Ewa Bien Size Comparison and Review: Fago B111 and Suria B111

12 Mar

When it comes to new brands I try it’s always a bit of hit and miss with the sizing. Even with a decent size chart you never know what’s the brands policy on eg. band sizing. Most Polish brands appreciate a really comfortable fit which means a girl who’s used to tight UK bands can be left with band that feels way too loose for her preferences. My hard and fast rule has been to size down a band size from the recommended size by the brand and it has so far worked well. As I measure 75 cm under my bust, most brands would put me in the 75/34 category but I prefer a 65-70 bands and could never feel comfortable in a 75 band. This is why I decided to try a couple of sizes from Ewa Bien in the same bra model so I could compare the fit and tell you what I think about it. Let me introduce you to Suria and Fago in model B111! (These bras were gifted for me for review purposes, all opinions are my own.)

DSC_0071 DSC_0073 DSC_0088
I tried sizes 65K and 70J (which are sister sizes) in the Ewa Bien B111 model. The model is a low-coverage balconette with a three-piece cup construction and VERY see-through cups (a massive YAY for me, I am all for no double lining!). The shape this model gives me also very Polish: uplifted, quite rounded in-your-face kinda boobs, if you know what I mean. The black Fago is in size 65K and the band feels definitely a bit snugger than the Fago B150 I tried in 70J. However, the difference isn’t that big so I actually feel I can comfortably wear them both without any discomfort.

Oddly enough, both of the B111 models feel exactly the same on me nevermind the size difference. I suspect this is due to the fabric choices of the different styles – the Suria’s materials are a lot less stretchy than with Fago which leads both the bra band and the knickers run a bit on the smaller side. I would advice to take this into account when opting for you Suria size as the band feels exactly as tight as the 65 with Fago! Also do take this into account when opting for your knicker size with Suria – the materials are truly quite rigid so size up a whole knicker size with this style!

DSC_0115 DSC_0119 DSC_0130 DSC_0144
When it comes to fit, I need to disclose one thing: as you can see, I haven’t quite pulled up the Suria to where it should be and this causes the bottom of the cups to look a bit off. However, I assure you the fit is exactly as good as with Fago and the model seems consistently constructed with both bras. All in all, I am in love with how this style fits me! The lower coverage option is always good to have even when you are a lady with a large bust – it just makes some clothing choices so much easier and makes you feel a lot sexier than in a full-cup bra. As you can see, the uplift and fit still look great – it’s a total misconception that full-bust women NEED a lot of fabric in their bras. BUUUULL-SHIIIT, I say. You CAN make beautiful bras with less fabric and still keep the girls supported (and just a side note – these bras are beautiful as heck, right up my street!).

As you can see, the straps are detachable which is one feature I am quite baffled with. It doesn’t really bother me or affect he fit anyway. I recall that the other strap has come undone twice now that I have worn these bras several times, so not too bad (and the occasions were the kind of situations when I had run or done something extra active). So to be honest, I don’t really have an opinion on the straps – if you do and have tried these kind of bras, please let me know your thoughts in the comments.

All in all the bra is quite comfy, though as with the Fago B150, the wires are a bit on the wider side for me. This doesn’t really bother me that much as the cups still seem deep enough and the fit stays superb (when the bra is pulled high enough though!). I am very pleased with every aspect of Ewa Bien lingerie – especially with the aesthetics that really speak to the princess in me. I just wish Ewa Bien will start making their fashion styles up to J-K, as I really feel like these shapes work well for us full-busted gals as well. If you want to read about the brand and the ordering process more, do check out my Fago B150 review here.

Suomeksi: Viimeksi esittelin teille yleisesti merkkiä nimeltä Ewa Bien ja arvostelin heidän Fago B150-mallinsa. Tällä kertaa tarkoituksena olisi pureutua B111 malliin ja vertailla hieman kahta eri kokoa – kaikkihan me tiedetään kuinka vaikeaa varsinkin kahden ympärymitan väliltä on valita (vai olenko yksin tämän ongelman kanssa?). Sain siis testattavakseni Ewa Bienin Surian ja Fagon heidän B111 toppaamattomassa balconette mallissaan. Itseeni kyseinen malli vetoaa erityisesti ulkonäön puolesta, se on ihanan tukeva malli kuitenkin läpinäkyvillä ja “matalilla” kupeilla – voisipa mallia jopa kutsua half-cupiksi.

Musta Fago on koossa 65K ja sininen Suria koossa 70J. Halusin kokeilla näitä sisarkokoja siksi, että saisin selville kumpi ympäryskoko olisi parempi – itse kun olen yleensä kahden eri koon väliltä. Näissä kahdessa mallissa oli kuitenkin erona eri materiaalit, jotka vaikuttivat myös kokoihin. Mustan Fagon ympärys on periaatteessa  pienempi kuin Surian, mutta käytännössä liivien koko tuntuu samalta. Ai miksikö? Koska materiaaleilla on vaikutusta siihen kuinka hyvin liivit “antavat periksi”, voi 65 ja 70 ympäryksen välillä olla hyvinkin pieni ero. Surian materiaalit ovat paljon “tiiviimmät” eivätkä anna periksi yhtä paljon venyttäessä kuin Fagon. Kannattaa ottaa tämä huomioon ja ehdottomasti ottaa se isompi koko Surian kanssa sekä ympärysmitassa että alushousuissa! Itse valitsin alkkareista koon M ja se vastasi aika tarkasti meidän suomalaisten kokoa S.

Kaiken kaikkiaan olen todella tyytyväinen Ewa Bienin alusvaatteisiin ja toivonkin, että merkki tekisi tulevaisuudessa myös isompia kokoja heidän “fashion”-malleistaan. Mielestäni molemmat B150 ja B111 mallit sopivat oikein hyvin myös isommille rinnoille ilman minkäänlaisia ongelmia istuvuuden tai tuen kanssa. Jos haluat lukea lisää Ewa Bienistä ja miten heiltä voi tilata, kannattaa tsekata tämä postaus aiheesta 😉 

5 Responses to “Ewa Bien Size Comparison and Review: Fago B111 and Suria B111”

  1. WideCurves March 12, 2015 at 5:35 pm #

    Oh my goodness, now *those*…I want. I am officially jealous.

    Absolutely gorgeous.

    • Sophie March 12, 2015 at 5:42 pm #

      Yap, gorgeous AF. More of these please!

  2. Florence March 25, 2015 at 3:16 pm #

    Were the bands true to size for 30s? I tried one Ewa Bien bra from Bratabase and it stretched to 31-32″ in a 30 band so I had to resell it. It was gorgeous, so that really upset me :(. The style was older though, so perhaps they have fixed this?

  3. Allegra L. July 10, 2015 at 9:43 pm #

    I hate that they don’t have bigger cup sizes. I love unlined bras the most. But I would need a 75K or 80J. 😥

    • Sophie July 13, 2015 at 3:51 pm #

      Me too, I think their styles are so lovely, I just wish they would make even some fashion styles up to K :/

Leave a Reply

Mette Sofia - Makeup & Hair artistry

- for the beauty, the drag and the art ever-fab

CurvyGirlThin

a curvy girl's exploits in the wardrobe

Lucy's Corsetry

A Comprehensive Source for all things Corsets, Waist Training and Tightlacing

comicsgirlsneedbras.wordpress.com/

For the perfect fit and beyond...

The Lingerie Addict - A Lingerie Blog for Everyone

Expert lingerie advice and reviews to help you find the very best lingerie in the world. Covering full bust, luxury, plus size, and more!

Sweet Nothings

Everyone deserves a little sweetness.

Big Cup Little Cup

UK Lingerie Blog

the musings of Renzilla

My thoughts one blog post at a time

The Petite Collegiate

A fit focused love affair with lingerie

Miss Victory Violet

Vintage Fashion, Hair & Beauty and everything in between!

Junebugs and Georgia Peaches: The Adventures of Modern June Cleaver + Amelia Jetson

A blog about lingerie, bra fit and all things D+. A love letter to lace, dresses and pinup lifestyle.

Bras and Body Image

One girl's perspective on boobs, bodies, self-image and society

Kupista asiaa

A blog about lingerie, bra fit and all things D+. A love letter to lace, dresses and pinup lifestyle.

Fuller Figure Fuller Bust

A UK plus size fashion and lingerie blog with a little extra padding.

