THE strapless bra by Debenhams

17 Jun

Hello, I’m back to business and ready to review again. As I promised you, I have three bras to review since my trip to Dublin. As you all may know Dublin and Ireland in general have a great selection of British clothing chains and department stores which are known to be great for gals with fuller bust. You can simply compare three worldwide chains: H&M, Forever 21 and Oasis. First one is Swedish which mean practically no boob room. Second one, American: no boob room whatsoever. Third one: British heaven on boobs. I could literally move to Britain or Ireland just for their fashion industry. But yeah, more about that later since I bought a LOT of clothes that need to be introduced to you.

I already knew that stores like Debenhams and M&S would carry my bra size even though they don’t carry 28 backs. That was quite ok cause I learned that for me their 30 backs were just fine, depending on the style of bra of course. I opted for two bras at Debenhams: one push-up that had a fun print on it and one pretty basic strapless. Both were by their own label (called Gorgeous) so I was curious to see how they differed from my beloved Freyas, CKs and Cleos. 

Design: I actually hated the idea of a plain boring NUDE strapless so when I saw this bra hanging on the wall I was like “HALLELUJAH GOD HAS HEARD MY PRAISES!” After considering the black colour for a while I decided to go for it since I hardly ever wear anything pastel coloured or white. I also adored the beautiful lace on the bottom half of the bra which makes it look super-luxe. 

The shape of the bra looked also great, very rounded but not like two big balloons. I usually tend to get a kind of droopy or a downwards pointed look from strapless bras so I was in heaven when I tried it on and it looked amazing under clothes. The bra comes with two straps so it’s really versatile and can be worn as a regular bra also. ImageImageImage

Fit: This bra is a 30FF which is my regular size so I can tell you that Debenhams bras are pretty consistent on sizing (I tried on a bunch of bras so it was proved). One thing I noticed though is that this bra’s band was a little tighter than usual but I think it’s due to the fact it is a strapless and CANNOT move around. It had also those small silicon strips on top and on bottom of the bra to prevent it from sliding down. 

I have worn this bra twice now and both times it did not move around during the day. The band is very sturdy, almost like a 28 back. The foam of the bra was quite thick so that must be considered when buying a bra for a certain outfit/dress since not all dresses can handle this much foam. It actually adds a bit of volume to my own breasts which I don’t personally mind but someone might, so be warned. 

To me the thickness of the material was actually a plus since my boobs tend to lack fullness on their bottom half and that is what usually causes some folding of the cup. In my case it’s not too narrow wires that cause the orange-in-a-glass effect, it’s just that I can’t usually fill the bottom part of molded cups. This bra’s material was so stiff and the shape was so good that I didn’t experience any folding whatsoever and was really pleased the way the bra looked on me even in the end of a day.

ImageImage

 

Comfort: I must say this bra is comfortable enough but it could have a bit narrower wires. As I removed the bra I noticed some red marks about 1 cm away from my breast tissue which was a bit sad but not enough to part me from this beauty. The wires also come up quite high so I suffered from poking on my ribs. It’s not that bad though so I probably try to bend the wires a bit and see what happens. 

Apart from the tricky wires this bra is pretty comfortable for a strapless one. I didn’t have to adjust it at all during the day since it did not move around or slide down. The silicon strips were quite invisible as well and did not cause any itching or rubbing. 

For a 37 e bra this black beauty was great value for money and is so far the best and the prettiest strapless I’ve ever tried on.

 

4 Responses to “THE strapless bra by Debenhams”

  1. Jill June 17, 2013 at 5:21 pm #

    Thank you so much for the tip about Oasis. I’ve never heard of it, and being from the US, I constantly struggle to find things that fit me in the bust area, and I’m so excited to try it!

    Non-bosom-related question: I’ve noticed (with their US site at least) that they don’t carry half sizes (I’m a true 7.5). Their shoes are so cute and I’d love to get some. Have you noticed whether they tend to run large or small or anything?

    Thanks again for everything. US fashion, especially with bras, is kind of a mess, and your site is so helpful!

    • sophie June 20, 2013 at 10:50 am #

      It’s awful how US clothes are constructed! Everyone should be super-tall with similar proportions and have zero tits or bum.

      When it comes to the shoe issue I’m really not sure since I’ve never tried their shoes yet. As a 6,5 myself I usually go up half a shoe size with British brands since their sizes are a bit smaller compared to eg Swedish ones. Not sure about the Oasis sizing system though but I would probably order an 8 if I were you 🙂

  2. Vesta June 18, 2013 at 2:13 pm #

    The uplift of that bra is truly astounding, I didn’t even know strapless could look that good. it looks amazing on you.

    • sophie June 20, 2013 at 10:45 am #

      Isn’t it! I’m so happy that I found a gem like this 🙂

Leave a Reply

CurvyGirlThin

a curvy girl's exploits in the wardrobe

Lucy's Corsetry

A Comprehensive Source for all things Corsets, Waist Training and Tightlacing

comicsgirlsneedbras.wordpress.com/

For the perfect fit and beyond...

The Lingerie Addict - A Lingerie Blog for Everyone

Expert lingerie advice and reviews to help you find the very best lingerie in the world. Covering full bust, luxury, plus size, and more!

Sweet Nothings

Everyone deserves a little sweetness.

Big Cup Little Cup

UK Lingerie Blog

the musings of Renzilla

My thoughts one blog post at a time

The Petite Collegiate

A fit focused love affair with lingerie

Miss Victory Violet

Vintage Fashion, Hair & Beauty and everything in between!

Junebugs and Georgia Peaches: The Adventures of Modern June Cleaver + Amelia Jetson

A blog about lingerie, bra fit and all things D+. A love letter to lace, dresses and pinup lifestyle.

Bras and Body Image

One girl's perspective on boobs, bodies, self-image and society

Kupista asiaa

A blog about lingerie, bra fit and all things D+. A love letter to lace, dresses and pinup lifestyle.

Fuller Figure Fuller Bust

A UK plus size fashion and lingerie blog with a little extra padding.

