Review of Cleo by Panache “Carmen” swimsuit in 32G

4 Apr

As all ya British people know, the summer is almost here in UK and that means packing our swimsuits and heading to the seaside. Not that the climate is too warm here yet but there have been some pretty excitingly sunny days to at least dream about a cool swim and a day at the beach. America is a whole another story, I have literally seen people’s lakeside pictures from their spring break and I almost can’t take it – way too exciting for someone whose homeland is still in a winter-y state. However, when Panache contacted me and asked me to review one of their new Cleo Swim styles I was totally up for it as I had been longing for a proper swimsuit for months. When grilling myself on the beach I prefer bikinis but for swimming pool use I feel like onepiece is a more appropriate choice.

After weighing my options (and changing my mind for a few times as I am the queen of hesitation) I really wanted to try the amazing new Carmen swimsuit in 32G. This swimsuit goes up to G-cup and Cleo styles usually run a bit tight in the band which is why I felt that I needed to sistersize this time. Panache also sent me one of their new creations with the swimsuit – a lovely yellow kaftan in size M. The parcel also included a plastic little bag for the swimsuit and a beach bag to along with the whole “outfit”. Here are my thoughts about the Carmen swimsuit and the kaftan…

ImageImage
The design: Extremely attractive! I mean whoa this thing is a total beauty for a onepiece swimsuit. I was skyping with my boyfriend in the middle of shooting the pictures and he literally told me he couldn’t have ever believed how hot a swimsuit could be. ALSO, I got hit on by a random dude at the swimming pool today when wearing this so apparently this swimsuit appeals to both men and women. The print is absolutely lovely and the colour extremely flattering. I love the pineapples which makes the onepiece look a little retro. Also the cut is very 50’s-60’s looking which I absolutely love. It’s very flattering and covers everything that needs to be covered.

I love how this swimsuit features padded balconette cups with two-part cup construction which gives me extra security with no nipples showing through and my girls supported the best way when swimming. There is a bra band built in the swimsuit which adds a bit more security and holds the breasts up better than a regular swimsuit. The cups give me a pretty rounded look, just what I expect from Cleo. I also like how good the proportions are on my body – the swimsuit is not vertically too short or show too much of my butt or chest. However the cups of the swimsuit are not too high either so they keep the look very young and a bit sexy as well.

Image

Image
The fit: As I sized up in the band for comfort reasons I felt like the I could have tried the 30GG after all (if it existed). However the fit was overall really nice and I would say true-to-size. I now usually wear a 30GG when it comes to bras but with a swimsuit I am happy compromise the snugness of a band to make it look less tight and overall more flattering. I am also not the shortest person I know which means I always want to make sure everything fits me length-wise as well (for reference I’m almost 5″6). 32G was definitely a good fit length-wise but when stretching out a bit while getting wet the suit could have been slight tighter on my body. However this didn’t bother me and when doing any sort of sports I wanna feel comfy and not too restricted.

The cups were a good fit, not too small or big but just the right size. The wires were exactly the right width for me which I always appreciate. Because this is a strapless balconette style with optional halterneck straps attached to it I find it really attractive but was dubious about how it would hold itself up when swimming. This was not a problem though and I felt pretty secure in the suit without the fear of my boobs falling out of the cups. However the feeling of not having “proper” thick straps made me still yank up the suit now and then but this was more due to a psychological reason – I couldn’t believe I was wearing an actually working strapless swimsuit. However I would advice Panache to add some kind of silicone strings to the inside of the cups, just for extra security (but on the other hand, I have no idea how it would work together with chloride water – maybe the silicone would wear off easily?)

Image
Comfort: Love it! So comfy when just chilling (tested in my room while skyping with my bf) and amazing when swimming. The materials feel very soft and the fabric is stretchy enough to allow any movement. The wires don’t dig into my armpits thanks to the perfect width and length. What I would hate would be wires going too high up in my armpits which would affect my comfort while swimming; however, this swimsuit is so perfectly planned to be functional, comfortable and pretty at the same time so I don’t really have any complaints. It also doesn’t dig into my butt or hips which creates a smooth look on my body. Gotta love it! The detachable straps of the suit are very thin which could cause a bit of strain on your neck but as it’s created for D-G busts it’s not meant to carry a huge amount of weight. Also the support comes from the built-in band which is always the most crucial part of a bra or a swimsuit.

Image
The Kaftan: So adorable. And comfy! I love the soft fabric the kaftan is made from and how you can make it accommodate your figure by tightening the waist with the strings. The colour is so cute for the summer and I like how it matches with the Carmen swimsuit. Definitely will be wearing this A LOT in the summer since it’s so easy to throw on even when going shopping or having a drink at a terrace. For me it’s a prefect length too so quite short but I can see so many girls wearing this style with leggings as well.

The size M is a bit too large for me since I usually wear a size XS-S but as I said I can definitely make it work by tightening the waist. It’s also super-flattering for someone who has a big bust – definitely not ” the expecting mum look” here at all! Actually, I am so thrilled about this kaftan I can’t stop imagining myself in my city’s docks, eating ice cream and wearing my matching yellow RayBans. Oh summer, why can’t you be here already!

Overall I think Cleo Swim has put together a really amazing new collection and I’m really impressed by the look and fit of the Carmen swimsuit. This is exactly what I want all the full-bust brands to do and I am so grateful that I had the chance to try this new style out. The best and prettiest swimsuit I’ve ever tried! What do you think about the Carmen? Let me know in the comments!

The Carmen swimsuit is available in sizes 28-38 D-G. The Kaftan is available in sizes S-L and also in a lovely pink shade. Do check out the other Cleo Swim styles as well because, hello, there’s also a LONGLINE bikini available!

Disclosure: This swimsuit was gifted by Panache for review purposes. All opinions are my own.

3 Responses to “Review of Cleo by Panache “Carmen” swimsuit in 32G”

  1. Sea Island Palm August 14, 2016 at 6:08 pm #

    Whaaat!? Suit of my dreams. Would love to get my hands on this. I’m so tired of the XL not fitting.

    • Sophie August 15, 2016 at 6:37 pm #

      Yes! Def try some cup sized swimwear and Cleo is one of the best brands for that ❤

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Review of Cleo Swim “Betty” swimsuit in 32G | Two cakes on a plate - April 13, 2014

    […] send the Carmen in 32G instead. In the end, the lovely folks at Panache sent me BOTH Betty and Carmen (a link to my review) which means two reviews for you guys! I am so grateful and was super-eager […]

Leave a Reply

Mette Sofia - Makeup & Hair artistry

- for the beauty, the drag and the art ever-fab

CurvyGirlThin

a curvy girl's exploits in the wardrobe

Lucy's Corsetry

A Comprehensive Source for all things Corsets, Waist Training and Tightlacing

comicsgirlsneedbras.wordpress.com/

For the perfect fit and beyond...

The Lingerie Addict - A Lingerie Blog for Everyone

Expert lingerie advice and reviews to help you find the very best lingerie in the world. Covering full bust, luxury, plus size, and more!

Sweet Nothings

Everyone deserves a little sweetness.

Big Cup Little Cup

UK Lingerie Blog

the musings of Renzilla

My thoughts one blog post at a time

The Petite Collegiate

A fit focused love affair with lingerie

Miss Victory Violet

Vintage Fashion, Hair & Beauty and everything in between!

Junebugs and Georgia Peaches: The Adventures of Modern June Cleaver + Amelia Jetson

A blog about lingerie, bra fit and all things D+. A love letter to lace, dresses and pinup lifestyle.

Bras and Body Image

One girl's perspective on boobs, bodies, self-image and society

Kupista asiaa

A blog about lingerie, bra fit and all things D+. A love letter to lace, dresses and pinup lifestyle.

Fuller Figure Fuller Bust

A UK plus size fashion and lingerie blog with a little extra padding.

