to buy a bra, was searching Lucy, and this post turned up.)

      • sophie October 8, 2013 at 8:58 am #

        No problem, any comment is appreciated 🙂 That is def true and I’m kinda worried about it since I’m already gone up to G-cup..

      • Tori October 8, 2013 at 12:56 pm #

        If it’s any comfort for the Lucy specifically, I have only ever tried it in H+ cups, and I’ve found the fit fairly similar to that described in this post. The support and shaping is still excellent. While the wires may end up being comparably wider than D-G cups, I find that they’re still too narrow for me (a common problem I have) — so at least they do not mutate into ridiculously wide (a la Freya).

  4. Vesta July 4, 2013 at 1:51 pm #

    Another update: my mom also liked Lucy and she got it in 32GG which fit well. However, she wanted a looser band, so I got her a black one in 34G. And the band turned out to be exactly the same as the 32GG band, no bigger. Cups were smaller than the 32GG cups, though still fit her. It almost seems like the black one is differently sized in single letter cups vs double letter cups.

    • sophie July 5, 2013 at 7:34 am #

      Sounds peculiar 😀 Who knows what happened there..

  5. Kawai Anne July 13, 2013 at 11:11 am #

    I love your deep review for Lucy Bra. Right now I have Cleo Bonnie, I will consider Lucy in my next purchase. Thanks again for your informative review 🙂

  6. Rohit Meroxio April 14, 2023 at 7:11 am #

    This is a great post highlighting the versatility of the Cleo Lucy bra. It’s so important to have a reliable “work horse” in your lingerie wardrobe that can provide comfort and support day in and day out. The author does a fantastic job of breaking down the features and benefits of this bra and providing a helpful review. It’s always helpful to hear from someone who has actually tried and tested the product. Thanks for sharing your insights!
    read more about – Cheap Lingerie

Leave a comment

More Burlesque!

MORE BURLESQUE! - Opettaminen, esiintyminen ja tuotantopalvelut

Mette Sofia - Makeup & Hair artistry

- for the beauty, the drag and the art ever-fab

CurvyGirlThin

a curvy girl's exploits in the wardrobe

Lucy's Corsetry

A Comprehensive Resource for all things Corsets, Waist Training and Tightlacing

comicsgirlsneedbras.wordpress.com/

For the perfect fit and beyond...

The Lingerie Addict - Everything To Know About Lingerie

Founded in 2008, The Lingerie Addict offers expert advice, reviews, and recommendations on intimate apparel for all bodies, genders, budgets, and sexualities.

Sweet Nothings

Everyone deserves a little sweetness.

Big Cup Little Cup

UK Lingerie Blog

the musings of Renzilla

My thoughts one blog post at a time

Junebugs and Georgia Peaches: The Adventures of Modern June Cleaver + Amelia Jetson

A blog about lingerie, bra fit and all things D+. A love letter to lace, dresses and pinup lifestyle.

Bras and Body Image

One girl's perspective on boobs, bodies, self-image and society

Kupista asiaa

A blog about lingerie, bra fit and all things D+. A love letter to lace, dresses and pinup lifestyle.