Lingerie adventures in London part I: Fraulein Annie Lingerie

4 May

Hiya lovelies and thank God it’s Sunday! I have started with a new job this week which is super fun, lingerie-related but also requires a lot of hours in a bus and standing on my feet. So no wonder I slept almost 12 hours last night. I have started to miss blogging more frequently so this month I’ll be having a goal of writing at least two posts a week. Literally, I have to since my review pile is getting pretty big and I don’t wanna be all late with them! Also I still have so many awesome things planned for you guys and I hope to have them black and white this month. So fingers crossed!

Today I wanna tell you about a little trip I made to London about couple of months ago where I met two amazing ladies – Eva from All Undone Lingerie and Frauke from Fraulein Annie. They were both so lovely and I learned a lot about making bras, indie brand marketing and also the difficulties of producing and selling bras. This was all very interesting and today I want to share the best bits with you.

ImageImage
First I met up with Frauke at a lovely small restaurant called The Secret Tea Room. The place was like from my dreams – charming old furniture with a delicious menu and amazingly pretty waitresses. We decided to go for a tomato and mozzarella pie which turned out to be great. The whole place is completely vegetarian which scared me a bit as a devoted meat-eater but the food was so good I actually started thinking I could try out some more veggies in my own diet.

In addition to the food I absolutely adored Frauke. As a Finn my journey with English and American people hadn’t been too uncomplicated which meant me being very at ease with a fellow Europian (Frauke is originally from Germany but now lives in London and travels a lot to China as well). I have a general feeling that us Finns and German people do get along really well so the afternoon was definitely a blast, a laid back moment of excellent lunch and fun company. 

When it comes to lingerie Frauke definitely knows her stuff and is very passionate about the industry. She talked a lot about the quality and the accessibility of her lingerie and also the question of supply and demand. Lingerie industry is not the most easiest to break into, to say the least. 

ImageImage
Fraulein Annie Lingerie seems like something pretty special – the kind of thing you put on a special date or even your wedding day. It’s classic and beautiful and speaks to a variety of age groups and tastes. Also the tag luxury has been attached to Fraulein Annie in so many cases. But what does the designer herself think about this? She would respectfully like to disagree.

Fraulein Annie is first foremost designed for every woman. Beautiful lingerie should be a necessity – not a luxury. Frauke and I talked a lot about the luxury tag and the price point of quality lingerie which raised a lot of problems when it comes to smaller indie brands. FA’s price point is a little higher than your average Panache but many of us have no idea what is put behind it. There are years of working with the patterns, re-doing the models and trying to find the right fit. The fit does not come out of thin air; it’s lovingly crafted over years (full-bust bra can take up to two years to get ready for the market!) to make the best bra for all women out there. This is the philosophy behind Fraulein Annie – quality lingerie should be something for everyone to enjoy without compromising the fit or comfort.

ImageImage
I cannot bear to tell you that I don’t have anything new to show you from FA’s collection but I do have something to tell you! Fraulein Annie is a brand that doesn’t follow the traditional industry seasons but tries to put together a timeless collection which is now and then revised with new equally classic pieces. I was eager to ask Frauke to tell me about the new lines she has come up with and boy there is some pretty exciting things on our way.

First of all there is a new line called “Sei Lieb Zu Mir” which features amazing embroidery and also a new bridal range up F-cup. I have seen pictures of both and promise to post them here when I have my hands on them! At this point you just need to trust me on them being absolutely breathtaking. There is also other winds of change blowing when it comes to Fraulein Annie – there is a very possible chance of their size range getting bigger sometime in the future. This however happens most likely first to the smaller end of the size spectrum including AA-cups. The first smaller sized unpadded cups are in a design process now but also the other end of size spectrum is taken into consideration – as growing bigger Frauke has planned to possibly include HH-cups someday which is great news for us full-busted gals. 

This was it for today but as I told you also met up with the lovely Eva from All Undone and will share my discussions with her some day soon! Have a lovely weekend and hope life is giving sunshine to you all 🙂 xx

Leave a Reply

CurvyGirlThin

a curvy girl's exploits in the wardrobe

Lucy's Corsetry

A Comprehensive Source for all things Corsets, Waist Training and Tightlacing

comicsgirlsneedbras.wordpress.com/

For the perfect fit and beyond...

The Lingerie Addict - A Lingerie Blog for Everyone

Expert lingerie advice and reviews to help you find the very best lingerie in the world. Covering full bust, luxury, plus size, and more!

Sweet Nothings

Everyone deserves a little sweetness.

Big Cup Little Cup

UK Lingerie Blog

the musings of Renzilla

My thoughts one blog post at a time

The Petite Collegiate

A fit focused love affair with lingerie

Miss Victory Violet

Vintage Fashion, Hair & Beauty and everything in between!

Junebugs and Georgia Peaches: The Adventures of Modern June Cleaver + Amelia Jetson

A blog about lingerie, bra fit and all things D+. A love letter to lace, dresses and pinup lifestyle.

Bras and Body Image

One girl's perspective on boobs, bodies, self-image and society

Kupista asiaa

A blog about lingerie, bra fit and all things D+. A love letter to lace, dresses and pinup lifestyle.

Fuller Figure Fuller Bust

A UK plus size fashion and lingerie blog with a little extra padding.

