2COP’s X-Mas Picks – Five Curve-Friendly Pinup-Style Party Dresses for Christmas

1 Dec

Y’all, it’s December already! How in the earth did the year pass along again? Well, anyhow, what is for sure that now that many of you have recovered from Thanksgiving meals, it’s time to slip into those lovely glittery frocks again and rock those curves you’ve got. I wanted to put up a list of my own personal favourites that look curve-friendly enough to flatter your boobs and butts and look sophisticated at the same time. So here’s my list of pinup-style curve-appropriate Christmas dresses for different types of occasions!

For a night out with friends…

voodoo-vixen-connie-dress-3
Most of us probably agree that it is not the same dress you wear to all your Christmas parties (cause let’s face it, of course you’re gonna be attending many 😉 ). This quirky number by Voodoo Vixen is the perfect option for a night out with your girlfriends: it’s fun, it’s bright red and looks still laid-back enough for a night at a pub or a bar. The Connie dress (£49) is also a practical choice for later wear – it can be dressed up or down whether you want it to be more festive or everyday-appropriate. Pair it with glittery pumps and some red lipgloss and you have the ultimate girls-night-out outfit!

For a Family Dinner…

ophelia-vintage-1950s-red-prom-swing-dress-p185-2754_image
We have a little tradition with my family to get together on Christmas Eve, eat amazing food together and unwrap the gifts while eating chocolate and watching children’s movies. It might be a no-brainer to some but my parents are divorced and I always admire their ability to still get together for a Christmas meal even though they sometimes want to chop each other’s heads off. Even though the evening usually proceeds to pajamas and no makeup, me and my sister usually start off the day with some nice dresses. I picked this lovely “Ophelia” dress (£34,99) by Lindy Bop as my choice for the Xmas mealtime as it’s practical cotton material but still manages to look festive. I actually own the dress in another shade of red and it’s great for anyone with a fuller bust! I would pair it with some chunky cream-toned wool tights and a matching hair scarf tied to a lovely bow.

For a party with the co-workers…

pc-ava-gn_01_2
This dress is like straight out of Mad Men! The office Christmas party requires something sexy but not too sexy – it’s important to show that you have power and feel confident about yourself but if you get too ranchy, it might tell your boss you’re not being professional. I would go for something a with figure-enhancing shape like this “Ava” dress ($114) by Pinup Couture. The colour is excellent if you don’t want to be too flashy with red. The shape of the dress flatters your curves but doesn’t reveal too much while being knee-length and sporting little sleeves to cover up your shoulders. I would pair Ava with some silvery or black pumps and a statement cuff.

For a date night out…

Penny Velvet Pencil Dress Green FrontW
You know those times when you head out to with your boo for drinks, just for fun? Well, as it’s Christmas, you might as well spice up you date attire a bit. I would go for something formfitting and sexy, such as this “Penny” dress (£55) by Collectif. I am actually planning on getting this for myself as my boyfriend is crazy about wiggle dresses and well, I do want it myself as well. (Thank Georgina for that!) I would pair this gorgeous piece with some hair flowers and Minna Parikka “Cornelia” shoes. (Check them out, they’re lovely!)

For a dinner with your In-Laws…

dovima-gatlin-gal-black-red-rose-swing-dress-10
There’s two types of In-Laws – the ones that drive you crazy and the ones you love almost like your own family. Mine belong luckily to the latter category so basically anything I wear is an object of adoration especially for my Mother-In-Law. I would still wear something quite formal and pretty for a dinner out in the town as I want to give them the best impression of me. However, if your In-Laws are a bit “Meh” I would avoid anything too flashy that might raise eyebrows. This Dovima “Gatlin Gal” dress (£145) is classic and bold at the same time and flatters a curvy hourglass figure without being too revealing. I would pair with some red pleather high-heels, like this.

So these were my picks for the Holiday Season! What would you wear for a Christmas party and what did you think my wishlist? Let me know in comments! xx

Leave a comment

More Burlesque!

MORE BURLESQUE! - Opettaminen, esiintyminen ja tuotantopalvelut

Mette Sofia - Makeup & Hair artistry

- for the beauty, the drag and the art ever-fab

CurvyGirlThin

a curvy girl's exploits in the wardrobe

Lucy's Corsetry

A Comprehensive Resource for all things Corsets, Waist Training and Tightlacing

comicsgirlsneedbras.wordpress.com/

For the perfect fit and beyond...

The Lingerie Addict - Everything To Know About Lingerie

Founded in 2008, The Lingerie Addict offers expert advice, reviews, and recommendations on intimate apparel for all bodies, genders, budgets, and sexualities.

Sweet Nothings

Everyone deserves a little sweetness.

Big Cup Little Cup

UK Lingerie Blog

the musings of Renzilla

My thoughts one blog post at a time

Junebugs and Georgia Peaches: The Adventures of Modern June Cleaver + Amelia Jetson

A blog about lingerie, bra fit and all things D+. A love letter to lace, dresses and pinup lifestyle.

Bras and Body Image

One girl's perspective on boobs, bodies, self-image and society

Kupista asiaa

A blog about lingerie, bra fit and all things D+. A love letter to lace, dresses and pinup lifestyle.