Review of Gossard “Edina” in 32FF

13 Mar

When I entered the full-bust world about a year ago I really felt there weren’t that much options for a gal who wants something sexy yet supportive. I felt really frustrated for a long time and felt like so many companies were ignoring a huge market – regarding that one of my most viewed posts were the one with a plea for sexier full-bust undergarments. However, even then I knew some brands that definitely had the right look to them; one of them being Gossard.

As I visited Moda exhibition this year I met the lovely folks of Gossard and was very pleased with their stunning collection. To me it feels like this brand has been listening to us and created something for everyone. (You can see the preview of the collection here.) Gossard was very kind to send me a couple of pieces from their AW13 and SS14 collections and today I am reviewing the amazing Edina set which had my heart from the moment I saw it online a few months ago.

Image

The design: When I saw Edina my heart jumped and started racing from pure desire. This set is so beautiful and sexy it just makes me happy with its appearance. The print is gorgeous; it’s almost like a beautiful painting in a form of fabric. The shades are pretty unusual for such a sexy piece since they combine blue with black, purple and brown mixed with some brighter creamy colours as well. The flowers are not naive nor tacky, quite the opposite. The over-all look of the bra is very sophisticated and sultry.

One of my favourite features of the bra is the cleavage it gives me – it’s official, this bra is the queen of cleavage even with my average-to-wide-set breasts. It pushes them together without any over-spill and to be honest, I can’t stop looking at my own boobs when wearing this bra (a bit narsisistic, I know). Also the shape the bra gives is pretty good under clothes, not particularly rounded nor pointy which is very wearable. The padding is also quite thick for that extra oomph as it clearly is more of a night-out bra. The construction includes both vertical and horizontal seaming for that particularly uplifted look.

Image

The fit: The fit of Gossard is very different from other brands that I’m used to wearing. It definitely needs some trial-and-error if you are used to brands like Panache or Curvy Kate since the bands run quite tight and the cups larger than your regular British bra brand. This however is a good thing, in my opinion. Gossard’s full-bust size range goes up to G-cup which means true GG gals can easily wear their G’s without any quadboob. The first time I tried on a Gossard bra it was my regular 30G (meaning my regular size back then) but as it turned out, I was better off with 32FF for their tighter bands and larger cups. This means the collections are actually available to an even bigger market than it might seem.

I was very hesitant about my correct Gossard size at first but with the the lovely people at Gossard we figured out my best starting point size would indeed be a 32FF. When I received the bra in mail I was very happy with our choice since it fitted perfectly, even with the plunge shape that sometimes tends to cut into my full-on-top shaped boobs. The depth of the cup is very good for me and the wire width is also great! No folding on the bottom of the cup and I feel very supported and contained in the cup. As a conclusion I would advice to go down a full cup size with Gossard bras.

The band features the Gossard’s signature design which is kind of two straps on each side forming a triangle towards the closure. This looks amazing but can dig in nastily if the band is too tight. The bands run small so do go up a full band size when opting for the size. This makes the band look more attractive but still keeps the bra supportive. The band features two hooks and eyes which is enough for me. However, this might not work for even larger breasts.

ImageImage

The comfort: For a such a sexy little number Edina makes a damn-comfortable bra. It’s usually a hard-and-fast rule that sexy bras are not the comfiest ones which is really sad considering how many women ditch them for that reason. I can happily report that this is not the case with Edina: in addition to being beautiful it is very comfy and has all the right proportions for my body from wire-width to strap-lenght.

What is the problem with bras this pretty is usually the straps though. Even nicely placed so that they wouldn’t fall off, materials can drastically affect their tendency to slip. With half-adjustable straps this is a very common problem since half of the straps is usually made of some slippery material such a satin and against some other slippery material they are very likely to fall a few times during the day. To avoid this you need to tighten the straps regularly to ensure they are not too loose and even more likely to fall. When wearing something like a t-shirt I was fine with Edina’s straps but when wearing a polyester playsuit I needed to pull them up a couple of times a day.

The wires of Edina on the other hand are SO. GOOD. No pinching and they fully encase my breast tissue without being too high or wide. This is a huge comfort factor which is why I love to wear this bra even just hanging out in my room. Also the Edina shorts are vey comfy and cut so that I am not having any muffin top or sagging in the bottom area. Regarding the pants I would say to maybe size down since they are spot on for me in size 8. Right now my bottoms size is something between 8 or 10 so I’d definitely advice to go for you ”smaller size”.

All in all this set is everything that expected it to be and almost a bit more. I would definitely encourage anyone to try out Gossard for it’s truly a luxurious brand with very reasonable prices. The Edina plunge bra comes in sizes 30-38 A-G, brief in sizes XS-XL. It’s also on sale at the Gossard website right now which is definitely a plus! Have you ever tried anything from Gossard and how did you like it? Let me know in the comments! 😉

 Disclosure: This bra was generously gifted by Gossard. All opinions are my own.

8 Responses to “Review of Gossard “Edina” in 32FF”

  1. WideCurves March 14, 2014 at 3:00 am #

    That is gorgeous on you. Definitely makes me want to try one!

  2. jenna March 14, 2014 at 6:19 am #

    Lovely set! 🙂

    I haven´t tried Gossard because I need a 28 band, but maybe I could give them a shot if the bands are tight.

    You said that your regular size is 30G but Gossard 32FF fits perfectly. What about the cup size? I´m a bit confused wether to size down or not. 30G and 32FF should have the same size cups. Did I miss something..? 🙂

    • sophie March 14, 2014 at 6:42 pm #

      Hiya! I actually am a 30GG in other brands right now but 32FF is a good fit with Gossard. So, if you would be eg 28G I would suggest trying a 30F/FF with Gossard (depending on the style and your own shape). A friend of mine who measures around 26″-27″ and wears a 30 band in Gossard. Does that make sense? 🙂

  3. Jenny March 14, 2014 at 12:32 pm #

    Such a shame that you didn’t include a back shot of the bra band, I’ve seen it but I’ve rarely seen it on a body, let alone a “normal” fit body and not slim-slim fit. Would you mind putting up a picture of that? 🙂

    • sophie March 14, 2014 at 6:37 pm #

      Oh sure, it just might take time cause I don’t have a camera right now (I am occasionally borrowing my uni’s camera) and I also need to ask someone to take the picture 🙂 But if you are patient I will try to put it on the blog in a week time!

  4. shalajarias March 20, 2014 at 1:10 pm #

    I am curious about something. You write in the review that the bra has padding, but I read on the site “A-D cups have removable push up pads, DD-G cups are without padding” so I am a little confused or does that bra have like a seperate sort of padding?

    • sophie March 20, 2014 at 1:28 pm #

      Oh, padding can mean two different things: padded cups which means kind of like thin foam that the whole cup is made of. It can also mean push-up padding which is a patch of extra padding, thicker than the rest of the cup. With Edina in D-G sizes the whole cups are made of thin padding which means they are not soft cups. However, they don’t have separate patches for the push-up effect/ extra volume.

      • shalajarias March 20, 2014 at 1:34 pm #

        Thank you for the very swift reply. I figured it would be more like a thin padding then something like push up padding.

Leave a Reply

Mette Sofia - Makeup & Hair artistry

- for the beauty, the drag and the art ever-fab

CurvyGirlThin

a curvy girl's exploits in the wardrobe

Lucy's Corsetry

A Comprehensive Source for all things Corsets, Waist Training and Tightlacing

comicsgirlsneedbras.wordpress.com/

For the perfect fit and beyond...

The Lingerie Addict - A Lingerie Blog for Everyone

Expert lingerie advice and reviews to help you find the very best lingerie in the world. Covering full bust, luxury, plus size, and more!

Sweet Nothings

Everyone deserves a little sweetness.

Big Cup Little Cup

UK Lingerie Blog

the musings of Renzilla

My thoughts one blog post at a time

The Petite Collegiate

A fit focused love affair with lingerie

Miss Victory Violet

Vintage Fashion, Hair & Beauty and everything in between!

Junebugs and Georgia Peaches: The Adventures of Modern June Cleaver + Amelia Jetson

A blog about lingerie, bra fit and all things D+. A love letter to lace, dresses and pinup lifestyle.

Bras and Body Image

One girl's perspective on boobs, bodies, self-image and society

Kupista asiaa

A blog about lingerie, bra fit and all things D+. A love letter to lace, dresses and pinup lifestyle.

Fuller Figure Fuller Bust

A UK plus size fashion and lingerie blog with a little extra padding.

