Lingerie Review: Ava “Ines” in 70I

24 Apr

Ava is one of those brands, which I quite rarely review but every time I do, their bras pretty much fit me like a glove. Their availability is not as good as with some other Polish brands such as Kris Line or Ewa Michalak but I am fortunate to live in the same city where the Lumingerie lingerie online store is based – so I have access to many Polish brands that are carried nowhere else in Finland! I popped in at the Lumingerie storage to say hi to the lovely owners, and Mervi decided to put together a bag of goodies for me, the sweetheart she is. This particular set has been very much on demand, so if you see your size on the web store, grab it while you can (psst, they also offer free delivery within EU)!

DSC_0306DSC_0320

The Design: The Ines is a non-padded balconette style which reminds me a lot of Panache and Cleo bras – in fact, it’s something that Panache and Cleo would create if they made a love child together. What I mean by this, is that the shape of the bra is beautifully rounded as with most Cleo signature balconettes but the construction is a bit more elaborate to offer a tiny bit more support, especially around outer breast area. The cut of the bra is called “Side Support Bra” at the website but it is still not too full-coverage which is something you would typically expect from a Panache bra.

The style of the Ines set is quite young and hip yet sexy – the leopard is still very much on trend and the black/raspberry colour combo keeps it sassy. The stretchier lace upper panel compliments the bra beautifully and brings together the four-piece cup construction.

DSC_0333DSC_0345

The Fit: When buying Ava bras, you need to remember that their cups run on the bigger side. I would actually go as far as saying they run exactly one cup size big, as my usual European bra size is 70J and this bra fits me very well in 70I. The cups are still very spacious and could perhaps even endure some period size fluctuation. The band is firm in 70 and is rather something between UK 30 and 32 than a solid 32. To be frank, the Ava 70 band is a perfect fit for me: I am exactly between 30 and 32 with Panache and the Ava 32 (70) band is just snug enough to feel comfortable yet sturdy on my body.

The cups of the Ines are quite deep as you would expect from a Polish bra. However, the underwires are not particularly narrow, which is something you need to consider if you like your wires are narrow as eg with the likes of Ewa Michalak. I would say The Ava wires are quite close to Samanta and Ewa Bien wires, which is a rather good width for me personally.

DSC_0003

Comfort: The way I see it, there are two ways to judge if a bra is comfortable enough for everyday wear: A) after the “breaking-in period” (the few times when you wear the bra for a first time and then wash it) it shouldn’t “feel” too much while wearing it, and B) it stays put when you are active. The Ines ticks both of the boxes, especially the latter! Don’t get me wrong – you will totally feel it when you wear it for the first few times and the centre gore especially tacks my sternum very firmly. However, the bra does “loosen up” a bit after a few wears and thus becomes more comfy over time. The sturdiness is still there though – this bra lifts heavy! It stays and feels supportive no matter what, which is a sign of a well-thought-out full-bust bra.

The Ines hooks at the back with three hooks and eyes in the bigger sizes and features fully adjustable straps which is always a great feature regarding comfort. This means the bra can be adjusted no matter the shape or the size of a person wearing it. It also comes quite high on my armpits but as the materials are not scratchy, I actually enjoy it as it means my breast tissues near the armpit area is fully encased.

The Ines bra comes with two different types of panties – regular short-style knickers and a thong. Obviously, I went for the shorts, as I like my panties to cover a bit more and feel comfy no matter what. My only issue with the knickers is that they are cut quite small – I thought I would be fine with size Medium as my size hasn’t changed for the bigger in many months but it appears, that Ava does run very small with their knickers. Sure, I can wear the Mediums but I wonder if the Large would have been a more flattering look. That thought in itself feels peculiar to me as I usually still wear Small-Medium with all other brands!

As mentioned in the beginning of the post, this set is flying off the shelves, so if you want to get your mittens on it, don’t wait! You can find the English website for Lumingerie here. The Ines bra (65-105 D-L) costs an affordable 39€ and the cute panties (S-XXXL) 19€.

Suomeksi: Heippa kaikille! Pitkästä aikaa laitan tulemaan myös suomennosta postaukseen, koska tämän postauksen tuotteet on sponssannut ihana kotimainen alusvaateverkkokauppa Lumingerie. Lumingerien varastohan sijaitsee täällä meikäneidin kotikaupungissa Oulussa, joten välillä piipahdan siellä ihan vain kahvittelemassa ja ihailemassa sesongin uutuksia. Tälläkään kertaa en lähtenyt kotiin tyhjin käsiin, vaan mukaan tarttui Avan ihanan pinkki leopardi-kuosinen “Ines” setti, jonka Lumingerie lahjoitti minulle arvostelua varten. 

Ava onkin minulle jo tuttu niiltä ajoilta, kun olin viimeksi kesätöissä Lumingeriella ja muistelin heidän mitoituksensa olevan hieman reilumpaa kuppien suhteen. Muistini ei pettänyt minua vaan niinpä koon 70J sijasta mukaan lähtikin 70I, joka vastaa brittien koissa n. 32G:tä. Puolalaiset merkit ovatkin tunnettuja hieman syvemmistä kupeistaan mutta myös tiukemmista ympäryksistään, joten vaikka moni brittimerkki istuu minulle myös koossa 30H (65H), niin tämä kaunokainen on aivan riittävän tukeva jo 70-ympäryksessä. Ympärysnauha on myös ihanan leveä, joten se tukee hyvin aivan arkikäytössä.

Alushousuja tähän settiin löytyy kahta mallia: stringiä ja tavallista boy short-mallia. Meikäläisen mantra on “Mitä mummompi, sen parempi”, mitä alkkareihin tulee, joten tiedätte varmaan kummat mulla lähti matkaan. Näissä kannattaa myös kiinnittää huomiota kokolappuun: puolalaisten pikkarikoot on aikas niukkoja, joten suosittelen ottamaan ainakin koon isommat tämän merkin kohdalla. Mun kooksi valikoitui M, mutta veikkaan että L:kään ei olisi ollut hassumpi. 

Tätä settiä ei ole enää montaa jäljellä, joten jos hyvinistuva, kaunis ja vieläpä edullinen alusvaatesetti kiinnostaa, nyt kannattaa katsoa vieläkö omaa kokoasi olisi jäljellä. Rintsikat löydät (koot 65-105 D-L) täältä ja alushousut (S-XXXL) puolestaan täältä. Lumingeriella postikulut, vaihdot ja palautukset on ilmaisia, joten jos merkki ei ole vielä tuttu, voi liivejä tilata vaikka parissa eri koossa ja laittaa vääränkokoiset takaisin!

3 Responses to “Lingerie Review: Ava “Ines” in 70I”

  1. Peaches and Screams Sexy Lingerie May 3, 2017 at 4:14 am #

    You look lovely in red and black. I love the plain and printed design of this pair.

  2. Sowmya May 3, 2017 at 12:22 pm #

    Hi,
    It is glorious… Looks superb on you. Thank you for introducing yet another wonderful bra for busty ladies…

  3. Sowmya June 13, 2017 at 8:24 am #

    Dear Sophie,
    It is absolutely gorgeous! I want such side support with tall sides under the arms.
    I wear 30gg in panache floris, which size should I choose in ava Ines?

    Thank you

Leave a comment

More Burlesque!

MORE BURLESQUE! - Opettaminen, esiintyminen ja tuotantopalvelut

Mette Sofia - Makeup & Hair artistry

- for the beauty, the drag and the art ever-fab

CurvyGirlThin

a curvy girl's exploits in the wardrobe

Lucy's Corsetry

A Comprehensive Resource for all things Corsets, Waist Training and Tightlacing

comicsgirlsneedbras.wordpress.com/

For the perfect fit and beyond...

The Lingerie Addict - Everything To Know About Lingerie

Founded in 2008, The Lingerie Addict offers expert advice, reviews, and recommendations on intimate apparel for all bodies, genders, budgets, and sexualities.

Sweet Nothings

Everyone deserves a little sweetness.

Big Cup Little Cup

UK Lingerie Blog

the musings of Renzilla

My thoughts one blog post at a time

Junebugs and Georgia Peaches: The Adventures of Modern June Cleaver + Amelia Jetson

A blog about lingerie, bra fit and all things D+. A love letter to lace, dresses and pinup lifestyle.

Bras and Body Image

One girl's perspective on boobs, bodies, self-image and society

Kupista asiaa

A blog about lingerie, bra fit and all things D+. A love letter to lace, dresses and pinup lifestyle.