Dear Father, I have sinned: Confessions on going braless

28 Nov

ImageImageImageImageImage

When it comes to holidays and celebrations in general I have a VERY bad habbit I’m about to confess you right here, right now: I sometimes wear a dress too tight when it comes to my boobs. And that my dear friends means I can’t even stuff a bra between the dress and myself. I know, it is absolutely horrible and gets worse each time my boobs grow a bit.

This season is always a tricky one for me; lots of parties to attend to but also a loads of food to get stuck directly on my chest. No, they don’t go to butt, nor my thighs. Straight to my boobs, and I know many people would enjoy that. The thing is as a student my dress funds are limited and I often turn to old goodies; those that were bought about three cup sizes ago. This leads to very tricky situations when getting the dress on but also to enormous cleavage (as seen above) and eyes popping out of my friends’ heads (note that they are mostly girls). 

So I’m definitely not a perfect example of dressing my boobs appropriately, not at all. I just read a wonderful piece by By Baby’s Rules on how we as lingerie and bra fit bloggers never claimed to perfect. That particular post got me thinking about me as a blogger, my faults and mistakes that I make and how some of our readers are very eager to pinpoint “false” bra fitting or ill-fitting clothes/bras in our posts. I’m speaking of “us” as a group since I know so many other bloggers who have experienced the same.

So now that I have come out of closet with my bralessness I want to add WHY I sometimes compromise on fit. If you, my dear reader, are a big busted gal as well you might know the reasons but as I know that there are many more average-sized/moderately proportioned girls as well reading, I need to emphasize the reasons I sometimes choose to wear eg dresses that are way too small for me in the bust area. 

Well, I happen to be generally a size 8-10 in British sizes (4-6 in US) which means I have pretty slim waist and quite a flat butt. Add zero hips to that and you can’t make me wear anything above size 10. BECAUSE I want to look fit, I want to look my size. I do not want to hide my waist and small butt under baggy clothes just because I happen to own a pair of proportionally big boobs compared to rest of my body. Well, you might suggest labels like Pepperberry etc but I have to admit it, they don’t do much for me and my style. I need to wear clothes that scream my name to be happy and this is why I often go for brands that are not designed for full busts.

It is very vain and superficial to wear clothes or bras just for their appearance but we big busted gals have a RIGHT to wear pretty stuff as well. Luckily there are so many labels out there making cups up to K cup etc but sometimes you just need to have something that’s a little bit off. Just for the look of it. We have a right to compromise BUT that does not mean I will promote not wearing a bra even if I do it from to time to time. I truly believe wearing a bra most of the time is crucial to your health but when I choose to just look pretty and cleavage-y I prefer not to get snark for it.

2 Responses to “Dear Father, I have sinned: Confessions on going braless”

  1. Vesta December 20, 2013 at 5:48 pm #

    WOw, I have never been able to achieve such an eye popping cleavage just by going braless! You look like you stuffed yourself in a corset rather than no support at all! 🙂 I have a dress that it that small – no bra fits, and because of the tightness, i can kinda sorta go braless and look good in it, but it mostly just squishes my chest and flatens it, rather than push it up like that! Love it 😀

    • sophie December 21, 2013 at 8:15 pm #

      I think the cleavage is due to my FOT boobs plus I have actually scooped them up to my neck 😀 Really, I got some detesting looks when going out with this outfit but I really liked the way my boobs look in it.

Leave a Reply

CurvyGirlThin

a curvy girl's exploits in the wardrobe

Lucy's Corsetry

A Comprehensive Source for all things Corsets, Waist Training and Tightlacing

comicsgirlsneedbras.wordpress.com/

For the perfect fit and beyond...

The Lingerie Addict - A Lingerie Blog for Everyone

Expert lingerie advice and reviews to help you find the very best lingerie in the world. Covering full bust, luxury, plus size, and more!

Sweet Nothings

Everyone deserves a little sweetness.

Big Cup Little Cup

UK Lingerie Blog

the musings of Renzilla

My thoughts one blog post at a time

The Petite Collegiate

A fit focused love affair with lingerie

Miss Victory Violet

Vintage Fashion, Hair & Beauty and everything in between!

Junebugs and Georgia Peaches: The Adventures of Modern June Cleaver + Amelia Jetson

A blog about lingerie, bra fit and all things D+. A love letter to lace, dresses and pinup lifestyle.

Bras and Body Image

One girl's perspective on boobs, bodies, self-image and society

Kupista asiaa

A blog about lingerie, bra fit and all things D+. A love letter to lace, dresses and pinup lifestyle.

Fuller Figure Fuller Bust

A UK plus size fashion and lingerie blog with a little extra padding.

